wintersale15_70off Hier klicken Karnevals-Shop Reduzierte Hörbücher zum Valentinstag Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More vday Bauknecht TK EcoStar 8 A+++ Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip WSV

Kundenrezensionen

4,5 von 5 Sternen1.171
4,5 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 23. März 1999
A wonderful book? 'Tisn't
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. März 2000
The truth is I don't think this is a biographical work at all. While all works of fiction must be based in reality, or at least allow the reader to momentarily suspend his or her disbelief, a fictional work disguised as nonfiction can get away with a lie and no one seems to doubt it. If anyone could survive the early life Mr. McCourt claimed to live, with all the bigotry, disease, hunger and poverty that went with it, well, no, I don't believe anyone could survive it and certainly wouldn't be able to write about it. If you like novels about these subjects, try The Cider House Rules by John Irving, its far more entertaining and does not disguise itself as a biography.
0Kommentar0 von 1 Personen haben dies hilfreich gefunden.. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Februar 2000
Angela's Ashes was a wonderful read for those of us who care little about long run on sentenses and poor punctuation. At the start of the book one empathises with the young Frank, but as one gets to know him a little better, one grows to dislike the selfish boy. The need to find out what happens next just about encourages the reader to keep reading despite the awful style. The need to keep reading was mainly due to interest in what happened in Limerick having heard first-hand stories from other parts of my home elsewhere in Ireland at that time. I wonder why he ever got a prize for this book! Don't hold this book as your only sample of "Irish" writing.
0Kommentar0 von 1 Personen haben dies hilfreich gefunden.. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Februar 2000
If you enjoy misery and abuse of others as escapism for yourself,then this is your book.Don't think you'll gain many insights into Irish culture here.....if these people are even real or truthful they are way outside normal life.So what's to be learned from that? How many times can you read that Dad spent all the dole money at the pub while the kids went hungry....before it loses it's meaning? For me there's nothing here,especially since this same story has been told thousands of times before. If you like watching the Christians and the lions go at it then get this book.
0Kommentar0 von 1 Personen haben dies hilfreich gefunden.. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Juni 2000
I dont know if it is just the current trend for all things Irish to be lapped up by an over-eager public but this book is hugely disappointing.My main complaint is the huge lack of charcterisation of the parents and also the saccharine sentimentalisation of the "emerald isle".No wonder people in Limerick were up in arms about it. Do not buy this or watch the film or buy the sequel Tis.
0Kommentar0 von 1 Personen haben dies hilfreich gefunden.. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. März 2000
I was so disappointed by this book, especially the ending. I don't understand why people rave about this book. In my opinion it was poorly written, and exaggerated. I'm not doubting he had a tough life, but come on! I was anxious to finish the book so I could see the movie.. but now I don't even want to see it.
Don't waste your time reading this book!
0Kommentar0 von 1 Personen haben dies hilfreich gefunden.. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. März 2002
When I first started listening to “Angela’s Ashes” I was hoping for a glimpse into the life of the common Irish. Much of the book was an absolute delight, whole other parts were very distasteful.
“Angela’s Ashes” is Frank McCourt’s story of his life from his first memories in New York, through his childhood and teen years in Limerick until he is able to save enough to return to America on his own.
At the start of the book, McCourt says: “My father and mother should have stayed in New York where they met and married and where I was born...Worse than the ordinary miserable childhood is the miserable Irish childhood, and worse yet is the miserable Irish Catholic childhood.” He then writes a first person stream of consciousness narrative to prove his premise.
The parts of the book which were absolute delights were the parts in which one is treated to the language of the Irish with all of their peculiar phrases, expectations and beliefs. While listening to these selections, I was reminded of some of the phases which I have heard from my Irish born relatives. Some of the beliefs and world views illustrated did not seem so different from some of which I have heard or even held. There is just enough truth to make the quotations humorous.
I am glad that I listened to the audio version which was read by the author. His Irish accent made the book more entertaining than the written word would have been. I noticed that the pronunciation was not always the way the book was writen.
The oppressive and endless poverty and burden of alcoholism are depressing but, in his as in too many families, real tragedies.
The characters are, perhaps, realistic dichotomies. Malachy, seems to be a good man when sober, but his weakness for the drink renders him an irresponsible father. Angela, the mother, seems to be a an incompetent personality who, somehow, manages to hold her family together when with little and, eventually, no help from Malachy. The initial, cold receptions of the McCourts by their families in Ireland ultimately give way to grudging acceptance and assistance. Frankie, the author and narrator, begins as a naive child who, forced by circumstances, becomes a self sufficient adult. Perhaps the tragedy of Frankie is that, immersed in a world of hardship and formal religion he learns much about self-sufficiency but little about morality.
The parts of the book which I found to be most distasteful were the later sections which degenerated into what would have to qualify the work for an “X” rating. Perhaps this is McCourt’s ultimate way of proving his premise that the worst childhood is an Irish Catholic childhood. I suspect that this would have been a better book had the immorality been eliminated from the later sections, but, perhaps, it would not then have conveyed the intended message.
This book is enjoyable to read in parts and I am glad to know what it is about, but any endorsement would have to be lukewarm.
11 Kommentar4 von 9 Personen haben dies hilfreich gefunden.. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Januar 2000
It is a very well written novel about a young boy growing up in a rather weird household. He writes very lightly about, in my opion, disasters happening to him and his family. Alcoholisme, unwanted pregnancies and the death of of some of his siblings.
0Kommentar0 von 1 Personen haben dies hilfreich gefunden.. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Februar 2000
this book was great! I highly recommend i
0Kommentar0 von 1 Personen haben dies hilfreich gefunden.. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Januar 2000
An unexciting story about a boy who grows up in a depressing and disgusting situation. I could do without ever knowing that people in the world live in houses where excrement and vomit are left to fester on stairwells INSIDE the home!
0Kommentar0 von 2 Personen haben dies hilfreich gefunden.. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

11,77 €