Profil für Misti Wolanski > Rezensionen

Persönliches Profil

Beiträge von Misti Wolanski
Top-Rezensenten Rang: 2.124.765
Hilfreiche Bewertungen: 0

Richtlinien: Erfahren Sie mehr über die Regeln für "Meine Seite@Amazon.de".

Rezensionen verfasst von
Misti Wolanski "Misti"

Anzeigen:  
Seite: 1
pixel
Inevitable (The Inevitable Trilogy #1) (English Edition)
Inevitable (The Inevitable Trilogy #1) (English Edition)
Preis: EUR 2,68

3.0 von 5 Sternen Recommended to Fans of Stephenie Meyer & Amanda Hocking, 10. September 2011
I noticed _Inevitable_ for the cover. After reading it, I definitely think this book will appeal to readers who like sweet and emotional romances like those of Stephanie Meyer or Amanda Hocking. The writing style is different, though, so I recommend trying the preview before buying.

_Inevitable_ was an interesting blend of realistic with the ridiculous, but I don't mean that as an insult. A being charged with keeping all the possibilities of the parallel universes "fair" decides to give herself a body so she can improve a guy's last year of life. If the idea sounds ludicrous to you'well, it does to me, too, and I enjoyed the story.

Despite everything the girl knows'and despite her awareness that her ability to "see" possibilities suffers when she dons a body'she's caught off-guard even by certain things linked to plans she made before taking a body, which suggests she can't foresee events she's influenced, but I don't believe it ever said that outright. She's also remarkably emotional, but that does sorta make sense, since she's not used to having to deal with hormones.

Still, certain scenes didn't work for me, mostly towards the beginning. It's possible that's because I'm a fairly logical, rational girl and therefore don't have much frame of reference for understanding an emotion-ridden girl. Even though I do have a hormone disorder that sometimes screws up my moods for no reason beyond my hormones going bonkers.

Honestly, I wasn't planning to read any more in the series, but the last section really made the book for me, because it was perfect in the characters' imperfection. The ending line in particular makes me want to pick up book 2.


Red (English Edition)
Red (English Edition)
Preis: EUR 3,60

5.0 von 5 Sternen Fantastic YA Werewolf Fantasy Title, 26. August 2011
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Red (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book right after it came out, and since then I've been trying to come up with something negative I could say about it, to add some balance to this review. Not happening. If the premise interests you, read it.

Elodie is a girl who believes she's due to become a werewolf, a ravaging monster, due to a family curse. Sawyer is a hereditary werewolf who's fighting his own demons for the recent death of his mother.

Making things work out between them is difficult enough--and someone might be trying to kill Elodie...


Devil's Eye (Mirus (1.2)) (English Edition)
Devil's Eye (Mirus (1.2)) (English Edition)
Preis: EUR 2,68

4.0 von 5 Sternen Good for fans of love at first sight, 10. Juni 2011
First, a caveat: I read paranormal romance for the paranormal, not the romance. I find that entire "Love at first sight" and "I don't know you but I love you anyway" stuff silly. That is, however, a matter of personal taste and is something I try to ignore. This story has that "Love at first sight" stuff in it, so if you can't stand it, move along.

Otherwise, "Devil's Eye" offers an enjoyable read with some lovely turns of phrase. I love how the hurricane tied into things. There were still a few sluggish descriptions, but that's standard when you have an entire world involved that nobody knows about. Worth buying, and I look forward to reading more by this author.


Blindsight: A Mirus Short Story (English Edition)
Blindsight: A Mirus Short Story (English Edition)
Preis: EUR 0,89

4.0 von 5 Sternen Enjoyable, 10. Juni 2011
Highly enjoyable read, with vivid descriptions. There were a few points that were a bit heavy on the telling, and the ending was quite abrupt and left me expecting another scene, but I'll definitely move on to reading the rest in the series.


Dis (An Urban Midgard Short Story) (English Edition)
Dis (An Urban Midgard Short Story) (English Edition)
Preis: EUR 0,89

4.0 von 5 Sternen An Enjoyable Read, 10. Juni 2011
"Dis" is an enjoyable short story that introduces the reader to a promising world. Definitely recommended to urban fantasy fans. A few details are confusing if you aren't familiar with Norse mythology, but I'm sure they'll be clarified as Margo writes more in that world.

Colbie didn't seem to like Zaj much, which made me wonder how he got access to enter her apartment. Also, I felt the... avatar-ish thing... needed another line of introduction; it completely lost me about what was going on there until I'd finished the story and pondered a certain character action.

Those 2 things kept me from enjoying the story as much as I could've, but it was still enjoyable. I'll definitely watch for Margo's further releases!


Seite: 1