Kundenrezensionen


402 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (224)
4 Sterne:
 (101)
3 Sterne:
 (36)
2 Sterne:
 (18)
1 Sterne:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


8 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Mr. Stephenson's Best Work to Date
This book grabbed my attention from almost the first page. Even though it's huge I read it in just under a week. The amazing story weaves through different times while still connecting within itself. I got a lot to think about from reading this book and it's full impact has probably not set in yet. Highly recommended, especially if you like his earlier work. (Snow...
Veröffentlicht am 29. Juli 2000 von matt_manuel

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Disappointing for Stephenson
I had lukewarm expectations for this book and wasn't let down. Unlike his earlier books, which I think will remain timeless, imaginative, inspiring, and thoughtful (the Mouse Army in Diamond Age is one of the most inspiring and meaningful concepts I've read and made me believe again that computers may do something good and revolutionary for this world), this one reeks...
Veröffentlicht am 19. Juli 2000 von consumer davidm


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Praise for the highly unusual, 8. Juli 2000
Von 
Cleveland "phlebas9" (New York, NY USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cryptonomicon (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Cryptonomicon is an unusual hybrid of historical fiction, spy story, hacker lore and cryptography text book. With much of Europe, North America and the South China Seas as it's backdrop, this sprawling work deals with the codebreaking efforts of both the allies and enemy in the 1940's, and the repurcussions of such actions in the present day.
Fully two thirds of the book takes place immediately prior to or during the Second War, and it can sometimes be difficult to determine which parts of this are actually fiction and not history. Obviously, many of the characters will be familiar to everybody, but there were a few who I initially took to be fictional who turned out to be real.
There are many different characters in this book, and as there are really two stories being told there is a high danger of this novel becoming confusing. Somehow Stephenson has avoided this and in fact the large cast actually makes the nine hundred pages of this work justified. His characterizations are so deep that his narrative style has to change chapter by chapter to fit the person. Many times when reading a novel of this size, it can become tempting to skip over the less exciting characters. Thankfully, that is not the case here, Stephenson has the knack of leaving a character at the appropriate time and returning to them at just the right moment. All the characters are essential to the plot and none of them are boring.
The book move along at a fair pace with only a few stumbling blocks. Most of the sticking points are in the explanations of cryptography for the layperson. But, to his credit, Stephenson has done a great job of making the subject matter accessible and also impressing on the reader it's military importance. The author also helps the reader to visualize concepts and constructs by a use of diagrams that I have never seen in fictional work before, which is surprising given how effective it is.
Finding the correct genre for this book is difficult and it's premise may be off-putting to some, however this is a great book for anyone to read. Stephenson is an extremely talented and witty writer and he gets better with each book. Some of his prose makes me down right jealous. This is one of those books that you can almost open at any page and have a good time reading.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Big-Time Recommendation!, 25. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cryptonomicon (Taschenbuch)
If you loved Snow Crash, and who wouldn't, you might be a little put off by Cryptonomicon because it's not a sci-fi cyber-thriller. This is literary fiction, brilliantly executed. Stephenson is a maturing novelist who can cross from one genre to another and never lose me as a reader because he's so good. Frankly, I'd pay to read his grocery list.
Cryptonomicon is a very simple story: a doped-up ex-marine and runaway ex-codebreaker aboard a submarine that all sides wish to blow up seek a vast hoard of Nazi gold reputed to exist in the Phillipines, where meanwhile, um -- O.K., it's not a simple story at all. It's just great reading. I work at a bookstore and I have two current favorite recommendations -- Cryptonomicon and Brauner's Love Songs of the Tone-Deaf, another well written intelligent novel. The customers not only buy the books, they come back and thank me! This makes me feel puffed up with a false sense of pride, as though I had written the books myself, but that's alright, I need the attention.
Please indicate that this review was helpful to you, it will stroke my pathetic ego. O.K., I'm kidding, you don't have to. But you do have to read these books!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen ...the answer is 'Yes!', 24. Februar 2000
Von 
Adam Scoville (Denver, CO USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cryptonomicon (Gebundene Ausgabe)
An excellent read, Cryptonomicon swings rhythmically between between two WWII characters and two in the present whose narratives cross tangentially: mathematical ubergenius Lawrence Waterhouse, cynical roughneck Bobby Shaftoe and their grandchildren Randy and America. This engaging structure echoes the parallel between the archaic codebreaking universe of Enigma machines and vacuum tubes and modern cryptography and network security. Note that the book's pace also swings, from adrenaline-pumping to deliberate and expository; it's not uniformly a page-turner. The depth of historical detail adds greatly, but the lengthy Cap'n Crunch diatribe and an equation for Lawrence's libido are superfluous. I also wish the only prominent woman, Amy Shaftoe, was more developed than being a mere prop in Randy's story. Overall, the entwined plots make this a rapid read for its length, worthy of its acclaim (anointed the quintessential cypherpunk epic of 99/00, though as much by the Luddite press and its own publishers as the crypto-hacker community).
Separately, while I don't blame Stephenson, Avon's editing was notably shoddy; the book contains typos and errors of continuity and grammar. A 4096-bit crypto key morphs into a 4069-bit key. A 'T' in a partially decrypted message becomes the third 'R' in "Attack Pearl Harbor December Seven." Randy powers his laptop with "a twelve-bolt adapter." What are evil publishing conglomerates for, if not to catch these things? Nonetheless, if you have any question about whether to pick up this book...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Completely engrossing, not quite sci-fi, 16. Juli 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cryptonomicon (Gebundene Ausgabe)
This book was a great pleasure, especially for a beach vacation, when I could read 6 hours a day and not feel guilty or sleep deprived. It was often very hard to put down. I found myself admiring the characters of the WWII era more than their modern counterparts for some reason. They were more ernest and less cynical, what they were doing REALLY counted for them.
The Marine Bobby Shaftoe was most memorable.
The humor, very similar to Thomas Pynchon's, was outrageous, and left me laughing out loud in two or three dozen different places. Stylistically, the book owes a genuine debt to Gravity's Rainbow.
There was nothing fictive about the abundant science, philosophy, or the mathematics. Clearly Stephenson did a great deal of in-depth research on the historicity and the Asian locals, both of which I appreciated.
It will not win a Nobel prize; but This is a fine piece of excellent writing and wit that offers a certain reader many hours of leisure time enjoyment and contemplation.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Shallow, poorly imagined and for over 900 pages, thin soup., 12. Mai 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cryptonomicon (Gebundene Ausgabe)
This over-hyped genre piece will no doubt appeal to net heads and cyberrats, who have no knowledge of literature and it's antecedents, save Tom Clancy and his ilk, and could care less. Comparisons to Gravity's Rainbow may make good copy, but the idea is laughable and absurd. Pynchon is a serious artist and novelist. Stephenson is a word-drunk, abeit clever, pretender. True art should teach, not simply flaunt itself on the back of the latest "hot-button" techno-craze. Unfortunately, a serious waste of time and space. Relentlessly unoriginal.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


8 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Beste Arbeit von Stephenson, macht Lust auf mehr, 8. Januar 2002
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cryptonomicon (Taschenbuch)
So ging es mir zumindest. Snow Crash fand ich, Gibsons Neuromancer-Stories gerade hinter mir, blöde und verwirrend. Stephenson blieb beim Buchhändler liegen, bis C. rauskam. Und sieht man einmal von der einen oder anderen reichlich überflüssigen Passage ab (Shaftoe bei den Kannibalen...), so zeigt sich hier Stephenson at his best.
Beim wiederholten Lesen von Snow Crash wurde es mir dann klar: Anders als Gibson, der cool zu sein versucht (und dem ich ein derart bescheuertes Foto von sich selbst auf dem Cover von C. noch eher zugetraut hätte als Stephenson), ist Stephenson witzig. Seine Phrasen sind keine verunglückten Sprüche, sondern fallen eher in den Bereich "Ironie" oder gar, pfui, "Sarkasmus". Dass er nebenbei auch noch weiss, worüber er schreibt (man lege sich sein Essay "Mother Earth Mother Board", das in den Archiven von Wired im Jahrgang 1996 online zu finden ist, neben C. und schaue da immer dann rein, wenn es um Waterhouse jr. geht), sei lobend noch erwähnt. Ist ja nicht immer so!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Meisterwerk!, 22. Februar 2014
Von Amazon bestätigter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cryptonomicon (Taschenbuch)
Eines der grandiosesten Bücher, die ich das Glück hatte, lesen zu dürfen. An dieser Stelle zwingen mich die amazon-Richtlinien zu ein Paar Buchstaben mehr, hiermit erledigt :)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen My favourite book, 1. Februar 2014
Von Amazon bestätigter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cryptonomicon (Kindle Edition)
This is probably my favourite book. I bought it again for Kindle so I can re-read it at leisure. It's long and complicated, well worth ploughing through. Plenty of derring-do in the second world war and in the present day, lots of technical stuff and plenty of human interest. Superb stuff, finely described characters, lots of action and some black comedy, heart-rending tragedy and a fantastically satisfying end.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Gut gelungenes Buch, 24. Dezember 2013
Von Amazon bestätigter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cryptonomicon (Kindle Edition)
Der Inhalt wurde von anderen ja bereits beschrieben. Ich finde den historischen Rückblick hervorragend. Auch die Gegenwart ist nicht ohne, die angesprochenen Fragen heute (das Buch hat ja schon ein paar Jahre auf dem Buckel) noch aktuell, siehe die Idee, einer Internetwährung und die heutigen Probleme mit Bitcoins, die einigen Regierungen eben nicht passen. Als goodie gibt es in der Kindleversion noch ein paar Extras, wie Interview mit dem Autor.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Mehrfach lesen, 12. Oktober 2013
Von Amazon bestätigter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cryptonomicon (Taschenbuch)
Zumindest für mich war das Buch bei der erstmaligen Lektüre ein wenig konfus und schwer zu verdauen. Umso mehr Spaß hat das zweite und drittmalige Lesen gemacht.
Gerade in der heutigen NSA- bestimmten Zeit kann man ganz nebenbei ein wenig über Kryptographie, safe harbours und dgl. lernen. Unbedingt empfehlenswert!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst
ARRAY(0xb1cfbc00)

Dieses Produkt

Cryptonomicon
Cryptonomicon von Neal Stephenson (Taschenbuch - 5. November 2002)
EUR 6,70
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen