Kundenrezensionen


562 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (511)
4 Sterne:
 (37)
3 Sterne:
 (9)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen EIN KLASSIKER!!!
Der Büchermarkt wird derzeit überschwemmt von Biographien ehemaliger Superstars des Wrestling.
Mick Foley's erstes Buch "Have a nice day - a tale of blood and sweatsocks" ist schon jetzt ein absoluter Klassiker! Und das ist keinesfalls übertrieben, denn der lockere und vor allem nie langweilige Schreibstil macht das Buch zu einem absoluten...
Veröffentlicht am 24. Juni 2002 von Harald Hofer

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Filling low expectations for non fans with improper jokes.
This is a book that every time it starts to get an emotion out of you, there is suddenly a penis joke or a joke about homosexuals to get a cheap laugh. As Mick is one of my favorite wrestlers, and he seems to be so proud of the book, it saddens me that some of the greatest insight ever into the business that is professional wrestling also had to contain all of these...
Am 29. Oktober 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 257 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen EIN KLASSIKER!!!, 24. Juni 2002
Der Büchermarkt wird derzeit überschwemmt von Biographien ehemaliger Superstars des Wrestling.
Mick Foley's erstes Buch "Have a nice day - a tale of blood and sweatsocks" ist schon jetzt ein absoluter Klassiker! Und das ist keinesfalls übertrieben, denn der lockere und vor allem nie langweilige Schreibstil macht das Buch zu einem absoluten Muß. Auch Leute, die mit Wrestling nichts am Hut haben, werden ihre Freude daran haben. Wenn man bedenkt, dass das Buch großteils von Foley alleine mittels "brainstorming auf Papier" entstanden ist, dann alle Achtung. Nicht zu unrecht ist dieses Buch auf der New York Times Bestsellerliste zu finden gewesen.
In diesem Buch beschreibt Mick Foley seinen Werdegang im Wrestlingbusiness - er erzählt, wie er das Handwerk von der Pieke auf gelernt hat. Die unzähligen Stunden in Dominic Denucci's gym, die langen Reisen zu den verschiedenen Arenen und natürlich die äußerst harte Arbeit und ständige Selbstüberwindung, um ein Star zu werden.
In dem über 700 Seiten starken Buch geht Foley sehr detailliert an die Sache heran; selbst sein Familienleben kann man gut mitverfolgen. Die ständigen ups and downs seiner so illustren Karriere veranlassen einen stets weiterzulesen. Man kann sich alles bildhaft vorstellen - man glaubt mit Foley im Ring zu stehen. Herrlich, wie er am Anfang den Verlust seines Ohres bei einem Auftritt in Deutschland beschreibt. Der Mann spricht Deutsch, keine Frage!
Man bekommt einen sehr guten Einblick in das Entstehen bzw. Wirken seiner Charaktere (Cactus Jack, Mankind, Dude Love, Mick Foley).
Wie gesagt, ein Klassiker! Und ein Beweis dafür, was in den USA als "Nobody" so alles möglich ist, denn viele zweifelten an einen Erfolg.
Kurzum: unbedingt kaufen, viel Lesespaß um wenig Geld!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Well written, touching and entertaining, 5. Dezember 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Have a Nice Day!: A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I was worried that I was wasting $26.00 on this book when I bought it. I had heard good things from the WWF folk about it, but they hype everything, so I just had to jump in with both feet and trust Mick with my cash and my time.
I'm so glad I did! Mick is a terrific writer; he has a good sense of timing (read the book aloud to see what I mean), flow of emotion and organization of events. Another plus: He uses a vocabulary that most readers can understand without feeling they are being talked down to.
Of course, it didn't hurt that Mick has led an incredible life. Put a good writer together with great raw material, and you come out with this something the caliber of this book -- the best autobiography I have ever read.
This book would appeal to those who are not wrestling fans, but who are curious about people who have done extreme things, or simply turned their lives over to a cause. Mick's cause just happened to be professional wrestling.
Kudos, Mick! You've done a great job.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Mein Eindruck, 9. Mai 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Bei Erscheinungsdatum noch das Nonplusultra der Wrestlingbücher, so führt sich Foley selbst in den vergangenen Jahren ad absurdum, viele Ansichten und Einschätzungen muss man nach seinem Verhalten nach Veröffentlichung des Buches (2000-2010) relativieren - trotz allem, sehr persönliche und gut lesbare Pflichtlektüre in Sachen Karrierereflexion von Wrestlern. Foley weiss, wie man schreibt und sich dabei gut aussehen lässt. Die Vermarktung unter Lizensierung der WWE rüttelt aber etwas an der Objektivität und für die WWE brisante Themen werden latent vernachlässigt - das untergräbt mitunter die Glaubwürdigkeit in der Nachbetrachtung.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Reply of Crit., 11. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Have a Nice Day!: A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks (Gebundene Ausgabe)
The very few criticisms of "Have A Nice Day: A Tale of Blood and Sweat socks" have become evident via the 500+ reviews of this literary work. Let me reply to the few criticisms that were evident:
A: The "Shane Douglas" Criticism - that Mick portrays Himself as a victim/hero all the time - bottom line, this is an autobiography. This is not third person. And it's also not gonna be impartial. It's going to be pretty one sided.
B: "Too Much Wrestling" argument. It is a wrestling book. About a wrestler. By that wrestler. It's going to include wrestling. Plus, remember, of those matches you read, that's about 1/100th of what he actually did. He is writing what stands out, maybe not what seems visually impressive.
C: "Wrestling is an ill effect". I am a wrestler. The first thing I get is that wrestling is bad for kids, makes them violent. It shows decline in our society. First reply is that societies decline. Second is that, if you say that, we're just fine. We want to see people bashed, bruised, hurt, impaled, and destroyed, but we demand it be a visual trick, by highly trained athlete's. And yes, unless you can say you can jump from 4.5 feet, jump off a suspended rope, flip one and a half times, land without killing yourself or another person, quiet. Romans through live humans to lions while eating what we could liken to like popcorn and beer.
D: "Written as a 5th Grader" Argument. - Does Foley look/act/sound like a literary genius? He's from long island for Gods sake, he's not perfect. :-) (Sorry Islanders. Go Rangers!) Foley writes like he talks, and thinks, most likely. He's human. Not a machine. Honestly, do you think Dion Sanders didn't have 15 proof readers? OJ Simpson? He's smart, he must have had none! Eh.
Foley's book is good reading, bottom line. Criticisms are few. You can read this and enjoy a genuine extraordinary human life. Thank God for this little bit of Honesty in biographic world of lies, usually.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Blood, Sweat, and Lots and Lots of Ink, 1. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Have a Nice Day!: A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks (Gebundene Ausgabe)
This was an amazing book.
To let all biases be known, Mick Foley is my favorite wrestler and has been for a number of years. I was very excited to read his book when I first heard of it. I am a huge wrestling fan as well. I will not let these biases affect my review, however.
The first 500 pages or so of this book are phenomenal. It's obviously not written by a literary genius, but Mick has a definite grasp of the English language. Expertly written, and some of the descriptions are better than many authors I've read.
The last 300 pages, however, Mick seems to slack off. His descriptions are less vivid and understandable, and he seems a little bored in his writing. He doesn't crack as many jokes as he did in the earlier part of his book, and he seems to ignore a lot of information. That still doesn't mean this part is bad. =) I read through the last 300 pages just as fast as the first 500. I'm just worried that a non-wrestling fan may get confused at many things in the last part of the book. I know for sure that the "Hell in the Cell" chapter will be torture to read through if you don't previously know what he's talking about. I myself had trouble understanding everything that was going on because his descriptions were lacking so much. Oh well, it's still great. =) And I'm not just saying that because I'm a Mick fan.
I really don't know much else to say. It's an amazing book, but I'd only recommend it for wrestling fans. Non-wrestling fans can read it for the incredible, bust-your-gut humor, but otherwise, it may bore them. For wrestling fans, this book is a dream come true. It spills all the beans on everything, and Mick doesn't hold back much (notice I said "much") on his opinions of others.
Definitely recommended. 5 stars.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Mankind's book goes behind the WWF scene, 5. April 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Have a Nice Day!: A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks (Gebundene Ausgabe)
The World Wrestling Federation originally became an international phenomenon in the early to mid-eighties. Under the guidance of WWF owner Vincent K. McMahon, Jr., people like Hulk Hogan and Andre the Giant became household entities, and heroes for a generation. The success of the WWF, however, can be seen in all factions of entertainment and media, and this includes the literary world.
Mick Foley is a wrestling personality who earned a reputation for doing anything it takes to give the crowd a good show. He has wrestled for over 15 years, and is most known as either Mankind or Cactus Jack, though many fans will never forget his third in-ring persona, teenage heart-throb Dude Love. It is Foley's selflessness in the ring and his complete disregard for his body that has won the respect of fans and peers alike, and in his book, Mankind: Have A Nice Day - A Tale of Blood and Sweat-Socks, Foley reflects on his 15-year career, and the rest of his life as well. What surprises many, however, is how well he is able to recollect the happenings in his life, and produce work that is both funny and touching, painful and heart-wrenching. Foley makes you laugh as much as you cringe, and cry as much as you wince.
The book begins with Foley's most painful memory, when he had his ear torn off in a match in Germany, and then goes into the beginning of his life as a Long Island native who became infatuated with wrestling on television. Wrestling was not only a hobby, it was Foley's way of bridging the gap between he and his father, and for them it became a common interest that bonded them tightly as father and son.
He then discusses his college life at SUNY Cortland, where he traveled every weekend to Pittsburgh in order to train with old-time wrestler Domenic Denucci. Foley discusses Denucci's influence on his life, as well as his keen ability to live out of his car every weekend because of his undying passion. Mick Foley wanted to be the next Superfly Jimmy Snuka, but instead of being a high-flyer he became famous for having three different personalities who never ceased to stun or entertain his fans. The culmination of his career came when he won the most coveted prize in the business, the WWF Championship, against the self-proclaimed People's Champ, The Rock.
Aside from his in-ring adventures, Foley's book delves deep into his personal life, including his love-at-first-sight relationship with his wife Colette, and the life of a wrestler behind-the-scenes. He talks candidly about many of his colleagues, from the outrageous antics of Jake-the-Snake Roberts to the failures of Ric Flair as a wrestling booker. Most importantly, however, Foley discusses the impact of the death of fellow wrestler and family man Owen Hart's on his own life, and how it made him value his wife and children more than ever before.
All in all, Have A Nice Day is a touching tale that will leave you in stitches, and make you marvel at the amount of stitches used to patch up Mick Foley's battered body. Ultimately, he shows that a professional wrestler is not just an actor who follows a script, but rather an extremely tough competitor who takes pride in entertaining millions of fans every day, and being heroes to kids worldwide. His book is a winner, for all mankind.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Pro Wrestling Reality Check., 19. März 2000
Von 
Robert M. Burlingame (Villas, NJ United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Have a Nice Day!: A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Week after week, he hunger for the violent, insult -laden entertainment of Professional wrestling. For most of us, it provided us with fantasy, testosterone-drenched soap-operaic epics that make the realities of life seem to dissipate. Some of us, take it a bit more seriously, albeit extreme. Mick Foley sacrificed in the name of the "sport" he grew to love so much. He sacrificed his ear, his brain, his skin, his cartiledge and god knows what else. Still people just seem to like him as the lovable "Mankind" complete with "Mr. Socko". That in mind, anyone under 12 should keep that image of Mick Foley perserved. For the rest of us, Foley offers us a glimpse of the Wrestling world-it's heroes and villians, its soaring highs and plumetting lows. Yet he does it in such a brutal, honest way. Capturing happiness in an environment of the kill or be killed. Astonishingly in depth and cohesive, you might think Foley was a former literary major, (he actually was a A/V communications major)but perservers nonetheless. In the end, he gets what he always wanted-recoginition (and money). Remember, while Hulk Hogan was saying his prayerrs and taking his vitamins, Foley was jumping off ring aprons onto his hips, falling from scaffolds and surrounding himself within barbed wire. Foley might've cemented what we always have known-that wrestling matches were fixed, but he convinced us that some of the wrestling acts are not (refer to the King of The Death match chapter, and if you can stomach it, the infamous IWA japanese video of the same title). One must admire a man who sacrificed so much for something he loved so much, it's much more than "putting one over", it's a damn hard technical game and the only way to make it is to become good-and not by muscles or good looks only. Mick writes about the good (Bruiser Brody, a lengthy section on Owen Hart and Steve Austin), the Bad (Ric Flair, Marc Mero and Eric Bishoff and not to be beat-J.J. "F'n" Dillon),the ugly (Deathmatches, Hell in the Cell, ECW wrestling and so forth), and the funny (Abdullah the Butcher, Vader, Diamond Dallas Page, and the hilarious never-ending beration of Al Snow). Foley may not be a literary giant, but he captures the raucous environment that our teens now accept as normal pop culture. He just might have made professional wrestling even respectable. For that alone, God Bless you Mick Foley.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen We will remember you, Mick, 3. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Have a Nice Day!: A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks (Gebundene Ausgabe)
People always ask me why I am so entertained by wrestling. The answer I give is that it contains every element of show from comedy to drama and even an occasional foray into romance. This book contains each of those in abundance as Mick Foley, one of the greatest ever to step into the ring, gives readers his life story.
Even though I am a die-hard wrestling fan, I had never heard of Foley before he entered the WWF in late 1995. I was a bit disgusted at first by the Mankind character, but Mick was able to make it grow to a level of interest and humor that had me glued to the screen. In the book, Mick goes all the way back to his college days and his training by Domenic De Nucci. He talks about driving hundreds of miles to Pittsburgh every weekend to fulfill a longshot dream.
The reader is taken through Mick's early independent days to his foray into the big time when he signed with WCW in the early 1990's. What I found most refreshing about the book is that while Mick is certainly very prolific in complimenting his colleagues, he seems to pull no punches when speaking of those who put roadblocks in front of him. Fans of Ric Flair will see a somewhat different picture of the Nature Boy (which I will not give away here) than what you are used to.
Mick then talks about his falling out with ECW, his stint in ECW and finally his first 4 years in the WWF up until his first championship win in December of 1999. Depsite the fact that I found most of the early stuff informative and entertaining, I enjoyed reading about the WWF years the most because Mick provided that behind the scenes perspective that was lacking when I watched those matches. His description of the "Summer of Love" and his matches with Owen Hart as Dude Love will have you on the floor laughing.
For those that have not seen Mick's courageous and insane actions in the ring, this book will give you a healthy respect for the effort most wrestlers put forth and the risks and dangers they face in the ring. Anyone who believes that wrestling is "fake" need only look at the back cover to see all the injuries Mick has endured in the ring.
Unlike most autobiographies, there is no ghost writer here. Mick apparently had a guy write one chapter and was repulsed by it. It is a very down to earth style of writing that allows you to see everything through the author's eyes. My only regret is that Foley recently retired and his loveable insane characters will no longer be on my T.V.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A very good autobiography, but not quite perfect, 18. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Have a Nice Day!: A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I have noticed that a lot of the other reviewers have given this book five stars, and I must admit I almost did too. But five stars is a 'perfect' mark, and although I enjoyed reading this book a lot, I would not say it was perfect. I feel that reviewers - myself included - give products the full five stars far too easily.
This book follows the career of Mick Foley, otherwise known as Mankind, Dude Love and Cactus Jack, from late high school to the point where he first captured the ultimate prize in wrestling, the WWF championship. His journey to superstardom was long and hard, and Mick sustained some horrific injuries, but he overcame all the obstacles and acheived his dream. Mick Foley is Tanacity Personified and this book shows just how much effort it can take to become a professional wrestler. This book is very funny and very well written, I never got bored reading it and would almost certainly read it again.
Although this book would be a good read for people not familiar with the world of wrestling, the book is cleary aimed at wrestling fans. You have to have watched a fair ammount wrestling to understand what a 'Tombstone Piledriver' is or to understand Mick Foley's relationship with Al Snow.
Another minor flaw in my oppinion is the lack of information about Mick's relationship with the Undertaker, with whom Mick competed in the infamous 'Hell in a cell' match, or with his tag team partner Glenn Jacobs - a.k.a. Kane.
None of these flaws are very big, just enough to reduce my rating to four stars.
Initially I thought this book was written a bit too soon because Mick Foley's career was by no means over when the book was released. Now, however, I think the timescale is pretty much perfect. The point where Mick won the WWF title was the right place to finish. If you write a book about acheiving a goal, continuing after the point where you achive that goal is pointless. This is a book about acheiving every wrestlers ultimate goal, so winning the world title belt is the perfect place to finish.
This is an excellent book and I would recommend it to wresling fans. To non-fans I would still recommend this if the concept of the book appeals to you.
This is an excellent autobiography, and a great achievement by Mick Foley. Given the courage and tanacity that Mick has shown I almost feel guilty for not giving it five stars.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen "Superfly" Snuka, Foley's Idol, To Join Mankind As Author, 11. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Have a Nice Day!: A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Mick Foley, A.K.A. Mankind, couldn't get past page 20 of his incredible life story without admitting that he idolizes the mand who many of us consider the greatest wrestler ever, Jimmy "Superfly" Snuka.
The enigmatic personality behind Dude Love, Cactus Jack, and Mankind verbally portrays in detail "Superfly" Snuka's incredible match in Madison Square Garden with Don Muraco in which one of wrestlings most classic moments transpired.
Foley vividly explains how the Superfly climbed barefoot to the top of the 15 foot high steel cage and sacrificed his body by leaping onto the fallen "Magnificent One". Mick Foley's life was never the same after that moment and it shows in "Have A Nice Day".
I'm proud to say that Foley's book has inspired a biography by his idol, Jimmy "Superfly" Snuka which is tentatively being titled, "Tales From The Top Of The Cage." I will serve as co-author to the WWF hall of fame inductee.
Like "Have A Nice Day", Superfly's biography will give tremendous insight into the wrestler's upbringing and childhood life as well as revealing never before discussed information on wrestlers, WWF, wrestling politics, and Snuka's famous wrestling family members like "The Rock", his son Jimmy Jr., actually this list is virtually endless.
If you even remotely liked "Have A Nice Day" which if you didn't - you must have missed something, it is brilliant, you have to read the forthcoming biography by his idol, Jimmy "Superfly" Snuka.
Mick Foley has done a brilliant job of documenting his life story with flourishes of humor and human emotion that will touch and inspire readers of all walks of life. For my entire life I've watched professional wrestling and am now involved as a ring announcer and commentator. I was never a big Mick Foley fan, though I've always respected his ability. Now, I have been converted.
"Have A Nice Day" is hard to categorize. It isn't fair to classify this as a wrestling book. It's so much more.
This is the perfect read for anyone that needs some inspiration or motivation. Foley was turned down by the WWF more times then Elizabeth Taylor has husbands, yet he now holds the distinction of being a two time WWF heavyweight champion.
In fact, Mick Foley may become the only individual to wear the WWF crown under two separate names. He won the WWF title as Mankind and will soon challenge for it again under the moniker he started his career under, Cactus Jack.
The versatility of "Have A Nice Day" will keep you mesmerized until you finish it. one could consider it a buffet that spans an entire football field - you're certain to find more then enough to fill you up.
With the enormous popularity of professional wrestling today it seems that any professional wrestler could write a book and that would sell. Even Al Snow (read "Have A Nice Day", and you'll understand that!).
This book doesn't need professional wrestling's big push. "Have A Nice Day" and its' author, Mick Foley aka Dude Love aka Mankind aka Cactus Jack, stand on their own.
Stop reading these reviews. Order the book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 257 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Have a Nice Day!: A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks
Have a Nice Day!: A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks von WWF (Gebundene Ausgabe - 20. Oktober 1999)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 1,86
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen