Kundenrezensionen

302
4,2 von 5 Sternen
Rock Say, The
Format: TaschenbuchÄndern
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 5. September 2001
Rezension zu The Rocks Biografie??!! Dwayne ist und wird für immer der Beste bleiben. Das Buch ist super gut aufgebaut und Dwayne gibt einem die Möglichkeit hinter die Kulissen der WWF und hinter die Kulissen seines Lebens zu blicken. Ich habe vor Dwayne Johnson und der gesamten WWF einen riesiges Maß an Respekt. Jeder der The Rock kennt mag ihn und jeder der Dwayne kennt mag ihn auch. Das ist das Beste was ich jemals gelesen habe. Leute kauft es!!! If ya smell what The Rock is cookin!!!
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinSenden von Feedback...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.
Missbrauch melden
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 9. Januar 2000
I've been a wrestling fan most of my life, and as an adult, I've been fascinated with the behind-the-scenes aspect, the business part of it. I thought Mick Foley's "Have a Nice Day" was tremendous, and looked equally forward to this book. It's not as good as that work, but "The Rock Says. . ." is a decent book in its own right.
Yes, I was disappointed that the Rock (Dwane Johnson) didn't write the book all by itself. I also didn't care for the sections that were esentially play-by-plays of various matches as seen through the Rock's (the character, not Dwane Johnson's) eyes. I was familar with those matches and they were mostly a distraction from the book. I would have also liked to have seen more about his interactions with current co-workers Mankind and HHH. But I'll review this book for what it is, not what it isn't.
Dwane's story, the Rock's story . . . now that was entertaining. I was thoroughly engrossed, and couldn't put the book down. It was a quick read, but I really enjoyed his story, how he got to be "the most electrifying man in sports entertainment." It's great to see the man behind the character. It was also very cool seeing all the insights behind the scenes of pro wrestling. Dwane Johnson is an honest, compassionate, hard-working, and entertaining guy, and "The Rock Says. . ." is a very worthwhile read for anyone, wrestling fan or not.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinSenden von Feedback...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.
Missbrauch melden
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 24. Juli 2000
I have recently read The Rock's book, "The Rock Says..." and I could not put it down. I think that for a man of his professional status and age, he has accomplished a lot both personally and professionally. The Rock went into depth about his own persona and the WWF. He really explained to us how it's done...how he likes to get it done. He did layeth the smaketh down and he brought it on! Being a 23 year old female, I happen to find this man distinguished, defined, intelligent, charsmatic and hot! On the side note, I had the chance to run into The Rock in Philadelphia March 26, 1999 . He was here for Wrestlemania and I accidentially ran into him at a local night club. I knew of him but did not know much about his professional image. While I was passing him, I turned to him and with hopeful doubt I asked, "Rock? " He turned his head, wearing his $200 sunglasses, smiled and gave me " The People's Eyebrow". From that moment on...I have been a fan of The Rock. After reading his book, I am glad to say that I have met "The People's Champion" because in my mind, he is a Champion to the people!
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinSenden von Feedback...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.
Missbrauch melden
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 9. Juli 2000
The Rock, on the heels of the first original wrestling book (Mankind's Have a Nice Day) this book is no copy. I ordered this book before it came out here on Amazon.com. I read it quickly and diligently and it is an excellent read. It starts with Rock's family and his teenage years and michtef (you'll see what I'm talking about one you read the book). Then it moves into his college years. Him strating in to wrestling. Meeting a woman (Dany) and marrying her dispite her parents wishes and then it showes how hard Rocky works from a bad wrestler to a good wrestler. You'll see what I'm talking about. If you don't order this book that was at the top of the New York Times best selling list then your're really missing out.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinSenden von Feedback...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.
Missbrauch melden
am 24. Februar 2000
This is an ok book, however it is in no way even almost as good as foleys book. The Rock does not really have a great story to tell. He didnt have to go threw many hardships before becoming a superstar. He was greatly aided by family members and friends who were close to the busiess. THE ROCK WAS GIVEN HIS OPPORTUNITY IN THE WWF BECAUSE OF HISCONNECTIONS. However it was his talent and charisma that brought him to superstardom. Maybe if Rock would have waited five or ten years from know then he would of had a more interesting story to tell. His pre-wrestling life was interesting especially his time in the CFL. However he seemed a little bit too arrogant with his stories about his younger life. There are no good locker room stories or inside dirt on any other wrestlers like in foleys book. It would have been great if the Rock woud of saved his arrogance for this part of the story and not chickened out. I would have loved to find out how the Rock really felt about some of the other superstars. The Rock was too afraid to mention names. Foley told everything like it really was and didnt hold back. I wanted to hear about the wrestling business from the inside, the Rock only touches on these type of things. The best thing about the book is that the Rock goes deeper into the chereography of a match then foley does. It was interesting to hear how he and his opponents planned a match. Overall the book was ok but it is junk compared to Cactus' book. I really wish that the Rock had waited a few years before doing a book. Also it would of helped it he had a backbone. Whats the point of writing the book if he was not going to be honest. Its hard for me to recommend this book when I know that the Rock held back and his story is not really complete. For hardcore wrestling fans only.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinSenden von Feedback...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.
Missbrauch melden
am 20. Februar 2000
I received this book in the mail the day after finishing Mick Foley's book. After reading Mick's fine autobiography I was eager to read the autobiography of The Rock. Two days later I had finished the book. The rock's book is not only physically shorter than Foley's but is 'padded out' with a huge number of photos. The rock has a lot less to say.
What the rock does say however, despite being interpreted by a 'ghostwriter' is pretty good. He gives a good insight into the world of wrestling and goes into greater detail on the 'choreography' of wrestling than mick does. Having said that though, Mick's work is a lot better, he takes the 'middleman' out of the communication between subject and reader. Mick had to start from the 'bottom' of the wrestling world and climb his way to the top. The rock on the other hand was helped greatly by his 'third generation' background and his families links to the WWF. I am in no way suggesting that the rock didn't have to fight to get where he is today, he just didn't have to fight as hard as Foley. The Rock achieved relativey easily in a few years what it took Mick Foley one and a half decades of blood sweat and tears to do.
I did enjoy reading this book, but was dissappointed after having read Mick Foley's. The peices in the book written in the style of the rock aren't nearly as funny as the stuff the rock comes out with on TV.
I would recommend this book to Big fans of the Rock, they will enjoy it. To wrestling fans not so keen on the rock I would tell them to borrow the book and read it, but not to buy it unless they felt they wanted to.
Having now read two wrestler autobiographies I must admit I would like to read more such books. However I only wish to read ones with a substantial story to tell.
I would like to read the autobiographies of legends like Terry Funk, who have been wrestling for a long time and probablt have a huge number of stories to tell. Also I would be interested in reading such a book by the Undertaker, who has been right at the top of wrestling for a long time. The undertaker is a real legend, I would like to know how he prepared for all the epic battles he has fought, casket matches, hell in a cell, buried alive, inferno matches and many championship bouts. How he developed, undoubtedly along with Vince McMahon, a persona that would be such a huge hit with the fans for so many years.
Another superstar who would probably have a good story to tell would be Chyna, being the first female superstar in the wwf to take on the men. She would have had to overcome a lot of prejudice in such a male dominated sport where it is rare for the women to recieve such recognition. I also beleive she has travelled a lot in Europe, which I would be interested to read about. However in the case of chyna, I think she should wait until she has reached the peak of her career before she writes such a book, and I think she can achieve more than she has so far.
An area I would like to know more about in general are the relationships between wrestlers before the fights. Working out how best to kick the hell out of each other in an amazing dispay of athleticism and showmanship. I would also like to know about how such great athletes prepare themselves physically for such battles, the months of hard training as so forth.
Anyway, as you've proably realised by now, I do tend to go on a bit so I think I'll KNOW MY ROLE AND SHUT MY MOUTH.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinSenden von Feedback...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.
Missbrauch melden
am 18. Februar 2000
Being able to read with my very own eyes the life and times of Dwayne Johnson (aka The Rock) has made me an even bigger Rock fan than I was in the past. I must admit though I've liked The Rock for most of his pro wrestling career, I stereotyped him as a man who "had it made" growing up. As a third generation superstar, I automatically thought since his family members were previously in the business probably making good money, he really did not have to work hard to aspire to achieve excellence in his life. Obviously, after reading his unique story, The Rock wasn't exactly "livin' large" like I had originally assumed.
The Rock was a man who had to pay his dues and strive for the prosperity he now enjoys. While attending the University of Miami as a student athlete, he envisioned a long and illustrious future in the NFL, but things did not go as planned. His college football career led him to the Canadian Football League (CFL), where times were tough and the cash was hard to come by. The Rock was desperately searching for a career that would bring greatness and fulfillment to his life. He wasn't able to find that joyous feeling in the football sector, therefore he looked elsewhere for a change that would turn his life around dramatically.
After lots of thought, he found that passionate feeling in the sports-entertainment business he grew up in known as professional wrestling. With dedication and a diligent work ethic, he has become a popular entertainer for all the world to see. He dazzles his fans with his creative catchphrases and extraordinary performances in the ring, thus excellently earning him the title of "The Most Electrifying Man in Sports-Entertainment." Without a doubt, The Rock has become one of the most captivating personas to step foot in the entertainment world in a long time.
The synopsis listed above and more is what all the millions........and millions of Rock's fans out there can take part in and get of better glimpse of the man known as "The People's Champion."
So my fellow readers of this excellent review who have not bought The Rock Says..., go ahead and pull out your Visa, Mastercard, or whatever credit card you may have; or you can open up that checkbook; or you can stretch out that wallet or purse and take out those dollar bills which are enclosed in it and buy "The People's Book" and excellently smell what Dwayne Johnson and The Rock are cookin'!
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinSenden von Feedback...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.
Missbrauch melden
am 11. Februar 2000
The Rock's entire family appears to be made of professional wrestlers. Cousins, dad, grandfather - but the most famous and legendary of them all is undoubtedly, Jimmy "Superfly" Snuka.
The Rock talks about uncle Jimmy, and the rest of his famous family, in "The Rock Says" - And, for those of you that demanded it, The "Superfly" will be penning his own biography for the multitudes of his fans. I'm proud to be co-authoring this book, which is tentatively titled, "Tales From The Top Of The Cage", with Mr. Snuka.
Similar to "The Rock Says", Snuka's biography will chronicle the legendary wrestler's life, but will not fall into the path that appears to be the biggest criticism of Rocky's fine book. That one flaw appears to be when "The Rock" wrote as his character, rather than as himself.
"Superfly" Jimmy Snuka pours his heart and soul into "Tales From The Top Of The Cage" and gives insight into his upbringing, as well as a never before revealed behind the scenes look at wrestling, promoters, his family, The Rock, The WWF and more.
"The Rock Says" is a great book, but it is merely an introduction to what fans of this famous wrestling family are craving. Duane Johnson (The Rock) did a great job, but Uncle Jimmy uses his experience to tell the complete story.
I believe that in a few years, "The Rock" will have a lot more to tell and if he decides to write another book, it will be truly incredible. He simply doesn't have nearly enough time in wrestling to experience what legends like Jimmy Snuka have.
What follows is a detailed review of "The Rock Says" --------------------------------------- As a ring announcer & commentator for professional wrestling matches, I have first hand experience of what transpires "behind the scenes". Dwayne Johnson aka "The Rock" does a fine job of taking fans into this once highly secretive and restricted area. One complaint would be that the book is written in the Rock character at times. That aspect took from what could have been a captivating book.
I, as well as millions of other people, find the Rock to be an incredibly entertaining personality, but the most interesting parts of this book are clearly when the author speaks freely as Dwayne Johnson. The Rock is all over TV, magazines, cds, and nearly everywhere we look. The man behind The Rock is what makes a biography intriguing.
Dwayne Johnson surfaces on the pages for approximately 75% of this wrestling literary buffet. And he provides some great insight into his character and family history.
Some great highlights are when Johnson tells how he prepares his fantastic promos (promos are when wrestlers talk on the microphone). He also provides a few of his favorites while giving in depth insight as to what the situation was that led to the promo and what state of mind he was in at the time.
Dwayne Johnson shares his unique entry into the world of professional wrestling while explaining exactly how he constantly worked and improved in the WWF's farm wrestling league. Yes, the Rock literally wrestled in barns!
The Rock comes from a bloodline that is undoubtedly legendary in wrestling, yet he has eclipsed all of their fame. This book will provide fans and outsiders to wrestling with enough of this electrifying entertainer's life story and family history to make it a very worthwhile read.
I would have liked it to have been longer. It took me only 18 hours to read it from cover to cover, though I'm a quick read.
Maybe when the Rock's schedule lightens, he will pen another book entirely on his own. I look forward to it.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinSenden von Feedback...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.
Missbrauch melden
am 12. Januar 2000
-Last Satuarday (January 8th, 2000) was probably the biggest day of my life. The Rock was signing autographs for his new book, "The Rock Says..." at the world's biggest mall, the Mall of America in Bloomington, Minnesota. The setting was perfect. Being that the mall was only 4 miles from my house, I knew it was the place to be. I waited from 6:30am until 2:00 when he started signing and was #8 in line out of approx. 7,400 people in line. Overall, the newspaper reported 16,000 fans in the area he was signing, a record. Just to get a glimpse of the People's Champ. -So during 7 1/2 hrs. in line, I got my copy early at the mall, and read the whole book in about 4 hrs. I think it's really great. What's everyone's problem? I read Foley's book too and I admit, they are a world apart, but I judge a book by how much the reader enjoys it in general. If you are concerned about what he actually wrote in it and his wording wasn't right and the details are scattered, then that's different. In one of these reviews posted below, there is great anger from a reviewer that his career was more handed to him than Foley. It's true, but is that the problem w/ the book? Give me a break.....Also, The Rock did work hard. He wasn't popular until after nearly 3 long years and he created his character, which must have been difficult. The Rock has the best expressions, the best moves, and he is the best talker. In this book, a lot of these traits are talked about and there are a lot of interesting facts and information. Before I met The Great One, there was an announcement that The Rock will allow people to get up to 3 books signed each person. of course I got 3. They made it clear not to get upset at mall officials because it was The Rock's decision. He works hard to make people happy. When I met him, here's what happened: He greated me and HE gave me a handshake. He tole me thanks for coming out and take care of yourself. He was all smiles and always looked up. He spent over 1/2 a minute on me and that's with 7,400 people to go through in 2 hrs. (The next day, the newspaper reported 1,600 people got autographs) He knew that he needed to move fast, yet he took time to greet the fans and be REALLY friendly. He also gave a little speech before signing. This is his true character, and he is really a great person. The book shows that, and gives the inside scoop. If you are a Rock fan, believe me, you will like it. It wont meet Mick Foley's standards, but hey, this is a different style we are dealing with here. People shouldnt get so upset. It's a great book and easy to follow. I found flaws and ways I think could have made it better, but everyone finds flaws and there was NEVER a dull moment in the book. Its really exciting, and also full of bw and full color pictures.
I recommend "The Rock Says..." very highly.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinSenden von Feedback...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.
Missbrauch melden
am 11. Januar 2000
Dwayne Johnson is not Mick Foley. He's not Arn Anderson. His life story is his own, and The Rock is his own character. So...why are most of these reviewers angry with Johnson (and his book) for not being "Have a Nice Day" or "4 Ever"? I guess they wanted to spend 18 bucks on exactly the same thing they spent to read in Foley's (great) book, or whatever they spent to read in Anderson's book.
Don't get me wrong -- this book is *not* a masterpiece, like Foley's book. But it doesn't s#$k. In fact, it's a pretty good read. Dwayne Johnson has not done what Mick has, either in his life or in his book. What he has done is tell his own experience, his own life. And I think it's worth it to read it.
Yes, there is a big section in the middle in which he calls his own matches as The Rock speaking in the third person. But why are you all surprised? Did you think The Rock wouldn't show up?
Johnson refers to The Rock as a separate person throughout the book (as he should) because Dwayne Johnson *is not* The Rock. It's a character he plays, a skin he walks into when he works. I think that it is appropriate to give The Rock his own section because of his importance in Johnson's life. However, I do think it could have been cut in half without hurting a thing.
So here it is: The Rock starts on page 163 (Chapter 11) and Dwayne Johnson takes over again on page 227 (Chapter 14) and pretty much stays in control from there. I stuck with it and was not disappointed.
If you didn't stick, you missed Johnson's really cool rememberance of how he worked with Steve Austin to make the Wrestlemania XV match as good as they could get it and how they celebrated afterward. You missed the tribute to Owen Hart. You also missed what Dwayne Johnson thinks of The Rock as a character and a lot of his thoughts on the role of fans in his work.
Judge this book on its own merits. Johnson and his ghostwriter make a pretty good team, and the book is quite entertaining. If you can't handle as much of The Rock as Johnson dishes, skip that section. No one's twisting your arm to suffer through it, and it's very plain where it ends and where it begins.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinSenden von Feedback...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.
Missbrauch melden
     
 
Kunden, die diesen Artikel angesehen haben, haben auch angesehen
The Rock
The Rock von Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson (Gebundene Ausgabe)
EUR 17,95

WWE: The Rock 2015
WWE: The Rock 2015 von Dwayne Johnson (Kalender - 2014)
EUR 13,99

Have A Nice Day: A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks
Have A Nice Day: A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks von Mick Foley (Taschenbuch - 3. Oktober 2000)
EUR 5,80