Kundenrezensionen


484 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (297)
4 Sterne:
 (84)
3 Sterne:
 (37)
2 Sterne:
 (28)
1 Sterne:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Elegy for the jazz age
Although published seventy-five years ago, Fitzgerald's masterpiece remains as fresh as the day it appeared. It could have been written yesterday. It is as perfect a novel as one is likely to find in American literature; not a word is wrong or out of place. The choice of a second person narrator gives the reader wider and greater appreciation of the characters and...
Veröffentlicht am 17. Juli 2000 von Randall Ivey

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen the only good thing about it was its simplicity
Even though I only had to read this for school, I can tell you one thing through my forced reading: the only good thing about this book was that I could read it fast. Fitzgerald puts across some good points, but the book left me without the feeling of having been there and only with images of what happened. He did not do a very good job of emphasizing the important...
Veröffentlicht am 19. Januar 2000 von Dr. Nancy Williams


‹ Zurück | 1 249 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Elegy for the jazz age, 17. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Great Gatsby (Taschenbuch)
Although published seventy-five years ago, Fitzgerald's masterpiece remains as fresh as the day it appeared. It could have been written yesterday. It is as perfect a novel as one is likely to find in American literature; not a word is wrong or out of place. The choice of a second person narrator gives the reader wider and greater appreciation of the characters and events. At the center of it all, of course, is Jay Gatsby, bootlegger, liar, party-giver, doomed romantic. His love for Daisy Buchanan, his "incorruptible dream", is the only genuine emotion felt by any of the characters (excepting narrator Nick Carroway, whose loyalty to Gatsby is touching), all of whose superficiality is buried beneath the glitter and gaiety of the Jazz Age, the endless parties, the extramarital affairs, the endless-flowing booze, the accumulation of wealth and things.
This edition of the book features critical commentary and notes from Prof. Matthew Bruccoli, the world's foremost Fitzgerald scholar.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Review of "The Great Gastby" by H.K. at Pomona, 27. März 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Great Gatsby (Taschenbuch)
Jay Gatsby. The most sophisticated, popular, extravagant man on West Egg Island. The host of lavish, extraordinary parties, sprawled across the gardens of his enormous house, filled with aristocrats, vibrant colors, jazz music, laughter, and the tinklin of glasses. A personable young man if there ever was one. A friend to all, and fond of calling them "old boy." And above all, an Oxford man. Or is he? For it seems one can never fully trust Gatsby and the stories of his past. The occasional uncertainty d hesitancy in his voice, as well as frequent inquiries, investigations, and juicy rumors, contradict the his words. Jay Gatsby is the hero of F. Scott Fiztgerald's classic, The Great Gatsby, an captivating novel full of intertwining stories and characters, and the revelation of the first connection is intriguing enough to leave the reader begging for the next. A won rful story, The Great Gatsby is laced with mystery, and spiced with a dash of romance. The tale unfolds itself in 1922, on the Long Island provinces of West and East Egg Island, the latter being the more fashionable of the two, and the island where Daisy and Tom Bucanan reside. Daisy is a sparkling young woman and adored by all that meet er. She is sociable, polite, energetic, enthusiastic, and positively delightful, complete with a voice resembling lilting music notes. But this bright girl isn't all she seems; even lovely Daisy has a passionate secret. Her husband, Tom, is an athletic an, the epitome of arrogance. His eyes are always described as "flashing about restlessly." The former football hero demands dominance over all, especially over the women in his life; his wife, and his over-the-top, full-figured mistress, Myrtle Wilson. t is only when he feels denied of this control that he shows emotion. Across the bay, on the West Egg, lives Daisy's cousin, and Tom's college friend, Nick Callaway, who also happens to be Gatsby's neighbor (just some of the slew of intertwining connec ons between the characters). Nick is the narrator of the story, and does well in presenting an objective view of the string of events that take place. Perhaps this is because he lives by the rule to not criticize others. However, he is incredibly percep ve, and whatever criticisms and opinions he does take on become completely justified to the reader, biased or not. Nick is forever changed by his encounters with Gatsby, but still remains able to continue his normal life, leaving any stinging memories b ind. Perhaps this can be attributed to Jordan Baker, who can be considered the anchor of sanity, or the accomplice for the plot basis. Jordan, Daisy's good friend, moves through the story to become Nick's love interest, but also serves as the source of e missing pieces of the story, the glue between other characters, without being incredibly integral to the connections themselves. As said before, The Great Gatsby is a wonderful whirl of mixing and mingling pasts and presents. It focuses around Jay Gatsby and his quest to recapture the love he had and lost five years ago; Daisy, who loves him in return. However, between elaborate chemes and secret meetings, the two must conquer husbands, mistresses, death, tragedy, and pass the test of true love and loyalty. And despite how much readers come to wish them well, at times their happy fate is wholly uncertain. Through the tangled story of Gatsby and Daisy's romance, and the web of characters and events that surround them, Fitzgerald makes it painfully clear to his readers that people are interminably connected, and the actions of one can start a chain that e ects the lives of many. And, contrary to main-stream fictitious happiness, love does not always prove to be pure and true, or prevail over all. Although The Great Gatsby eventually proves itself to be a simply engrossing novel, the primary story line can be difficult to deeply fall into. The first seventy-five pages can seem dry and lagging, as they primarily consist of explaining how Nick cam to live in West Egg, and retelling seemingly unimportant encounters with several of the characters, probably simply a method of presenting them to readers. However, with the introduction of Mr. Wolfshiem, a shady character, as well as the conversation b ween Gatsby and Nick that precedes that meeting, the plot thickens tremendously. It is with these two events that the mysterious story and the intertwining pasts begin to unfold themselves, and readers will find themselves immediately entranced by the s uence of events to come. The Great Gatsby, though not entirely difficult, should also not be tackled by those who find expressive language and metaphors troubling. However, once readers have become aquatinted with Fitzgerald's writing, his exquisite use of language and metapho will become apparent. They will find the lavish words find even necessary to match the sophisticated nature of the characters. He makes exceptional use of metaphor, best exemplified by his description of Daisy's voice. It is praised time and time again, nd is said to retain the quality of music, notes that will never be played again, the sound of tinkling money, and glowing and singing noise, the sort that the ear follows up and down. Jordan is also frequently said to "balance objects on her chin," def ing the way she holds herself. And just outside of New York is an area where everything is apparently made from ashes, and the piercing blue streams of sky are solely referred to as "the eyes of Doctor T.J. Eckleburg." These metaphors help to paint a wo erfully vivid picture, making sounds and sights come alive, full with depth and meaning.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


16 von 19 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Bittersweet Love Story That Gets Sweeter With Time, 29. Juni 2000
Von 
Jeffrey M. Zinn (Charlotte, NC USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Great Gatsby (Taschenbuch)
I have read this book every summer since I first read it as part of a high school reading list. It is one of my favorite books in that it takes the reader back to a very romantic, colorful time in history. It profiles the life of a tragic, wreckless dreamer who re-invents himself to capture the heart of a his first love.
I think what brings me back to this book time and time again is the poetic quality of the writing. Each reading brings seems to bring out new ideas and facets to this story. It is beautifully written. One thing worth noticing is the use of colors that Fitzgerald employs throughout the story. The book also captures a slice of life in the 1920s - a period of time which often seems akin to the present in its massive explosion of wealth.
I think the fact that the story takes place in the summer also ads to my enjoyment of this book. When I sit on the beach reading it,I can picture myself on the north shore of Long Island at one of Gatsby's parties, with jazz music in the air, and his beautiful house ablaze with a festive glow....
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The disintegration of the American dream, 22. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Great Gatsby (Taschenbuch)
The Great Gatsby is an important book, make no mistake. It is also the finest novel of a very fine novelist. At a time when America was just beginning to realise that it was as susceptible to corruption, greed and self-delusion as every other country on the planet, Fitzgerald wrote a book that really does capture the moment a nation founded on ideals realises that ideals are hard to live by.
Gatsby, the central anti-character, is a mere shadow, a man who reinvents himself to win the heart of the girl he think he loves. The foundations of this infatuation and subsequent reinvention are rotten and the result must be rotten too. Fitzgerald writes beautifully, his words tinged with the sadness and quiet desperation that flavours the whole novel, and his characters all seem to sense that their lives are built on precarious ideas about success, happiness and love.
The Great Gatsby is a very honest and acute portrayal of a nation built on the misbegotten assumption that you can be whoever you want to be, and the consequences that that belief holds. More importantly it is a brilliant and moving novel.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


41 von 50 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Das totale Scheitern, 6. Juli 2005
Das erste mal las ich diesen Roman gezwungenermaßen in der Schule und war, wie sollte es auch anders sein, wenig begeistert. Die ständige Suche nach diversen stylistic devices sowie die Interpretationen von Charakteren in einzelnen Kapiteln haben mir damals echt schlechte Laune bereitet. Heute, sechs Jahre später, habe ich "The Great Gatsby" nur so aus Spaß an der Freude gelesen und war begeistert.
Nick Carrahan erzählt die Geschichte seines Nachbarn Jay Gatsby, der in seiner Villa fast täglich riesige Partys schmeißt. Doch keienr von seinen Gästen scheint etwas über die wahre Geschichte von Gatsby Bescheid zu wissen. Es kursieren die wildesten Gerüchte wie er zu seinem Reichtum gekommen ist, aber niemand scheint die Wahrheit zu kennen.
Dabei ist alles ganz einfach. Gatsby hat sein Leben nur einem einzigen Zweck untergeordnet, nämlich seine geliebte Daisy, Nicks Cousine, zu erobern. Diese lernte er vor fünf Jahren, als mittelloser Soldat, kurz bevor er in den Ersten Weltkrieg zog, kennen. Sie versprach ihm, auf ihn zu warten und heiratete dann doch den reichen, aber dummen und brutalen, Footballspieler Tom Buchanan. Gatsby ist sich sicher, dass Daisy ihn liebt, ihn aber wegen seiner Armut nicht heiraten konnte.
Für fünf Jahre wohnte er nun in Sichtweite von Daisys und Toms Haus, ohne sich ihr zu nähern. Er benutzt nun Nick, um Daisy zu sich einzulanden und endlich die Vergangenheit zu ändern (ein Hauptmotiv des Romans). Gatsby und Daisy treffen sich, doch die Geschichte nimmt einen Verlauf, den Gatsby so nicht erwartet hat.
"The Great Gatsby" ist zu aller erst eine unsentimentale, brutale Liebesgeschichte. Jahrelang hat Gatsby nur für die eine Illusion gelebt, sein ganzes Leben auf ein Ziel ausgerichtet und muss dafür bitter bezahlen.
Zum anderen rechnet der Roman schonungslos mit dem American Dream ab. Werte wie "ambition" oder "success" führen hier nicht zu einem glücklichen Ende, sondern zu einem einsamen und sinnlosen Leben.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The wake of his dreams, 1. August 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Great Gatsby (Taschenbuch)
The depth of this book is such that I certainly can't give justice to it in mere review, but I'm going to try.
What a wonderful life this is. And what a wonderful book this is, capturing the essence of the ambition, lust, love and gay abandonment, not only of the 1920s, but of the human spirit itself. Widely regarded as a classic of modern literature, Fitzgerald manages to capture something very American, very modern, very sublime and truly timeless in this novel; from the relatively simple narrative of romantic yearnings, to the greedy ambitions, the lost loves, the complex enchantments, and the underlying despair; this is a journey of life, a musical symphony, a grecian poem caught up in a few idle words of a wondering writer in the early 20th century.
This book for me is just too much. Take the exchange between Nick and Gatsby about the 'past', and following 'lost dreams';- "You can't repeat the past" (Nick). "Can't repeat the past? Why of course you can" (Gastby). Can you? I still don't know. How about the early quote of "the foul dust that floated in the wake of his dreams that temporarily closed out my interest in the shortwinded elations and abortive sorrows of men". A dark promise of things to come. And what about the exhileration and excitement of the "returning trains of my youth", near the end, where Nick decides to leave the 'big smoke' in New York, permanently tainted in his mind, for the wide plains, the homely townships, and to escape from the shallow, superficial and 'messy' lives of the Big Apple pretenders.
I won't spoil you with intricate details of the story, if you haven't read it and you want to understand modern literature and the modern western world, you have to read it. It is as simple as that.
This book is a poem, a unique expose of the human spirit, the western dream, the love and despair of life; quintessentially 20th century and quintessentially beautiful.
I wish I was seventeen and could read it again for the first time.
Oh Daisy, my long lost and hoped for true love, the future is still ours......
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Down with school..., 28. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Great Gatsby (Taschenbuch)
I did not go to school in America, and read this book about a year ago, but for whatever reason, I ended up here, and have to write some kind of upbeat report on the Great Gatsby to try to balance the tide against all the revisionist critics.
The reason I mention school is that it would appear a lot of people have had traumatising experiences with classics being thrust down their throats. I do not know if it is a case of bad teacher, bad student, or simple incompatibility, but I would say this - if you really did not enjoy a book, DON'T TELL OTHER PEOPLE NOT TO READ IT! One of the most disappointing experiences of my literary career (if you can call it that) was when I recommended my girlfriend to read Catch-22, and had it metaphorically hurled in my face after "3 chapters". That's her right, but the negative reaction will always hurt more people than help them, whereas vice-versa for the positive one...especially since I have noticed that works that someone has always been attached to can still be reduced for them in the face of violent enough criticism. If you had a bad experience at school, it's fair enough to be upset about it...but this truly is a great book which should only have great things written about it.
Both of Catch-22 and the Great Gatsby have humour and grace, and not a little hidden dignity. But Gatsby is clearly the superior work for the symbolists and amateur students of literature. It is a period novel, but like all the greatest of these kinds of works of fiction, it reaches far beyond its time. The writing is timeless, and the mystery makes for a latter day Much Ado About Nothing - perhaps it is boring on the surface, but boring like tectonic plates: fundamental, dealing in huge issues in subtle and slow movements. Yet it is not even a particularly long novel - several hours of great entertainment and effort well expended.
I hate having to write prescriptively, but sometimes you can't help reacting, you know?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen There's More Than What Meets the Eye, 18. Oktober 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Great Gatsby (Taschenbuch)
F. Scott Fitzgerald is a pure genius. The Great Gatsby was beatifully written and completely captured the 1920s and its American Jazz Age. On the surface, Fitzgerald's novel seemed simple, but after a months study on it the book revealed so much more. Only a literary mastermind could have come up with such a subtle novel that came to be more complex and insightful than expected. Fitzgerald's characters is what brought life to the book. Nick, being the narrator, showed sensibility in the novel. Although Nick represented the middle class people striving to upgrade their status, he maintained his ground. Through the experiences that he had gone through being with the high society, there was a major turning point for him. Nick realized that that corrupt and shallow class had absolutely no morals. From there he moved back West, too afraid that he may experience what Gastby had experienced. Jay Gatsby on the other hand, was somewhat of an honorable mystery. He was a mystery because he was never seen directly, but mainly through other peoples perceptions. Nobody really knew him as a person and nobody knew his identity. Although, Gatsby was on a quest in search of something that meant his whole life to him. He wanted to re-live the past that he had with Daisy and didn't stop for a second to come back to reality no matter what other people had told him. Now Daisy was simply a basketcase and represented her society quite well. She was materialistic and extremely shallow, thus the name Daisy. She had played with people's minds and seemed to play with her own mind at the same time. The novel just came together very well with the connection of the seasons to Gatsby's dream to even the slightest detailing of the colour of clothing and even the vehicle's interior. F. Scott Fitzgerald's novel was very insightful and well-crafted, but before making any first judgements after reading it thorough research will make you believe how great The Great Gatsby truly is.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Gatsby is for anyone, any age, any place!, 17. Oktober 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Great Gatsby (Taschenbuch)
The Great Gatsby, a book about love, wealth, triumph, and tragidy, was written by Scott F. Fitzgerald (1896-1940). Fitzgerald's original purpose for writing was to become wealthy and to impress his new wife, Zelda Sayre. Soon after his first book was published, he realized that he liked writing so much, he would make it his life-long profession.
The Great Gatsby is a book that tells us the way of life and love during the twenties. The book's main character, Nick Carraway tells of life, from his 30 year old male's perspective. Nick, living in the lower middle class, moved east to New York in search of riches, but what he finds, is an unexpected wealth that will change his view of life forever.
Fitzgerald wrote this book to present the Roaring Twenties or the Jazz Age. The twenties marked the decade where the American economy, and status levels, peaked. The rich were very rich, and the poor, very poor. Fitzgerald compared and contrasted these two groups very well. I believe what enabled him to do this was that during his life-time, he experienced both being rich, and being poor. Throughout the book, Fitzgerald contrasts the rich and the poor's status level. Through Nick, he talks about how the rich were looked up to and the poor were looked down on, with the exception of Nick's very wealthy next door neighbor, Jay Gatsby. Nick admire's Mr. Gatsby, he tells us this by writing about him, "He has an extraordinary gift for hope, a romantic readiness such as I have never found in any other person and which it is not likely I shall ever find again." In the same way, Mr. Gatsby treats Nick like he treats everyone. He is able to see past status and money, and look straight into the heart. As the story continues, Nick becomes Mr. Gatsby's best, and only true friend.
This book also illustrates the racism and rivalry between blacks and whites during this period. Nick tells us about this as he is driving in Mr. Gatsby's Rolls Royce. "As we crossed Blackwell's Island a limousine passed us, driven by a white chachauffuer, in which sat three modish negroes, two bucks and a girl. I laughed aloud as the yolks of their eyeballs rolled toward us in haughty rivalry." Fitzgerald emphasized the race struggle many times during the book. One time, near the end, a fight breaks out over love. Jordan, exasperated at the immaturity of the two men, intently said, "Come on, we're all white here!"
After Mr. Gatsby's death, Nick Carraway decided to travel back to his homeland in the west. As he was reflecting on the past few years, he suddenly realized that Mr. Gatsby had not only been a good freind, but also an excellent mentor. Mr. Gatsby had been trying to teach him by his example that money has little or nothing to do with wealth. Wealth comes from your heart, not your pocket.
Though I thoroughly enjoyed the book, Fitzgerald's writing was very new to me. At times, it was confusing or did not seem complete. I must say however, Fitzgerald did an excellent job at answering all of the many questions that were brought up during this story. I now understand why his books were chosen to "Speak for the 20's!"
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Pure Genius, 9. September 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Great Gatsby (Taschenbuch)
I fail to understand how anyone could not enjoy this book! Fitzgerald's fantastic style and flair completely engulf the reader, and lets you fall in love with the characters.
I'd like to point out one thing. i read this in an English 11 class, and while some high schoolers may fail to understand much of it, I took so much from this book. perhaps it is the way in which the teacher presented it and developed it in class (assigning each character to a student along with many perspectives on symbols in the book - colors, parties, etc) Everything in this book fascinated me - the characters, the parties, the colors, and so many other things - I was nearly overwhelmed. I recommend it to anyone who can look past the outer shell and see the symbolic meaning and theme of this novel.
ALso, I'd like to question the review by Aaron Goldberg. He criticized Tom for being a racist. He's intended to appear that way, it's the way many people in the 1920's thought, and it remains today. I don't understand how calling Wolfshiem a "small, flat-nosed Jew" is racist, if it is merely the description of a character. he's got a flat nose - that's racist? And the fact that TGG and DB never get together? It';s tragic, it's supoposed to show that all the money and wealth in the world cannot ensure you happiness, and to not let missed opportunities of the past bog you down in the future. And as for a "dated" book? That's the purpose, it is set in the 1920s, Fitzgerald wrote it in near-pefrect sync with the era.
Some people just confuse me when they cannot look deeper into a book and hrasp literary concepts such as setting, irony, and symbolism.
Anyway, read this book! It's a great!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 249 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Great Gatsby (Collins Classics)
Great Gatsby (Collins Classics) von F Scott Fitzgerald (Taschenbuch - 8. Juli 2010)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 0,71
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen