Kundenrezensionen


9 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (2)
4 Sterne:
 (4)
3 Sterne:
 (2)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Hits the mark
I came to this book with a very open mind and heart, willing to allow hooks (as usual) to show me and enlighten me to something that I didn't know about myself through her very personal and passionate writing. I appreciated her perspective on love and loss, and I would recommend this book to those who are grappling with finding ways to deal with both in this generally...
Veröffentlicht am 2. Juli 2000 von nettie

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Too Much
I never finished this book, although I intend to. It was just too much. Once again, bell has hit deeply on a personal level. Unfortunately, I took it a little too personally. The first thing I did after finishing a few chapters is told my wife that I finished the book and then gave it to her to read. She never did, and so I got angry.
It's not much of a surprise...
Veröffentlicht am 21. Mai 2000 von Michael Bowen


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Hits the mark, 2. Juli 2000
I came to this book with a very open mind and heart, willing to allow hooks (as usual) to show me and enlighten me to something that I didn't know about myself through her very personal and passionate writing. I appreciated her perspective on love and loss, and I would recommend this book to those who are grappling with finding ways to deal with both in this generally loveless society. For the reviewer who stated that hooks is a typically, leftist, man-hating "feminist", I'd suggest that she or he and others read--and reread--Feminist Theory, from Margin to Center (published 2000). This woman's bravery, conviction and all-encompassing love gives me hope that we shall, and can, overcome in this (to use her term) White Supremacist Capitalist Patriarchy with new vision and the willingness to change the framework of Western society--not simply working to get along or ahead within it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Too Much, 21. Mai 2000
Von 
Michael Bowen "cobb_at_mdcbowen_dot_org" (Redondo Beach, CA United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I never finished this book, although I intend to. It was just too much. Once again, bell has hit deeply on a personal level. Unfortunately, I took it a little too personally. The first thing I did after finishing a few chapters is told my wife that I finished the book and then gave it to her to read. She never did, and so I got angry.
It's not much of a surprise to me that hooks would write a book such as this. Knowing her and Cornel West as a reader, I expect them to deal with essential questions of love. I'm not sure that I agree with their approach, however. And quite honestly, I much prefer the way such ethical issues are handled by two other great writers, the Dalai Lama and Stephen L. Carter.
Nevertheless, hooks is quite instructive in her own provocative way, and if nothing else, does justice to my own gut revulsion against 'Mars & Venus'. hooks gets a little too referential, quoting this author and giving credit to that article. It spares her from writing a bit more fluidly and expansively, but that's better than footnotes.
I'll keep the book on the shelf and maybe come back around to it after a while, but I won't use it as a primary source, and I certainly won't push it on other folks, especially not the wife.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Yes, It is about love, 29. Januar 2000
WOW I just finished all about love. What an inspiring book. We are are yearning to be loved and to give love. I'm ordering 10 more copies for friends. What better way to say I love you than with this book. A must read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Surface Love, 10. Mai 2000
Love is one of the most widely topics spoken on or about in any language. I saw hooks'title claiming to have a new vision on it, and was rather pleased. In total, however, this book is no different than most of the others I have read. According to hooks in the introduction: be it through practice or theory, we know very little of love. And I was expecting her to at least attempt to give us a working definition. None was provided. Nonetheless, chapter 3 is titled: Be True to Love. And this is only one of the countless wrong steps she took. Since, not only did chapter 1 not set any sort of formidable foundation, but so was two in inconsistency and shallowness. Bell hooks obviously did a lot of research, but it was more in quantity than quality in presentation. I felt like I was reading her droolings. She obviously bit off more than she could chew here. The last three to four chapters are the best ones. She started to get warm then. My grade is D+ bordering on a C-.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen quiet fire, 19. Januar 2000
Von 
Linda C. Jennings "ennui50" (Chicago, ILLINOIS USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
My hope for the new millennium was that more people became aware of the writings of bell hooks. She helps us to lift off those rose colored glasses we seem to wear on our minds about current social issues that plague the american culture. Her current writing explores why our culture has leaned toward narrissism and excessive materialism...the lack of love in our lives. Her vision is simple and clean for this book, which makes it easier to understand her passion on the subject of love and the lack of it. She offers new ways to think about love for ourselves, our families and american humanity. Ms. hooks is a critical thinker who challenges us to rethink how to give and receive love in our lives.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Not academic but good, 1. Juni 2000
I always expect strongly academic, political work from hooks, and while I was slightly disappointed that this was more narrative, subjective and personal, in the end I loved it. All About Love does in fact have a message which has profound implications both personally and politically, namedly that we live in a loveless culture which is not conducive to our personal, political, spirtitual and collective growth. Once I let go of my stylistic expectations, I really enjoyed and felt enriched by the book. I recommend it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Go to the source, 20. März 2000
Von Ein Kunde
bell hooks' beautiful writing adds passion to her excellent synthesis of others' work. If her accessibility can help to reach those for whom loving behavior has been modeled inadequately, that's a good thing.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen All about Bell Hooks' personal problems, 25. Mai 2000
In writing this book, the author seems to be airing her ownpersonal difficulties with interpersonal relationships andself-acceptance. Rather than acknowledging that this is her *very personal* take on love and relationships, she becomes a self-appointed expert on love... With amazing self-righteousness, she decides what should be everyone's definition of love, dictates universal goals for interpersonal relationships, and pontificates on how everyone should act, regardless of personal, cultural, or historical backgrounds! The book is covered with a thin coat of psudoacademic style (citing other very good authors, which is the book's saving grace), while the author parades her own personal pain, biases and political agenda. Hooks twists her own definitions and makes exceptions to her own moral dictums in order to fit her political points, ending up with political correctness at its worse, and looking like a caricature of the stereotypical Black feminist leftist man-hating academician... Better to stick to the authors whose works she cites!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen All about love/not really!, 6. April 2000
I finished this book about two weeks ago and found it a wonderful,thought provoking read on a subject that I am inquiring into.I came away with as many questions as I had answered,which is good,that makes it worth the read.bell hooks,however,is not an expert on love,other than her own experience of it.So this is not really all about love,it all about what bell hooks has to say about it.In this regard she is a much a fellow traveler as she is a guide.If you can read bell as a pleasant companion on your own journey,this becomes a very useful volume.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

All About Love: New Visions (Bell Hooks Love Trilogy)
All About Love: New Visions (Bell Hooks Love Trilogy) von bell hooks (Taschenbuch - 9. Januar 2001)
EUR 10,20
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen