Kundenrezensionen


18 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (12)
4 Sterne:
 (3)
3 Sterne:
 (2)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5.0 von 5 Sternen VERY TOUCHING, VERY WELL DONE
"It is seven thirty on an August evening. The windows in the living room of the gray house are wide open patiently exchanging the tainted inner atmosphere of liquor and smoke for the fresh drowsiness of the late hot dusk. There are dying flower scents upon the air, so thin, so fragile, as to hint already of a summer laid away in time."

This is the story of a...
Veröffentlicht am 13. Juli 2007 von Heather Negahdar

versus
2.0 von 5 Sternen Not Among His Better Efforts
As a fan of Fitzgerald's writing, I was truly disappointed bythis book. Verbose and somewhat boring early on in the text, the bookhas none of the best qualities of his better works. His tendency to write the elegant sentence is taken too far too often in this text, having the effect of a continual stream of unnecessary adjectives normally associated with writers below...
Am 21. April 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5.0 von 5 Sternen VERY TOUCHING, VERY WELL DONE, 13. Juli 2007
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Beautiful and Damned (Taschenbuch)
"It is seven thirty on an August evening. The windows in the living room of the gray house are wide open patiently exchanging the tainted inner atmosphere of liquor and smoke for the fresh drowsiness of the late hot dusk. There are dying flower scents upon the air, so thin, so fragile, as to hint already of a summer laid away in time."

This is the story of a young couple Anthony and Gloria Patch living out their days to the hilt in New York City as they await the death of Anthony's grandfather, Adam Patch from whom they expect to inherit his massive fortune.

Gloria is a spoilt child from Kansas City turned into a sophisticated and most beautiful woman. Gloria does not intend to lift a finger to do any domestic work in the home, no matter how slight; while Anthony who considers himself an aesthete, finds it quite hard to get his act together and instead of buckling down to some work, prefers instead to hang with his wife and their friends on nightly binges. They drink and eat in the classiest restaurants and hotels, rent the most expensive apartments, travel out to the West in the spring time driving plush cars, wearing top-of-the-line clothing and just generally living it up high on the hog, as they wait.

Meet Maury Noble who is Anthony best friend who spends his time between New York and Philadelphia; Richard Caramel who has just completed writing a book and looking for new ideas for a second one. Joseph Bloeckman from Munich who started out small in America and is now a big shot in Show Biz. Also the quiet Jewess Rachael Barnes and Muriel Kane who is young, flirtatious and sometimes a bit too talkative and Tana the Japanese housekeeper of the Patches.

We are shown the Patches at their very best as the novel starts, with the world at their feet and loaded with cash with which they make very expensive choices. But, as we get further in, we see things begin to change gradually and we realize that those very choices will be their very downfall. It was quite a good read but it could be very heartbreaking at times as we put ourselves into the shoes of the main characters. All lovers of F. Scott Fitzgerald should read this book if you haven't done so already, and those of you who like reading about the ultra rich in the Roaring Twenties this one is for you. It is the kind of book that you feel you will want to read again. It is that good and I shall miss it.
Reviewed by Heather Marshall Negahdar (SUGAR-CANE 13/07/07)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen When life takes a turn, 13. Oktober 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Fittingly, this was the last of Fitzgerald's novels that I read. And I apparently saved the best for last. In this enrapturing portrayl of young lovers who are attracted by their differences in the beggining yet destroyed by their similarities in the end (the need of wealth). I find this perhaps one of Fitzgerald's finest literary achievements. He has it all working for him in this novel, his character development is excellent, I feel as though I could recognize Anthony or Gloria on the street if they were to saunter my way. Fitzgerald truly breaks his own mold on this terrific literary achievement. He not only tells a wonderful story of two young lovers but he also parallels it with a very strong supporting cast of characters to Anthony and Gloria. Much can be understood of the lead characters by reading into the supporting characters, focus on Anthhony's grandfather for example. The rosy picture which is so commonly printed by the media of the rich has never been so wonderfully redone with vibrant color as Fitzgerald waves his "paint brush" through all the old misconceptions of the rich and into something truly brilliant: Real life. Fitzgerald was indeed touched with brilliance, and never has it ever been more evident than in his wonderful novel :The Beautiful and Damned." An absolute must read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Overly moralistic, but a compelling plot, 8. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Beautiful and the Damned (Taschenbuch)
F. Scott Fitzgerald is my favorite author, to get my bias out in the open. I have read all four of his novels and many of his short stories, and while this is not his best novel technically, I believe the plot and characters are perhaps more interesting than in some of his other novels. As with his other novels, it draws intensly on Fitzgerald's own life, foreshadowing his problems with Zelda, drinking, and a lack of money. The story of a beautiful young couple ruined by their greed and ambition is very compelling, and the scene where Anthony's grandfather, the Prohibition advocate catches the couple on a "binge" and disinherits them is very dramatic and interesting. By the end of the novel, the couple does retrieve their monetary wealth, but they have already lost their beauty and youth, which is in the end more important than money to Fitzgerald. The story is very moralistic, and perhaps even preachy, but if you are interested in tales of the "leisure class" as I am, you definitely should read this novel.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen Not Among His Better Efforts, 21. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Beautiful and Damned (Taschenbuch)
As a fan of Fitzgerald's writing, I was truly disappointed bythis book. Verbose and somewhat boring early on in the text, the bookhas none of the best qualities of his better works. His tendency to write the elegant sentence is taken too far too often in this text, having the effect of a continual stream of unnecessary adjectives normally associated with writers below his caliber. The work also seems thrown together, with pieces of stage script and overly-sentimental poetry splashed among the pages. I can't help but think, with respect to how unpolished the product was, that he had an idea and a deadline and the deadline won. Better books to read by Fitzgerald are The Great Gatsby, Tender is the Night, and even the unfinished The Love of the Last Tycoon. His collected short stories also offer enjoyable reading. I realize I am at odds here, but I cannot recommend this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen the golden age revisited, 12. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Beautiful and the Damned (Taschenbuch)
fitzerald once again entertains us with the same basic plot but with different characters. it's amazing that an author can continually draw the reader into a story that sounds vaguely familiar with characters that have similar weaknesses. his magic is in bringing that golden era to the present. it's like reading an autobiography of the author himself. the emotions, the enjoy life at all costs attitude, the failures and successes. it's all there as in his other works. in his day some of fitzeralds works where met with minimal praise. we love him more today because he is one of the only authors that have described that era so intricately.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen How does he do it?, 1. Juli 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Beautiful and Damned (Taschenbuch)
Hmmm, just finished The Beautiful and the Damned and was sad to do so. It is the last of His novels for me - until I reread them ofcourse. Yes, F. Scott did it again in this novel - he wowed me - I am utterly amazed at Fitzgeralds use of language!Every other line is brilliant, or near enough. I feel silly "reviewing" this novel - it suffices to say that this is yet another fantastic story wrapped up in a glorious package of ingenious prose and crystalline images - topped off with the big velvet bow that are Anthony Patch and Gloria Gilbert. Glorious!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen soap opera 1920s style, 8. Oktober 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Beautiful and Damned (Taschenbuch)
Fitzgerald is an excellent writer. I would need a couple of thesauruses handy to do what he does with the written word. I enjoyed this book, but it is not my favorite by Fitzgerald. I felt that the content of the story is still timely, but I also felt that it would have had more of an impact on the populace of America in the '20s. Today's men and women have changed from the attitudes projected in Beautiful and Damned. It is definitely interesting as a window to the past, but I didn't feel it speaks loudly to this generation of young lovers.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The Beautiful and Damned -- Damned Beautiful!, 3. Dezember 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Beautiful and Damned (Taschenbuch)
We're coming into an age referred to by many as the "Cocktail Nation," and our youth is experimenting with swing dancing, swing music, making bathtub absinthe, and trying to recreate the air of my most favorite decade of all times: the roaring '20s.
"The Beautiful and Damned," is by far the best work by the man who almost single-handedly created the image of the flapper. F. Scott Fitzgerald was as much the voice of his generation as we claim modern alternative musicians are the voice of ours.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen His Best Roaring 20's Novel, 3. November 1998
Von Ein Kunde
By no means his best novel (as others here suggest) but highly underrated. Often one hears of Great Gatsby as his best, Tender is the Night as his labored over lost classic, This Side of Paradise as his promising and famous debut, and The Love of the Last Tycoon as the classic that never was, but Beautiful and Damned is never mentioned. In my opinion this is the book that best describes the hedonistic society I have read of called the Roaring Twenties. As the reader watches all the characters lose their dreams and fall into a depraved, hollow existent based on alcohol I am reminded too fondly of my college years.
If you are a Fitzgerald fan read this one after This Side of Paradise. If you are someone with a passing interest in the Twenties read this. If you are someone with just a passing interest in Fitzgerald then read this one last, after any of the other Fitzgerald novels.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Outstanding!, 24. September 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Beautiful and Damned (Taschenbuch)
I believe this to be Fitzgerald's second best novel, behind "The Great Gatsby" It took me just a few days to read because it was so captivating. For anyone who romanticizes about a fairy-tale relationship, the one between Anthony and Gloria was just that, in the beginning. Although they waste a good portion of their youth waiting for Anthony's grandfather's fortune, it's still a very romantic book. This was thoroughly entertaining.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Beautiful and Damned (Collins Classics)
Beautiful and Damned (Collins Classics) von F Scott Fitzgerald (Taschenbuch - 3. Januar 2013)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 2,61
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen