Kundenrezensionen


41 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (40)
4 Sterne:
 (1)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 
‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Must-Have Book If Any Truly Exist, 12. Mai 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Taschenbuch)
Scott McCloud has entertained readers with his wonderful comic, _Zot!_ Now he informs his readers in this, one of the greatest books on the psychology of comics ever written.

Shunning the usual nostalgic tone of most books written about comics, McCloud uses the comic format to discuss not the history of the X-Men, but rather the method of storytelling in which such characters are presented. He writes on a vast list of subjects, ranging from the meaning of the word "Comics" to the use of blank space between panels. The art style is simple where it needs to be and complex where it is required. The message comes across in panel after panel of information that is stated simply enough for everybody to understand, if they will only open their minds to these "Funny Books."

Scott McCloud's book is an invaluable resource. It allows you to stop merely reading comics, and start understanding them.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Nobody takes comic books more seriously than Scott McCloud, 8. Juli 2005
Von 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Taschenbuch)
I like to take things apart and figure out how they work, except instead of doing internal combustion engines or pocket watches I like to play with books, movies and television shows. In "Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art," Scott McCloud not only takes apart comic books, he puts them back together again. Certainly comics are a neglected art form. Put Superman, Batman, Spawn and Spider-Man on the big screen and there will be some cursory comments about the actual all-in-color-for-a-dime, and names like Stan Lee and Frank Miller will get kicked around, but nobody really talks about how comics work (the exception that proves the rule would be the Hughes brothers talking about adapting the "From Hell" graphic novels). Part of the problem is conceptual vocabulary: we can explain in excruciating detail how the shower scene in "Psycho" works in terms of shot composition, montage, scoring, etc. That sort of conceptual vocabulary really does not exist and McCloud takes it upon himself to pretty much create it from scratch.
That, of course, is an impressive achievement, especially since he deals with functions as well as forms. To that we add McCloud's knowledge of art history, which allows him to go back in time and find the origins of comics in pre-Columbian picture manuscripts, Egyptian hieroglyphics and the Bayeux Tapestry. Topping all of this off is McCloud's grand and rather obvious conceit, that his book about the art of comic books is done AS a comic book. This might seem an obvious approach, but that does not take away from the fact that the result is a perfect marriage of substance and form.
This volume is divided into nine chapters: (1) Setting the Record Straight, which develops a proper dictionary-style definition of "comics"; (2) The Vocabulary of Comics, detailing the iconic nature of comic art; (3) Blood in the Gutter, establishing the different types of transitions between frames of comic art, which are the building blocks of how comics work; (4) Time Frames, covers the ways in which comics manipulate time, including depictions of speed and motion; (5) Living in Line, explores how emotions and other things are made visible in comics; (6) Show and Tell, looks at the interchangeability of words and pictures in various combinations; (7) The Six Steps, details the path comic book creators take in moving from idea/purpose to form to idiom to structure to craft to surface (but not necessarily in that order); (8) A Word About Color, reminds us that even though this particular book is primarily in black & white, color has its uses in comic books; and (9) Putting It All Together, finds McCloud getting philosophical about the peculiar place of comic books in the universe.
"Understanding Comics" works for both those who are reading pretty much every comic book done by anyone on the face of the planet and those who have never heard of Wil Eisner and Art Spigelman, let alone recognize their artwork. Which ever end of the spectrum you gravitate towards McCloud incorporates brief examples of some of the artwork of the greatest comic book artists, such as Kirby, Herge, Schultz, etc., as well as work by more conventional artists, including Rembrandt, Hokusai, and Van Gogh. "Understanding Comics" is a superb look at the form and functions of the most underexplored art form in popular culture.
I am using Spider-Man comic books in my Popular Culture class this year and will be using some of McCloud's key points to help the cherubs in their appreciation of what they are reading. If you have devoted hundreds of hours of your life to reading comic books, then you can take a couple of hours to go through this book and have a better understanding and appreciation of why you take funny books so seriously.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Sensationell gut!, 10. März 2009
Von 
Parsec - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Taschenbuch)
UNDERSTANDING COMICS ist eines der faszinierensten Bücher, welches mir in letzter Zeit untergekommen ist!
Ich muss gleich klar stellen das ich Comics zwar mag, aber weit davon entfernt bin, mich irgendwie als Experte auf dem Sektor fühlen zu können. Aber auch wenn man sich so wie ich eher beiläufig für Comics interessiert ist UNDERSTANDING COMICS eine geniale Lektüre.

Der Grund ist zunächst mal, das UNDERSTANDING COMICS ein echtes Kunstwerk ist: es ist Scott Mcloud beeindruckend gelungen, ein Medium bis in seine Tiefenstrukturen zu erklären, indem er eben dieses Medium nutzt - ein Comic, um Comics zu erläutern. Hierbei nimmt McCloud den Leser auf eine faszinierende Reise mit: er zeigt, was ein Comic ist (ich war über seine Definition überrascht, muss ihm aber letztlich zustimmen) und welche Möglichkeiten dieses Medium hat. Hierbei geht er naturgemäß viel auf Thematiken wie Wahrnehmung, Linguistik und Gestaltung ein - und zeigt, welche Möglichkeiten in Comics stecken. Vor allem aber zeigt er, wie elegant es ihm gelingt, komplexe Gedankengänge mit ein paar Sprechblasen und ein paar Bildern darzustellen... das, was so manche Abhandlung staubtrocken erläutert zeigt McCloud lustig, spannend und enorm einprägsam.

Insofern ist UNDERSTANDING COMICS in jeder Hinsicht interdisziplinär: Comicfans werden viel über das Medium erfahren, aber auch an Gestaltung, Kunst, Literatur, der Medien allgemein oder auch Wahrnehmung interessierte sollten auf ihre Kosten kommen. Mir ist klar weswegen dieses Buch so einen Kult begründet hat und woher sich seine Popularität herleitet, es ist einfach ein ganz großer Wurf.

Alles in allem eine bewundernswerte Arbeit - selten wurden komplexe Themen unterhaltsamer erklärt! Großartig.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Was sie schon immer über Comics wissen wollten, 22. Januar 2011
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Taschenbuch)
"Understanding Comics" klärt über das Medium Comics auf und räumt Vorurteile aus dem Weg. Dabei ist die gewählte Erzählform dieses Buch ein Comic, denn was könnte Comics besser erklären als ein Comic. Es ist einfach zu lesen und öffnet jedem Comic-Interessiertem die Augen. Nach dem Lesen des Buchs hat sich meine Wahrnehmung in Bezug Comics erweitert.

Für alle Comicleser, -macher und -interessierte ist dieses Buch ein absolutes Muss.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Quintessential Book on an Underappreciated Art Form, 22. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Taschenbuch)
If you are interested in any aspect of comics at all, this is the first book you should have on your shelf. Scott McCloud guides you through the history and theory of comics art with wit and wisdom, all captured in an easily accessible comic. More than a simple funny book, this book will change your opinions on comics, whether you have never picked one up before, or you are a long-time comics professional. This book could be used as curriculum for a college course, despite (or maybe because of) the whimsical artwork. The art draws you in and makes the information easy to accept and understand (in fact, McCloud gives examples of why the comics artform makes it easy to read and identify with). McCloud takes this subject matter seriously, and after reading, you probably will too.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Absolutes Standardwerk, 11. Juni 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Taschenbuch)
...zum Thema Comics und Sequential Art. Ich zeichne seit der Kindheit comicartige Figuren, aber habe das Ganze noch nie so umfassend betrachtet, z.B. das Menschen schon mit den Höhlenzeichnungen im Prinzip erzählende Zeichnungen produziert haben. In meiner Kindheit galten Comics nicht als Kunstform, eher als eine zweifelhafte Ablenkung wie es heute etwa Spiele auf dem Handy sind. Um so schöner, wie mir dieses Buch die Augen geöffnet hat, dass es sich natürlich um Kunst handelt und dass es Comics schon unfassbar lange gibt.

Sehr schön gemacht. Das englische Original finde ich besser als die deutsche Fassung, gerade bei diesen kurzen Sprechblasentexten kommt manches in der Übersetzung nicht rüber.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Unterhaltsam und lehrreich, auch nicht für den Comic Fanatiker, 27. Dezember 2012
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Taschenbuch)
Das Comic-Buch wurde mir im Buch Presentation Zen: Simple Ideas on Presentation Design and Delivery (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) empfohlen und aufgrund der guten Bewertungen habe ich zugegriffen. Gerade zum Thema Bildsprache und warum bei allgemeinen Darstellungen "weniger ist mehr" gilt, liefert das Comic-Buch interessante Hintergründe.
Den Preis ist es auf jeden Fall wert und kann notfalls noch zum Ausmalen genutzt werden, da es zu 99% schwarz-weiße Comics sind :-)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen out of left field!, 28. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Taschenbuch)
I am not a comic artist (or even a reader) but rather an information visualization scientist.
McCloud touches on some incredibly subtle issues around the composition and presentation of information visually, which I find unparalleled in any other work.
He addresses the duality of content and style (style as content?) and the issues of time and causality clearly and effectively.
I can't wait for REINVENTING COMICS.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A Brilliant Look at the Psychology, Physiology, and Effectiveness of Comic Strips and Books, 24. Juni 2008
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Taschenbuch)
This is an important book that everyone should read. I would give it twenty stars if I could.

I've long been interested in both art and comic books (I have collected them for over 50 years). While the library shelves are full of wonderful books that explain what traditional artists are trying to do and why they succeed, I've often found the books to be pretty boring. In recent years, such books have gotten bogged down into abstruse language that is much less appealing than the art which is the subject.

But in those years, I've never seen anything that was very helpful in discussing the rules of comic art, except some books about pop art when that was popular that examined how the pop art was different from comic art. Naturally, I was blown away when I found that Understanding Comics is a far more comprehensive, thoughtful, and accessible book about interaction with art than I have ever read. Although the subject is ostensibly comic strips and comic books, it's clear to me that that Mr. McCloud has a deep and powerful understanding of all art. Some of his conceptual displays of where different forms of art fall in different dimensions of choice (degree of realism, abstraction, and message) are unbelievably powerful.

I hope that some art historian will stumble on this book and recast the history of art to explain and relate different styles to one another using this book's methods. There would be a lot more art lovers if that were the case.

Ultimately, the book's main benefit is to help the reader appreciate that comic art can be a higher and more effective form of art than either pure images or written words by requiring a mastery of more elements . . . elements that are more powerful in grabbing attention and conveying meaning.

Yet the book stays in humble form, a comic book. The powerful ideas sneak up on you as Mr. McCloud deconstructs the elements of comic art expression into chapters on defining what kind of art comics are ("sequential art" for short); explaining where various comics fall on the spectrum of reality, story, and abstraction; the way we fill in the spaces around the lines and between panels with our minds, allowing us to participate in creating the story and the experience; how time is expressed in various ways; the role of lines in creating our understanding and responses; how words and images can interact; a conceptual look at creating comic art; the effect of color; and a synthesis of the book in historical and conceptual terms.

If you want to enjoy both traditional art and comic art more, read this book. It's the Rosetta stone for non-artists in appreciating the images, stories, and messages that artists want to share with us through these media. You'll never be the same . . . and the change will be good for you!

Bravo, Mr. McCloud!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Scoffers & outsiders, this is your entry to comics, 4. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art (Taschenbuch)
Parents of kids who are into comics ... educators ... law enforcement officers ... ANYONE who deals with kids & teens or ANYONE who's mystified why some adult they know reads comics, this book will change what you thought you knew. I read it as research before reading Japanese comics as an attempt to better understand a specific group of teens I'm writing about. I hadn't read many comics ever, beyond Asterix, Tintin, Maus II, Bloom County, Calvin & Hobbes, Dilbert & Mutts. I thought I knew what comics were (for children, entertainment, very rarely serious, simple). I was wrong on every count. For my specific needs, I especially appreciated McCloud's discussion of manga & it's greatly helped my subsequent reading of manga. Many of the ideas he discusses--such as thoughts on the space between panels--are just downright enlightening & thought-provoking. Just one example for me was his suggestions on how comics are not something we merely observe but something we become, which really helped me grasp the appeal. McCloud literally opened a new world to me, comics, leading me to enjoy them for pleasure, not just one research project. Perhaps his greatest achievement is that it is his own book--Understanding Comics--that becomes the very best reason to listen to McCloud's insistent plea to take comics seriously & give them their rightful credit. This book is truly outstanding & especially recommended to those who would scoff.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art
Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art von Scott McCloud (Taschenbuch - 27. April 1994)
EUR 14,95
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen