Fashion Sale Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto calendarGirl Prime Photos Sony Learn More designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Lego NYNY

Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 4. Januar 2012
I am a German native speaker, however, I found the book very easy to read and very entertaining. Despite its thickness, I read it in 2 days.

The author shows many case examples, what makes the book vivid, fun to read and easy to understand.

However, if I had not read other books on the symptothermal method before, I would not have believed a single word. The book is completely unscientific and sometimes smacks of abstruse esoteric theories. I would certainly not recommend it to people with a scientific background unless they already know the symptothermal methods and its high reliability. Then, the book is wonderful, with lots of details that are not contained in other books.

To German readers, I recommend Natürlich & sicher: Das Praxisbuch., because I find this method and its rules much easier to learn and the rules have proven a pearl index of 0.5 in a really high ranked scientific study. In TCOYF, the rules are a bit lost between all the case examples and anectodes (even though there is an extra chapter for the rules)

I loved reading the book and did learn a lot (I did not find better information about self diagnosis based on your cycle charting and what hormones should be tested when in any other book on fertility awareness).
Therefore 5 stars.
0Kommentar|8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. April 2000
Well, don't forget it, but it will probably make you feel inferior. It is a great charting primer--how to chart your cycles whether you are regular or irregular. However, it is way too general for the other 20%(?) of us who do not have perfect 28 day cycles, obvious cervical mucus, or the same length luteal phase month after month. If you happen to have 45 day cycles, variable-day luteal phases, and no cervical mucus to speak of, then you probably have something wrong with you according to Ms. Weschler. Maybe some would find the information helpful, I just found it frustrating. I also found some of the information conflicting with well-founded medical science. Remember--Ms. Weschler is no doctor, so take any advice she has for what it's worth.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Juni 2000
This is not just a guide to getting pregnant. It is about knowing your body without being embarassed. It is quite liberating to read this book and then be able to recognize exactly where you are in your fertility cycle. Too often, women are made to feel guilty or shamed about even looking at our bodies. It's beyond imagination for some women to examine themselves or to ask questions about what exactly their bodies do. Weschler helps break this barrier and shows us why it's critical to overcome the societal embarassment or reluctance.
She makes a very good point: why is it that men are fertile all of the time, that women are fertile for just 5 days a month, yet the majority of birth control involves a woman taking a drug 30 days a month, or inserting a contraceptive device before every sexual encounter? Forget about the burden being placed on women (as long as we bear the children we will be ultimately responsible). Think about the ridiculousness of taking powerful hormonal drugs every day or having to use contraception when you're not even fertile! The drug and contraceptive industries are having a field day!
This book has three very distinct values:
1. An essential part of every adolescent girl's education about her changing body. This book will do more than almost anything else in preparing her for responsible sexual encounters, and will help her self esteem by getting rid of her trepidation about her body.
2. Tool for avoiding pregnancy.
3. Tool for achieving pregnancy.
It boils down to three basic fertility signs: basal temperature, cervical fluid, and height of cervix. Once you read the book and become accomplished at tracking each of the three signs, you can put away the thermometer. Weschler urges you to track the basal temperature faithfully for several months. But, especially if you're using the method as birth control, you can judge by the other two signs and safely avoid pregnancy. And it takes absolutely no extra effort or monitoring.
Most of us have heard the jokes about natural family planning. Weschler discusses those criticisms and shows why this book is different and reliable.
"Taking Charge of Your Fertility" will ease your mind and give you the confidence of being certain when you are fertile or not fertile.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. April 2000
This book was so good that I bought three more copies for friends. Toni gets to the point and takes the mystery out of the whole process. This should be wide spread information and taught to all women of every age. I wish my doctors would of recommended this book to me years ago. It removes the fears and empowers you with the knowledge that you need to both get pregnant and avoid it! I learned more from this book than all the others combined. It also showed me the signs and signals that my body gives that even doctors that I have had didn't understand. Lets face it you know your body better than anyone. Toni teaches you what it all means and gives you a precise way to keep up with it all. Best of all, it is easy to do. You learn what to expect, when and take away all the suprises that we experience. When you know, you'll wonder why it tooks so long to get this information.
Even if you do end up going the fertility treatment route, you can take some of the guess work out of it. Prevent test being taken during the wrong time of your cycle, because you will know when the best time for the various tests is. Avoid test that you don't need because you know what is going on in your body. You will be able to share information about your cycles with your doctor and make it easier on both of you.
"Taking Charge of Your Fertility" has information that most other books omit to keep it simple, but Toni explains everything in a useful manner. It gives hope to otherwise hopeless efforts. Just knowing the correct timing removes the frustration felt by many couples. Don't waste your time or money on other books, get this one. It is the best one.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. August 2005
I'm always amused of full blown all american style books. This book is thick and illustrated in many ways. It's easy to read and approaches the reader like a pal. I've read two very profound medical guide books (written by europeans) about this topic. this book has about the same content and though is a good addition or even alternative, something to browse through and see the funny, light hearted side of it.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Juli 2000
After having experienced a miscarriage at 4 months for no apparent cause, my husband and I were somewhat reluctant to start trying again. However, after reading Toni Weschler's book and understanding very clearly how a women's body changes and how her hormones must interact to keep a fetus from miscarrying, we decided to try for a baby again. Toni advices that a women must take accurate recordings of her temperature, her cervical fluid, and (optionally) check the opening of her cervix. I did all of these things even though I though it really was going to be somewhat bothersome. After a few days, however,I found myself looking forward to finding out what my body was doing.Toni provides color photos (!) and examples of every kind of chart imaginable.
Surprisingly, I found out that when I started charting, that my ovulation was earlier than usual. As such, my husband and I decided to try for a baby on the days recommended by Toni. The good news is that we're pregnant and that I now understand that my hormones are naturally at the appropriate levels for me to continue this pregnancy to term. Though it doesn't explain why I miscarried the first time, it does rule out a deficiency of any of the important hormones which could cause a miscarriage. I strongly recommend this book to all women who really want to understand their reproductive health.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Oktober 2013
This book should be required reading for every woman (in my opinion). This gives a wonderful explanation about how our bodies function. This book can be used as a guide as how to get pregnant, how to not get pregnant and simply understand the complex yet amazing way the female body works.

I wish I had read this earlier, simply from an informative standpoint. But better late than never.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. August 1998
It has a lot of good information but nothing that I think you couldn't find on the 'net or just common knowledge. I have been trying to get pregnant for 18 months and I pretty much knew all that she went over in her book. I was disapointed but it would probably be a good book if you weren't sure about your ferility.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. Juni 2000
This book is an excellent resource for us women to know our bodies better. Who can argue with that? I thought my mother and doctor taught me everything I needed to know growing up, until I became sexually active and DIDN'T WANT TO HAVE A BABY. The truth is, this book taught my mother a thing or two.
I found that the pill is too much garbage to put in my system, AND that I am allergic to many ingredients in alternative forms of birth control. The training this book gave me helped keep me baby-free, even though, my husband and I DO plan to have children. I also believe the knowledge I have gleaned from this outstanding resource will keep me, my husband and our future babies healthier because I know, and my husband knows, my body better than ever expected.
Thanks, Toni, for giving us this highly valuable knowledge.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. April 2000
I was looking for another form of birth control and bought this book. Knowing that the withdrawal method was risky, I hoped that this book could give me clear instruction on charting and the Fertility Awareness Method (FAM). Instead, the majority of this book is anecdotes, rather than clear and concise information.
I am left wondering if FAM has too many variables or if Toni Wechsler is incapable of explaining it. THIS BOOK WILL NOT GIVE YOU ANY USEFULL INFORMATION IF YOU WANT TO LEARN ABOUT FAM AS BIRTH CONTROL. I have no doubt that if I followed the "instructions" in the book I would get pregnant eventually (assuming there were no fertility issues.)
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden