In weniger als einer Minute können Sie mit dem Lesen von Two Girls Staring at the Ceiling auf Ihrem Kindle beginnen. Sie haben noch keinen Kindle? Hier kaufen Oder fangen Sie mit einer unserer gratis Kindle Lese-Apps sofort an zu lesen.

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

 
 
 

Kostenlos testen

Jetzt kostenlos reinlesen

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen  selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät  mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.
Der Artikel ist in folgender Variante leider nicht verfügbar
Keine Abbildung vorhanden für
Farbe:
Keine Abbildung vorhanden

 

Two Girls Staring at the Ceiling [Kindle Edition]

Lucy Frank

Kindle-Preis: EUR 9,55 Inkl. MwSt. und kostenloser drahtloser Lieferung über Amazon Whispernet

Weitere Ausgaben

Amazon-Preis Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition EUR 9,55  
Gebundene Ausgabe, Rauer Buchschnitt EUR 12,46  

Produktbeschreibungen

Pressestimmen

 TWO GIRLS STARING AT THE CEILING by Lucy Frank
Kirkus starred review, June, 15 2014
 “Riveting, humanizing and real.”

Kurzbeschreibung

This novel-in-verse—at once literary and emotionally gripping—follows the unfolding friendship between two very different teenage girls who share a hospital room and an illness.

Chess, the narrator, is sick, but with what exactly, she isn’t sure. And to make matters worse, she must share a hospital room with Shannon, her polar opposite. Where Chess is polite, Shannon is rude. Where Chess tolerates pain silently, Shannon screams bloody murder. Where Chess seems to be getting slowly better, Shannon seems to be getting worse. How these teenagers become friends, helping each other come to terms with their illness, makes for a dramatic and deeply moving read.

"An emotional and innovative novel.... There is so much pathos and humor in these two hospital beds." —E. Lockhart, author of We Were Liars

"A story told with the utmost economy of language—intense, compelling, and satisfying." —Susan Patron, author of the Newbery Medal winner The Higher Power of Lucky

"Riveting, humanizing and real." —Kirkus Reviews, Starred

"A raw, unsentimental perspective on the fight to keep an illness from overpowering one's identity." —Publishers Weekly


From the Hardcover edition.

Produktinformation

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Dateigröße: 519 KB
  • Seitenzahl der Print-Ausgabe: 272 Seiten
  • Verlag: Schwartz & Wade (5. August 2014)
  • Verkauf durch: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • ASIN: B00IBZ22PC
  • Text-to-Speech (Vorlesemodus): Aktiviert
  • X-Ray:
  • Amazon Bestseller-Rang: #487.253 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop (Siehe Top 100 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop)

  •  Ist der Verkauf dieses Produkts für Sie nicht akzeptabel?

Mehr über den Autor

Entdecken Sie Bücher, lesen Sie über Autoren und mehr

Kundenrezensionen

Es gibt noch keine Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.de
5 Sterne
4 Sterne
3 Sterne
2 Sterne
1 Sterne
Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.9 von 5 Sternen  8 Rezensionen
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen For fans of Sonya Sones and Wendy Mass. 27. August 2014
Von E. Kristin Anderson - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Gebundene Ausgabe
I've long been a fan of novels in verse, and this new verse novel by Lucy Frank comes with a twist. TWO GIRLS STARING AT THE CEILING is the story of Chess, who is hospitalized the night after what should have been a high-school-movie-esque-party-turned-romance. But everything went impossibly wrong, and now she's sharing a room with a sad old lady and one of the angriest girls she's ever met. Chess' room mate Shannon has a story to tell, too. And her no bulls*** way of thinking -- and talking -- is crossing the curtain that divides their living space in the hospital. Here's the twist: In this novel, the aforementioned curtain is represented by a line down the page. Each girl has her own space, her thoughts and her dialogue on whichever side of the curtain she happens to be standing. It could be considered nothing more than a clever gimmick, but the story is strong enough to power past this label.

Chess is so embarrassed by her evening gone awry. And when she finally comes out of her meds-induced delirium, finding herself parked in a hospital room, she pretty much wishes she could just disappear. Chess never wants to see her crush again, and doesn't even want her friends to visit. (A bestie's brand new dress was ruined in the mortifying incident that landed her in the ER.) And she definitely doesn't want anyone to know her diagnosis: Chron's disease. Known also by it's way less appealing (and much more humiliating) name, inflammatory bowel disease.

The thing is, Shannon isn't going to let her wallow. Shannon has been through what Chess is dealing with, and she's not going to pull any punches when it comes to giving unsolicited advice, going hard on the hospital staff, or asking for exactly what she wants. Chess is a please-and-thank-you sort of girl. But maybe there's something she can learn from her bristly room mate. Her diagnosis -- something she's been trying to avoid, ignoring the pain, telling herself that every incident has been a coincidence -- is terrifying. But maybe, with Shannon at her side, she can find the strength (despite the "evil juice" that is her medication) to face the rest of her life.

For fans of Sonya Sones and Wendy Mass, this is the type of book that sticks with you, opening up the world of an underrepresented illness and creating characters that are not only in the story but in your heart. Reluctant readers will love the unusual style and format, and verse novel lovers will gobble this one up as well. Get it on your shelves for fall!
5.0 von 5 Sternen Beautiful, a bit profane and able to pull readers in quickly 10. August 2014
Von John Rogers ClarkIV - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Gebundene Ausgabe
Two girls, at first glance, totally unalike. One hospital room, sharing one disease. Shannon is a blue collar profane veteran of Crohn's disease, a loud and scared fighter. Chess is just entering the bewildering world of dealing with a chronic illness and is much quieter and outwardly compliant. Inside, she's a roil of conflicting thoughts and she can't stop obsessing about her feelings of shame about how her first real date with a boy she likes ended on a rock in a lake after their canoe floated away.
The story is told in free verse with each girl's thoughts and dialogue on alternating sides of the page with a line between them to symbolize the curtain separating their beds. As you read, you are very likely to get pulled into the microcosm created in this hospital room and realize that these completely different girls aren't so different after all.
Chess has known something was terribly wrong for some time, but kept pretending she could exercise/deny/be the good girl and it would go away. Her shame makes her keep friends and family at arms length, but Shannon, with her hard earned wisdom about the disease, won't let her stay in self-delusion. It's wonderful to watch them develop a very off, and sometimes prickly friendship over the eight days they share a hospital room.
Beautiful, a bit profane and able to pull readers in quickly are apt words to describe this book. It is one that teens who have health issues or have friends with one will really like and is a worthy addition to both school and public libraries. Love the afterward.
5.0 von 5 Sternen I loved this book 22. August 2014
Von Fran Manushkin - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Gebundene Ausgabe
I loved this book! Writing a novel in verse is taking on a great challenge, but Lucy Frank had created an original and fascinating book. Friendships can begin in unusual ways: in this case Chessie and Shannon become friends while sharing a hospital room. Though the poems alternate voices, we are never confused about who is speaking: Chessie and Shannon are clearly delineated--we see the different worlds they come from, and how they view their relationships with their relatives and caregivers. I like the way Chessie and Shannon's relationship unfolds, with tough words and humor, and how convincingly they bond, ending up caring for each other though their lives are so different. Shannon, who has had Krohn's for years, is able to understand what Chessie is going through and offer her tough love, but also hope.

Though the novel is about two teenagers with a difficult illness, it isn't depressing in any way and offers many scenes that are funny and surprising. There is also a touching teenage romance in the book, with an original and and surprising love scene-- to say the least! I won't spoil it for those who haven't read the book but I will say, Hooray for you, David! You're a mensch!
5.0 von 5 Sternen A lovingly crafted story 24. August 2014
Von Barbara Seuling - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
This is, without a doubt, a lovingly crafted story, unique in its presentation and in the courage of its author. I could not put it down. The story is about Shannon and Chess, teenagers who come from vastly different worlds yet suffer from the humiliating effects of Crohn's disease. They are thrown together by fate into the same hospital room, separated by a thin hospital curtain.Their proximity sets them apart even more than life itself, as they struggle through the emotions and rigors of fighting their disease. It is their shared determination to not let their disease define them that draws them toward each other. The poignancy of how they each cope with the nightmare in which they live moved me deeply. Frank's unpredictable resolution is beautifully handled. Like John Green's No Fault in Our Stars, Two Girls Staring at the Ceiling permits us to see a world we might never have thought of otherwise, and our values are deepened by the experience.
5.0 von 5 Sternen A BEAUTIFUL BOOK 23. August 2014
Von Admiring Reader - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
What a beautiful book: An intriguing romance; a surprising and satisfying friendship; an illness rarely -- if ever -- dealt with in fiction.

A great strength of the book is that while it gently informs readers about Crohn's Disease, it speaks to readers who might have any illness, honestly portraying the fears and bravery it takes to live with their particular condition.

The ingenious format makes the book both fresh and accessible. A vertical line down the center of the page stands in for a hospital curtain, allowing the characters to speak across it. The poetry of the language sweeps you along with spirit, heart, and also humor.

I've read the ending over and over because it's so elegantly done and leaves me with such a feeling of hope. I'm very glad to have met Chess and Shannon -- and David -- characters who will stay with me. Author Lucy Frank has written a book from her heart that has touched mine.
Waren diese Rezensionen hilfreich?   Wir wollen von Ihnen hören.

Kunden diskutieren

Das Forum zu diesem Produkt
Diskussion Antworten Jüngster Beitrag
Noch keine Diskussionen

Fragen stellen, Meinungen austauschen, Einblicke gewinnen
Neue Diskussion starten
Thema:
Erster Beitrag:
Eingabe des Log-ins
 

Kundendiskussionen durchsuchen
Alle Amazon-Diskussionen durchsuchen
   


Ähnliche Artikel finden