Kundenrezensionen


1.170 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (902)
4 Sterne:
 (131)
3 Sterne:
 (48)
2 Sterne:
 (43)
1 Sterne:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


10 von 10 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Unbedingt lesen!
Gibt es ein trostloseres Buch als dieses? Mailen Sie mir und sagen Sie mir doch, welches.

Ich habe das Buch erst Jahre, nachdem ich den Film gesehen hatte, gelesen. Schon der Film hat bei mir großes Unbehagen ausgelöst. Es ist ein unvorstellbares Elend, in dem Frank McCourt aufgewachsen ist.

Angela lernt ihren Mann Malachy in New York...
Veröffentlicht am 4. August 2006 von München

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen The triumph of truth over fiction?
Bah humbug! Sorry to spoil the party, but I can't agree with the majority view that Angela's Ashes is a great book. Why greater praise is heaped on this book over others because it is "true" I can't quite understand. Surely the truth limits the writer's talents - he is merely reporting his perception of experiences. What great novelists do is use character,...
Veröffentlicht am 11. April 2000 von GZA


‹ Zurück | 1 2117 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

10 von 10 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Unbedingt lesen!, 4. August 2006
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Angela's Ashes: A Memoir (Taschenbuch)
Gibt es ein trostloseres Buch als dieses? Mailen Sie mir und sagen Sie mir doch, welches.

Ich habe das Buch erst Jahre, nachdem ich den Film gesehen hatte, gelesen. Schon der Film hat bei mir großes Unbehagen ausgelöst. Es ist ein unvorstellbares Elend, in dem Frank McCourt aufgewachsen ist.

Angela lernt ihren Mann Malachy in New York kennen, der erste Abend endet mit einem "Knee-Trembler" an einer Mauer und der Zeugung von Frank McCourt. Mehr Kinder werden geboren. Der Vater bringt durch Gelegenheitsjobs ab und an ein paar Cent nach Hause, meistens vertrinkt er das Geld jedoch am Zahltag. Die Geschwister wachsen völlig verwahrlost auf, werden mit Zuckerwasser ernährt, wenn nicht gutmeinende Nachbarn Lebensmittel bringen. Der Vater, ein patriotischer Nordire, lässt besoffen die Kleinkinder nachts antreten, um auf das Heil von Nordirland zu singen.
Die Familie kehrt zurück nach Limerick, auch dort lebt die Familie von der Hand in den Mund, der verhasste nordirische Vater hat praktisch keine Möglichkeit, in der Republik Irland Arbeit zu finden.
Während dem zweiten Weltkrieg geht er nach England, um in der Rüstungsindustrie zu arbeiten, was viele Iren getan haben, dort wurde gutes Geld bezahlt, und die Männer konnten ihre zurückgebliebenen Familien mit dem wöchentlichen Scheck sehr gut versorgen. Aber McCourts Familie ist die einzige in der Straße, die samstags vergeblich auf den Scheck wartet, denn auch in England vertrinkt der Vater den Lohn.
Das Leben ist geprägt von Demütigungen, Dreck, Gestank, Hunger, durch Mangelernährung oder Kälte sterbende Geschwister, Wanzen, Ohnmacht, Abhängigkeiten von denen, die ein Dach über dem Kopf zur Verfügung stellen, you name it.

Ich habe ab Mitte der 70er Jahre viele Jahre lang immer wieder Irland bereist, damals war das Land für uns Späthippies eine Art Mekka mit seiner Stille, Kargheit, schönen Landschaft und den freundlichen Iren. Ich merke, dass ich nun überhaupt nichts über dieses Land wusste und Romantik meinte gefunden zu haben, wo nun wirklich keine war.

Dieses Buch hat zu Recht den Pulitzerpreis gewonnen, und ich empfehle es jedem Leser.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Angela's Ashes, 11. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Angela's Ashes (Taschenbuch)
Angela's Ashes, Frank's McCourt's New York Times Best Selling Memoir, centers on the cold, hard life of a poor Irish Catholic family. Frank McCourt, the oldest child, tells the story of his family in Ireland and their unfortunate poverty and depression. The father is a mean, cold-hearted man who constantly spends his and his children's money on liquor for himself. The mother, Angela, is without a doubt the backbone of the family; she makes sure they eat and worries about the rent and the well-being of her children. Throughout the story Angela teaches her children the importance of pride and dignity. The ill-starred family is continually struck with the death of very young family members. Even though several children die from starvation and cold before the age of five, McCourt manages to portray these tragedies and shows the family's ability to move on with life. Although the memoir, in general, is an incredibly sad one, the humor of McCourt's style makes the book bearable. Because McCourt's writing style is so descriptive, the reader is able to feel the families sorrow and unhappiness, and we see the world in which they live. Unfortunately, Angela's Ashes did not shine through in the recent holiday film released by Paramount. The film showed the importance of McCourt's humor by not incorporating it into the adaptation. Without this humor, the film was dark, sad, ugly and unbearable. The book on the other hand, may be sad, but is at the same time uplifting.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An Excellent, Emotional, and Influential Classic, 10. April 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Angela's Ashes (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Reading Angela's Ashes produced emotions in me that no other book has ever done. Imagine a childhood having three younger brothers, living in a damp, one bedroom apartment without a restroom, eating one or no meal a day (a pig's head for Christmas Dinner), and a father that squanders the family's minuscule income on "pints". Like an adult, at three years old Frank took care of his brothers; he cleaned their "arses" and and dreamed of the day that he could make a little money and support his family. McCourt's life story provoked so much sympathy inside of me that I wished I had the power to travel back in time to give him my only sandwich for lunch so he wouldn't starve. One must read to believe that a person could survive such a hard childhood. Easing this sadness, Frank McCourt uniquely adds humor with the thoughts he had as a child like excusing his father's mistakes for being "dropped on his head" as a kid. Yes, I enjoyed the book because Frank's life story made me cry and laugh, but I loved it because it made me more caring of other people in life and realize that if Frank McCourt could overcome his hardships, anyone can. That is the potential power of Angels's Ashes. It deserves a perfect 10, and I think "Joseph, Mary, and Jesus" would agree. Brian 2
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Awful childhood, 24. Juni 2005
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Angela's Ashes: A Memoir of a Childhood (Taschenbuch)
The book is about a boy who experienced a terrible childhood. It's written from the point of view of young Frank McCourt, and it's mostly autobiographical. The style is very authentic and simple but the content is all the more miserable. It's astonishing how detailed he's able to remember and how much he was able to bear at the time. The family had nothing to eat, the father lost his job after the second week if he managed to get one because he drank all the wages and missed work. The family wasn't welcome either in America or in Limerick, they were just troublesome appendices because, they were spongers. Frank had to go through and endure the stern and intense school of everyday life and the malicious treatment of his grandmother and the hypocritical Catholic traditions. All in all it's amazing how he managed to survive despite the harsh and brutal circumstances. I would recommend people to read this book although it's quite a long read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Poignant Story of a Survivor, 27. Juni 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Angela's Ashes (Gebundene Ausgabe)
As an Irish Catholic brought up in Los Angeles, there are more differences than similarities between the McCourts and my family. But this beautifully written story opened my eyes to understand why my parents and grandparents behaved the way they did, where Catholicism is not just part of their lives; it IS life. This book was enlightening on a personal level.
To those who don't share the McCourts' background, there is still something to be gained by this book. It is a poignant story of survival. Frank McCourt never once takes pity upon himself; he shares the the strength of his mother, determined to do whatever necessary to get by, without the "you owe it to me" attitude. Told with a humorous tone, Frank, the true survivor does not become the stereotypical Irish male drunk, but had his mother's obstinance and one track mind of survival.
He observes the fanatical devotion of his family and neighbors to the Catholic church, probably the one driving force that gave these pitiful families a purpose and reason to continue living. He conveys the same confusion and questions many other Irish Catholic children, but offers no answers, as we've learned there are none.
Frank McCourt is another great Irish writer.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen It lives up to the hype!, 17. November 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Angela's Ashes: A Memoir (Taschenbuch)
With trepidation, I started reading Angela's Ashes. I was afraid that: 1) I wouldn't get out if what everyone else has; and 2) I'd find a descriptive memoir like this boring. Happily, I am a third of the way through, and I love the book. I go home during lunch so I can read a few more pages. It's an incredible tale....by the way, how did McCourt remember all this stuff? So far, I can say that I love the kid. Thank goodness for his naivete, which prevented him from realizing how horrendous his upbringing was and allowed him to find some joy and humor in his everyday confines. Wow. The religious angle, coming from a Catholic background, is hilarious, too. There were a lot of thumps on the heads for Frank and his schoolmates. This book brings out other emotions as well, since it's very hard not to greatly dislike his irresponsible father and not to feel so sorry for the other poor kids who starved and had no shoes. I can't wait to get to the end... which brings me to the word "Tis."
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Katastrophale Verhältnisse - dennoch ein zauberhaftes Buch!, 10. Oktober 2001
Von 
Heike Lebeau "Spielmaus" (Westmünsterland) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Angela's Ashes: A Memoir of a Childhood (Taschenbuch)
Ein Buch der Gegensätze: Es ist absolut erstaunlich, wie die Schilderung der erschreckenden Zustände, in denen Frank McCourt in ärmsten Verhältnissen im erzkatholischen Irland aufwächst, ein derartig bezauberndes Buch ergeben kann. Der kindlich-unschuldige Umgang mit einer derben, häufig von Fäkalausdrücken geprägten Sprache macht ein weiteres Spannungsmoment dieses Werks aus. Die übermächtige Rolle der katholischen Kirche und die Doppelmoral der Menschen stehen ebenfalls in krassem Gegensatz. Alles in allem: zutiefst beeindruckend.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ein beeindruckendes Buch, das nachdenklich stimmt., 5. Januar 2002
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Angela's Ashes: A Memoir of a Childhood (Taschenbuch)
Die Geschichte "Angela's Ashes" von Frank McCourt hat mich sehr begeistert. Der Autor erzählt seine eigene Kindheit, was mir besonders gut gefällt, da ich realistische Bücher mag. Ein solches Leben, wie es Frank McCourt beschreibt, hätte ich mir vorher nie vorstellen können, es regt durchaus zum Nachdenken an. Es wird interessant und glaubhaft aus der Sicht eines Kindes erzählt. Das Buch ist so spannend, das ich einfach nicht ausfören konnte zu lesen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Wonderful, 23. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Angela's Ashes (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I adored this novel. Frank McCourt is not only a wonderful writer, but an honest one as well. Many other reviewers have said that they know Irish people who didn't grow up this way, so therefore McCourt must be imagining all the poverty of his childhood. Well, just because your buddy is Irish doesn't mean that he knows about Limerick. Everyone in Ireland didn't grow up in the same place, there is variation in every country. There are people in New York living in penthouses, and just a few blocks away people living in cardboard boxes. At the beginning of the 20th century Ireland was a poor country, and he happened to grow up in one of the most poverty-stricken districts of it. Just because his life was so different from your own doesn't mean that he fabricated this entire tale. Of course some of the story would be filled in in places, no one can remember their childhood with complete clarity. The fact is that I beleive this novel to be true because McCourt was so honest. He shared his feelings and thoughts, most of the time thoughts that you would never admit to having. His story telling style is unique, the lack of quotations is confusing a bit at first, but if you are an intelligent person, you soon get over it. He made you feel his conflicting emotions of anger at his father for wasting his paycheck, and his intense admiration of him as well. I don't believe that this novel is reinforcing bad stereotypes about the Irish people. It is portraying, rather, their ability to survive, and make a living in an unimaginable situation. It is a testament to the strength of the Irish people, as well as their weaknesses. I highly recommend this novel to anyone who would like to see how those less fortunate live, written in honesty, intelligence, and remarkable humor.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Angela's Ashes, 3. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Angelas Ashes Movie Tie: A Memoir (Audio CD)
This is the saddest, most depressing, funny story of survival I've ever read. The McCourts live in the most dismal poverty imaginable in Limerick, Ireland. The father is a drunken bum who cannot hold a job but is a wonderful storyteller and a good singer. Whenever he gets a job he only keeps it until the first payday because he goes on a drunken binge. The mother, Angela always has hope that he will change. They are on the dole and have to beg for help from the church. Frank and his younger brothers have to go out and pick up bits of coal in the streets of Limerick. At Christmas, Angela and Frank and Malachy (six and five years old) go to the butcher to beg for meat for their Christmas dinner. The butcher gives them a pigs'head wrapped in newspaper. Frank has to carry it home. The bloody newspaper falls away and the neighbors can see what he is carrying and that they won't have a decent dinner for Christmas. Their father can't go out and beg or pick coal bits from the streets because it is beneath his dignity. Throughout his childhood Frank always has hopes and dreams of a better life. He is forced to commit petty thievery many times to help his mother. The Catholic Church shuns the family although they are very devout. Frank is a good student but there is no one to help him further his education after grade school. He goes to work delivering telegrams and writing letters for a loan officer when he is fourteen. It takes him five years to save enough money to pay his way to America. The book ends as he reaches America. He apparently got a college degree and taught writing at the high school level. This is a fascinating book and one that I will not forget easily. Frank McCourt found humor in the squalor of his childhood and I was amazed at the eternal optimism his family had.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2117 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Angela's Ashes: A Memoir of a Childhood
Angela's Ashes: A Memoir of a Childhood von Frank MacCourt (Taschenbuch - 15. November 1999)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 0,01
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen