Kundenrezensionen


334 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (292)
4 Sterne:
 (25)
3 Sterne:
 (12)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


101 von 103 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Still amazing, after decades... but read LWW first!
What can I add to the discussion of the Narnia books themselves? They're fantastic, and, as a long-time reader of Lewis's work, all I can say is that it's heartening to see that new generations are continuing to discover how wonderful the Chronicles of Narnia are, just as I did about 20 years ago. It's also great to see how many adults continue to treasure them, just...
Am 21. Dezember 1998 veröffentlicht

versus
8 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Poor implementation of a great series of books.
This audio compilation does NOT contain the full text of any of the original stories. It is massively abridged, and has lost all of the character development. While the readers' performances are excellent, their talents are largely wasted, as the stories thus abridged are rather lifeless. I bought this set for my blind wife, who fondly remembers the original stories from...
Am 17. Januar 1997 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 234 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

101 von 103 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Still amazing, after decades... but read LWW first!, 21. Dezember 1998
Von Ein Kunde
What can I add to the discussion of the Narnia books themselves? They're fantastic, and, as a long-time reader of Lewis's work, all I can say is that it's heartening to see that new generations are continuing to discover how wonderful the Chronicles of Narnia are, just as I did about 20 years ago. It's also great to see how many adults continue to treasure them, just as I do today.
The only thing I would say to first-time readers is the same thing that a lot of other reviewers are saying: DON'T READ THE BOOKS IN THE ORDER THAT U.S. PUBLISHERS ARE PUTTING THEM OUT THESE DAYS! Lewis always intended the Narnia books to be published and read in the order in which he wrote them: LWW, PC, VDT, SC, HHB, MN, and LB. It's true that, near the end of his life, Lewis pondered the notion of having the books published and read in chronological order -- but only after an extensive set of internal revisions.
As it turned out, Lewis never had the chance to complete those revisions. So, as they stand now, the books really should be read in the original sequence. For one thing, that's the only way for new readers to discover Narnia in the way that Lewis himself discovered it. Since Lewis never got around to his intended rewriting, the overall story unfolds much more meaningfully -- and much more dramatically -- when it's read OUT of order. For instance, part of the enjoyment of reading The Magician's Nephew is realizing just how a land that the reader has already fallen in love with actually came into being; there's an almost archaeological ("oh, NOW I understand") feel to it. If you read MN first, you miss completely that very important -- and very rich -- subtext.
I could go on: about why The Horse and His Boy should be Book #5, why The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe is THE only real gateway into Narnia, and so forth. But the point is clear. I have a strong suspicion that publishers have changed the order of the books not to adhere to any wishes that Lewis himself may or may not have had, but because some corporate executive decided that less complexity would result in more sales. Publishers should have more faith in the ability of readers to appreciate complicated textual issues, even if (or especially if!) those readers are children. To read the Narnia Chronicles in the order they're in now is to deprive oneself of the most meaningful reading of the story as a whole. So read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe first -- and, while you're at it, maybe let the publishers know that you'd like to see future editions appear in the original order. But whatever sequence you follow, enjoy the books themselves!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


29 von 29 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Delightful Reading, But Sadly Altered, 18. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
There is a modern misconception concerning C.S. Lewis's great children's series, 'The Chronicles of Narnia.' Due to changes during reprinting, the orginal order of his seven-part series was disrupted to conform to the overall story-line. When the books were written, Mr. Lewis began his series with the classic Christian allegory, 'The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.' He then went on to write the remaining novels in a non-traditional, non-chronological order: part two of the 'Chronicles' was 'Prince Caspian'. Next came, 'The Voyage of the Dawn Treader', 'The Silver Chair', 'The Horse and His Boy', 'The Magician's Nephew', and finally, 'The Last Battle.' Lewis released his novels in this order for a reason and I urge every reader to follow the original, proper sequence. It transforms a mere fantasy series into some of the single best children's novels in print. The symbolism of Christian allegory and the honest and noble morals that rest among the pages will stay with you and your children for years to come. May Aslan be with you and your family as you take the delightful trip into the fantastic and amasing land of Narnia!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


10 von 10 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen The Original Order Is VITAL Upon The First Reading, 16. Dezember 1999
Von 
THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA were the most wonderful and important books I read as a child. I am still upset by this set HarperCollins has published in the last few years that has re-ordered the seven volumes chronologically based on the historical line in the novels. This is apparently according to Lewis's wishes, if so, Lewis was wrong! The best part of the series was reading "The Magician's Nephew" sixth and discovering with a beautiful and never-replicated surprise about all the things that happened before "The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe." (See several reviews below that already say this better.) By all means buy these books for your children, godchildren, nieces and nephews, but PLEASE, specify that the FIRST time they read them that they read them in the original order: LWW, PC, VDT, SC, HHB, MN, LB. They will reread them for the rest of their lives, in every possible order, but something great and beautiful and unsurpassed will be stolen from them if they read The Magician's Nephew first.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


10 von 10 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen I would give it 80 stars if I could, 27. Januar 2000
Reviewer: A reader from Franklin, Tn January 24, 2000 Okay, words can not describe how much these books mean to me. These 7 books are what started my love for reading. I read them when I was in 5th grade, and I was one of those kids who loathed reading. But when I discovered these classics, I beame an avid reader. These seven tales take you on a wonderous trip throughout the land of Narnia. You follow the lives of a handful of children, and the magical adventures they play out in Narnia. They are guided by the wisdom af Aslan the lion. He takes the children on a number of amazing adventures that change their lives. Again, I really can't explain how influential these books have been on my life. My personal favorite is _The Voyage of the Dawn Treader_. I truly cherish these tales, and you will to when you read them.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


8 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Poor implementation of a great series of books., 17. Januar 1997
Von Ein Kunde
This audio compilation does NOT contain the full text of any of the original stories. It is massively abridged, and has lost all of the character development. While the readers' performances are excellent, their talents are largely wasted, as the stories thus abridged are rather lifeless. I bought this set for my blind wife, who fondly remembers the original stories from her childhood. She is disappointed with the set, and I consider it to have been a waste of money.
[Dale Dolan, Kelowna BC
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Truly Exceptional Stories for ALL ages!, 19. März 2000
Von Ein Kunde
The Narnian Chronicles have been my favorite series since I first read (and devoured) them in third grade (I'm now 30). I have since reread them many times, enjoying them even more each time as I see new things previously undiscovered or not understood. They are entertaining, imaginative, and thought-provoking from many perspectives, and will appeal even to the mature 5 or 6-year-old child as a read-aloud adventure. These books are truly worthy of discussion with your elementary, middle school, or high school student. College students have even written theses about these books and their many intriguing themes. I recently gave the entire set to my eighty-year-old grandmother as a gift, and she read them all within a couple of weeks! She said they were so good, she couldn't put them down, and she has loved talking to me about them ever since! My husband's 90-year-old grandmother is also an avid reader, finishing a book every few days. I am planning on giving the Narnia books to her as well! You simply can't go wrong purchasing these books. This is a wonderfully appealing fantasy series for all ages- it will surely be an enduring classic for generations to come.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Books that get better each time you read them!, 5. Februar 2006
Von Ein Kunde
Whatever your age, this is a set of books worth owning rather than just borrowing. I've found myself coming back to read them at intervals all through my life, "meeting up with old friends" each time. Though the sense of discovery the first time through was unique, I didn't notice nearly all the symbolism nor really appreciate the beauty of some passages until later, when I was less taken up by the plots.
If I had given the books a rating after the first reading, it would probably have been 4 rather than 5 -- first time round I wasn't sure if I liked the style of the author when he interrupts the flow of the tale to address the reader personally. Also I tended to be slightly disappointed that each book was so different from the one before. After re-reading them more often than I can count, I find I now enjoy both these aspects - the feeling of getting to know a good story-teller almost personally through the comments that are interspersed in the narrative, and the wonderful diversity of brilliantly drawn characters and plots. So in many ways the books got better each time.
There's been a lot of discussion about the best reading order -- chronological or order of writing. Actually, it doesn't really matter all that much, but I personally would favour the order they were written: LWW, PC, VotDT, SC, HahB, MN, LB. (Some have pointed out that Lewis' decision to re-order them may have been in conjunction with his hopes of revising them, which didn't come to fruition.) That was partly what motivated me to get a boxed set that I can arrange as I like, rather than an all-in-one edition. More important for me, though, is to have all the original illustrations by Pauline Baynes which complement the text so beautifully.
Recent criticisms concerning "mysogony" and "racism" don't hold water if you read the books properly. MN in particular shows that any race has the potential to become gradually harder and more cruel over many generations (see the Hall of Images), and HahB and LB show that a nation ruled by tyrants doesn't have to be a nation made up of tyrants. The "mysogony" accusation is equally unfounded, as you'll find out for yourself. Of course the books are set in the 40s/50s and use the slang and modes of expression of that time. That's all part of the fun.
Fascinating plots; well-rounded, credible characters; plenty of humour; descriptive passages; delightful illustrations; and real life-wisdom whether or not you delve into the allegorical level -- these are books you can relax with, and come away enriched.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


21 von 24 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Visit a world full of Magic and Enchantment, 7. März 2007
Over 50 years ago, C.S. Lewis created a land of wonder and enchantment called Narnia. I was just twelve years old when I discovered the wondrous world that exists beyond the back of the wardrobe.

When I read the first book in this series of seven "The Magicians Nephew" my English was not too good, but I could not stop reading. Being carried away with Digory and Polly who discover a secret passage that links their houses, and then are tricked into vanishing out of our world into the World of Charn, where they waken the wicked Queen Jadis. There, they witness the creation of the Land of Narnia, as it is sung into being by the Great Lion, Aslan.

In the second book "The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe", other groups of children visit the magical world, where they unite with Aslan to fight the White Witch and save Narnia from perpetual Darkness.

In this series of books magnificent adventures are happening and they are not only exciting to read, but also quite educational. Also book number seven "The last Battle", is breathtaking to read to the very last page. An impressive ending when the last battle is fought between good end evil.

Many years later I gave those books to my children to read and soon my grandkids will be able to visit Narnia. What better way is there to learn a foreign language? Those books have lost nothing of their fascination and charm. I read them again recently and still love them.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Passport To Narnia, 3. April 1998
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Chronicles of Narnia Box Set (Books 1 to 7) (Gebundene Ausgabe)
After you read these books, you'll yearn for Narnia. You'll yearn for a glimpse of Aslan, the Great Lion from over the Sea, or Reepicheep the Valiant Mouse. You'll try to get to Narnia through your own wardrobes, pictures, train stations and ponds. But these set of books are the only doorway.
The Chronicles part of the series may confuse you at first, because the books do not move in chronological order. The reader moves through three books, then begins jumping around in time. But you'll realize that Narnia Time is Different. Whole lifetimes pass during one moment of our world's time.
Do not let the allegorical tags on this masterful opus scare you away. The story will hold you. Edward's betrayal of his siblings in The Lion, The Witch, And The Wardrobe; The coming of Age of Prince Caspian in The Silver Chair; sailing to the End of the World in The Dawn Treader with the valiant Reepicheep and the intolerable Eustace; how land is saved by the companionship of a Horse and His Boy; the creation of Narnia and its exposure to evil in The Magician's Nephew; and the valiant last stand of Narnia's loyal subjects against overwhelming evil and darkness with an amazing ending in The Last Battle.
These books were first read to me as a small child. I reread them many times through older childhood, adolescence, university, and now have read them to my own son. I will read them many more times - - and I look forward to those times. These books are full of light.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Abridged Audio Version cuts too much away!, 28. März 2000
I have been a fan of the Narnia books for many years, and I had hoped to renew my pleasure in them through this audio version. To my great disappointment, the stories offered here are so brutally abridged as to have lost all their original appeal. They are reduced to the merest skeleton of the narrative, and all the delightful details have been ruthlessly cut away. "The Voyage of the Dawn Treader," for example, includes only one of the many adventures recounted in the book! Don't waste your time or money on these: both would be much better spent in (re)visiting the unabridged originals!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 234 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Chronicles of Narnia Box Set (Books 1 to 7)
The Chronicles of Narnia Box Set (Books 1 to 7) von C. S. Lewis (Gebundene Ausgabe - 14. August 2007)
EUR 81,18
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen