Facebook Twitter Pinterest
  • Statt: EUR 12,31
  • Sie sparen: EUR 0,02
  • Alle Preisangaben inkl. MwSt.
Nur noch 6 auf Lager (mehr ist unterwegs).
Verkauf und Versand durch Amazon. Geschenkverpackung verfügbar.
Menge:1
I Was Told There'd be Cak... ist in Ihrem Einkaufwagen hinzugefügt worden
+ EUR 3,00 Versandkosten
Gebraucht: Gut | Details
Verkauft von BetterWorldBooksDe
Zustand: Gebraucht: Gut
Kommentar: Versand aus Schottland, Versandzeit 7-21 Tage. Frueheres Bibliotheksbuch. Geringe Abnutzungserscheinungen und minimale Markierungen im Text. 100%ige Kostenrueckerstattung garantiert Mit Ihrem Kauf unterstützen Sie Alphabetisierungsprogramme..
Möchten Sie verkaufen?
Zur Rückseite klappen Zur Vorderseite klappen
Hörprobe Wird gespielt... Angehalten   Sie hören eine Hörprobe des Audible Hörbuch-Downloads.
Mehr erfahren
Dieses Bild anzeigen

I Was Told There'd be Cake (Englisch) Taschenbuch – 1. August 2008

5 von 5 Sternen 2 Kundenrezensionen

Alle Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Preis
Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
"Bitte wiederholen"
Taschenbuch
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 12,29
EUR 7,38 EUR 1,59
Audio-CD, Audiobook
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 18,72
10 neu ab EUR 7,38 7 gebraucht ab EUR 1,59

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

  • I Was Told There'd be Cake
  • +
  • How Did You Get This Number
Gesamtpreis: EUR 26,28
Die ausgewählten Artikel zusammen kaufen

Es wird kein Kindle Gerät benötigt. Laden Sie eine der kostenlosen Kindle Apps herunter und beginnen Sie, Kindle-Bücher auf Ihrem Smartphone, Tablet und Computer zu lesen.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

Geben Sie Ihre E-Mail-Adresse oder Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen — selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät — mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.



Produktinformation

Produktbeschreibungen

Pressestimmen

'I love Sloane Crosley. She's a postmodern Mary Tyler Moore, and this book is wry, generous, knowing - a perfect document of what it is to be young in today's world.' AM Homes 'Sloane Crosley is a mordant and mercurial wit. What makes her so funny is that she seems to be telling the truth, helplessly.' Jonathan Lethem 'Crosley channels David Sedaris - and Carrie Bradshaw - in a slightly cracked and often charming collection of essays recounting a suburban girl's adventures in the big city.' Vogue 'The voice feels a little like Nora Ephron's, a little like Dorothy Parker's and David Sedaris', although Crosley has a spry wistfulness that's very much her own. We applaud the arrival of a very funny writer.' Los Angeles Times

Synopsis

From accidentally despoiling an exhibit at the Museum of Natural History to baking a cookie in the shape of her boss's face to win her approval, Sloane Crosley can do no right. In a sharp, original storytelling style that confounds expectations at every turn, Crosley recounts her victories and catastrophes with an irresistible voice, finding genuine insights in the most unpredictable places. -- Dieser Text bezieht sich auf eine vergriffene oder nicht verfügbare Ausgabe dieses Titels.

Alle Produktbeschreibungen

Welche anderen Artikel kaufen Kunden, nachdem sie diesen Artikel angesehen haben?


In diesem Buch

(Mehr dazu)
Ausgewählte Seiten ansehen
Buchdeckel | Copyright | Inhaltsverzeichnis | Auszug | Rückseite
Hier reinlesen und suchen:

Kundenrezensionen

5.0 von 5 Sternen
5 Sterne
2
4 Sterne
0
3 Sterne
0
2 Sterne
0
1 Sterne
0
Beide Kundenrezensionen anzeigen
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel

Top-Kundenrezensionen

Format: Taschenbuch
Wunderbar, zugleich lustig und amüsant. Toller und ehrlicher Einblick in das New Yorker Leben einer Mitzwanzigerin, lässt kein Klischee aus. Für alle New York Fans wirklich lohnend. Frisch geschrieben.
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Format: Kindle Edition Verifizierter Kauf
Funny, clever, entertaining, interesting, cool. Short stories at their best. Perfect for commuters... Definitely
ave to get the next book!
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden

Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x92259648) von 5 Sternen 242 Rezensionen
122 von 130 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
HASH(0x8fad07d4) von 5 Sternen A writer worth watching 7. Mai 2008
Von M. Hood - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch
I was drawn to this book because the pull quote on the cover said it was in the tradition of Sederis and Vowell. While I am glad I read it, it is not a must read. Crosley is talented but can be predictable and cliché. She lacks self-awareness. At the same time, she's terribly funny (she even pulls off mean funny), gutsy and admirably self-confident. She's best when she is honest and generous. I look forward to reading more of her work and watching her grow as a writer. As for this book, it would have benefitted from a tougher editor.
165 von 188 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
HASH(0x8fad0828) von 5 Sternen Mildly entertaining collection 11. April 2008
Von Amazon Customer - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch
While the writing is pretty good, and this collection of essays has its moments of cleverness, overall it's not as funny (by no means would I call it "hilarious") or interesting as hyped. The essays suffer somewhat from a steeping in twentysomething self-absorption/middle-class angst, and don't qualify for inclusion in the same league as David Sedaris and Dorothy Parker, because they lack a certain edginess. The stardard white-girl fare (first job, mean boss; being in a wedding), is, at times, mildly entertaining, but not particularly memorable. Bottom line: it's okay.
202 von 233 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
HASH(0x8fad0c60) von 5 Sternen Um...not really that funny. 2. Mai 2008
Von Lisa Topal - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch
I feel mean sayin' it, but it's true. I was all excited about curling up with this read after reading great reviews. I jumped ship after about 30 pages. It's not David Sedaris. It's not anything remotely as funny or interesting or insightful. It reminds me of a girl who goes out with you and your work friends and tells embarrassing stories about herself, and you laugh/wince, cause you're a bit drunk, and then, the next day, you feel kinda bad for her, like she exposed too much, and that she kinda needed the attention, and you're kinda embarrassed for her, even though she isn't. I lived in NY for a long time and these people are all over the place. This is her book.
35 von 39 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
HASH(0x8f938048) von 5 Sternen "I had always chalked up my feelings of isolation as a child to being a child" 18. September 2008
Von Linda Bulger - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch
If you have American kids -- or may have them someday -- did you ever think of raising them in an interesting foreign country so they could come back as teens with a high coolness quotient? No? Would you send a Jewish ten-year-old to a Christian summer camp? and if you did, would you be surprised to hear that she played Mary in the "Christmas in July" pageant after the blond Girl from Darien was hobbled by a broken toe? Is there a collection of anything in your kitchen drawers, let's say toy ponies for example, that you worry about your mother finding if you die unexpectedly? and if so, would you dispose of them on a Brooklyn-bound subway train? Have you ever locked yourself out on moving day, from both old AND new apartments, requiring two expensive calls to the same sarcastic locksmith?

No? Then you're not like Sloane Crosley, the twenty-something author of I Was Told There'd Be Cake. This little book of wildly assorted essays is a kind of cubist blueprint for the young, well-off, well-educated New York woman. Crosley's writing is irreverent about her family ("I have never met two people more afraid of their house burning down than my parents") and particularly about her (we hope) well-disguised friends. She says of a pair of dinner guests: "Because there are no more hippies, you don't call them hippies. (But if you ever saw two people on a beach, gorging themselves on whole-wheat burritos and pot, picking sand out of each other's toes, and diving into the water naked, that would be them.)"

You may wonder whether you care about Sloane Crosley's observations on her short life to date. That's one question I can't answer for you. I will tell you that while her experiences may be alien to anything you have ever done, thought or felt, the girl can write intelligently and with great humor; there are unifying principles in the human existence and she catalogs a subset of them very well . We're bound to hear more from this young writer, and if she brings her sardonic wit to deeper subjects it will be very well worth reading. This book was an entertaining look at her world. One star off for the essay format, as I believe her book would have been better served by a more linear memoir format.

Linda Bulger, 2008
25 von 27 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
HASH(0x8f93812c) von 5 Sternen Sloane is good-- she will get better, like this book does. 8. Juni 2008
Von T.R. Frentzel - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch
I'm only giving this three stars because it really is a three star book. That said-- I expect that eventually she'll have quite a few five star books, as she has the talent-- it just isn't fully developed as of yet.

I was quite disappointed with the first few essays, and thought that maybe she was trying too hard. The essays are somewhat enjoyable, but she mixes a few too many clichés in with too few of her very original sentences.

But-- it was good enough to keep me reading, and I absolutely loved the "You On a Stick" essay about her being asked to be a bridesmaid in an old friend's wedding. Thoroughly enjoyable, and something many of us can relate to.

She's young and still finding her voice. My guess is that her next work will be an improvement and that we'll be hearing more from her.

She definitely is cool-- in that she is honest, and that she writes from her own perspective, not caring what might "sell."

This book to me, while disappointing overall, does show that she has the observational voice that we all love in the Sedarises and Burroughs of the world. Plus she has the ability to create unusual and entertaining phrases which you have to admire.

I'll definitely be watching her rise.
Waren diese Rezensionen hilfreich? Wir wollen von Ihnen hören.