A Time to Keep Silence (English Edition) und über 1,5 Millionen weitere Bücher verfügbar für Amazon Kindle. Erfahren Sie mehr
EUR 9,06
  • Statt: EUR 9,88
  • Sie sparen: EUR 0,82 (8%)
  • Alle Preisangaben inkl. MwSt.
Nur noch 2 auf Lager (mehr ist unterwegs).
Verkauf und Versand durch Amazon.
Geschenkverpackung verfügbar.
Menge:1
A Time to Keep Silence (N... ist in Ihrem Einkaufwagen hinzugefügt worden
Ihren Artikel jetzt
eintauschen und
EUR 1,40 Gutschein erhalten.
Möchten Sie verkaufen?
Zur Rückseite klappen Zur Vorderseite klappen
Anhören Wird wiedergegeben... Angehalten   Sie hören eine Probe der Audible-Audioausgabe.
Weitere Informationen
Dieses Bild anzeigen

A Time to Keep Silence (New York Review Books Classics) (Englisch) Taschenbuch – 30. Oktober 2007


Alle 8 Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Amazon-Preis Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
"Bitte wiederholen"
Taschenbuch, 30. Oktober 2007
EUR 9,06
EUR 5,42 EUR 3,27
19 neu ab EUR 5,42 5 gebraucht ab EUR 3,27

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

A Time to Keep Silence (New York Review Books Classics) + A Time of Gifts: On Foot to Constantinople: From the Hook of Holland to the Middle Danube (New York Review Books Classics) + Between the Woods and the Water: On Foot to Constantinople from the Hook of Holland - The Middle Danube to the Iron Gates
Preis für alle drei: EUR 34,76

Die ausgewählten Artikel zusammen kaufen

Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen — selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät — mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.


Produktinformation


Mehr über den Autor

PATRICK LEIGH FERMOR wurde 1932 der Schule in Canterbury verwiesen, weil er sich »in ein Mädchen beim Gemüsehändler verguckte«. Während der Aufnahmeprüfung in die Armee hatte er die fabelhafte Idee, nach Konstantinopel zu wandern ...
Drei Jahre lang organisierte er als britischer Agent auf Kreta den Widerstand, konnte 1944 den deutschen General Kreipe gefangen nehmen und wurde ein Held. (Verfilmt wurde diese Begebenheit aus Fermors Leben mit Dirk Bogarde in der Hauptrolle. Titel des Spielfilms: »Ill Met by Moonlight«.) Fermor reiste in die Karibik, wo der Reisebericht »Der Baum des Reisenden« und »Die Violinen von Saint-Jacques«, sein einziger Roman, entstanden.
Patrick Leigh Fermor zählt zu den bedeutendsten englischsprachigen Reiseschriftstellern. Er verstarb am 10. Juni 2011 in Worcestershire, England.

Produktbeschreibungen

Pressestimmen

"Delightful…His book is not only an admirable piece of travel writing; it is also a brilliant piece of human exploration." — The New Statesman

"Prose lapidary and evocative enough to please even the hardiest skeptic." — The Washington Post

"His shortest book (and to my mind his best)…its hammered terseness is…a good match for the sobriety of the subject." — Anthony Lane, The New Yorker

"Fermor writes logbooks of discovery, keenly meandering through architecture, music, art, history and the minutiae of everyday life…[His] erudition and courage are matched by his discerning compassion, which shapes the probing character sketches that populate his books, including A Time to Keep Silence." — Los Angeles Times

"A most successful attempt to portray the reactions of the man of the world (in the literal sense) when confronted with the monastic life." — Daily Telegraph (UK)

Praise for Patrick Leigh Fermor:

"One of the greatest travel writers of all time”–The Sunday Times

“A unique mixture of hero, historian, traveler and writer; the last and the greatest of a generation whose like we won't see again.”–Geographical

“The finest traveling companion we could ever have . . . His head is stocked with enough cultural lore and poetic fancy to make every league an adventure.” –Evening Standard

If all Europe were laid waste tomorrow, one might do worse than attempt to recreate it, or at least to preserve some sense of historical splendor and variety, by immersing oneself in the travel books of Patrick Leigh Fermor.”—Ben Downing, The Paris Review

Synopsis

From the French Abbey of St Wandrille to the abandoned and awesome Rock Monasteries of Cappadocia in Turkey, the celebrated travel writer Patrick Leigh Fermor studies the rigorous contemplative lives of the monks and the timeless beauty of their monastic surroundings. In his occasional retreats, the peaceful solitude and the calm enchantment of the monasteries was passed on as a kind of 'supernatural windfall' which A Time to Keep Silence so effortlessly records. -- Dieser Text bezieht sich auf eine andere Ausgabe: Taschenbuch .

Welche anderen Artikel kaufen Kunden, nachdem sie diesen Artikel angesehen haben?


In diesem Buch (Mehr dazu)
Nach einer anderen Ausgabe dieses Buches suchen.
Ausgewählte Seiten ansehen
Buchdeckel | Copyright | Inhaltsverzeichnis | Auszug | Rückseite
Hier reinlesen und suchen:

Kundenrezensionen

Es gibt noch keine Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.de
5 Sterne
4 Sterne
3 Sterne
2 Sterne
1 Sterne

Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 29 Rezensionen
93 von 93 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
"The Inner Empire" 20. Dezember 2007
Von Stanley H. Nemeth - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch
"A Time To Keep Silence" is travel writer Patrick Leigh Fermor's beautifully written account of visits to a number of European monasteries (Benedictine and Cistercian) and later to the ruins of an even older Turkish desert community in his efforts to understand the continuing appeal of the monastic way of life. An outsider, Fermor frankly acknowledges his contemporary bias, making it clear he's a man of the world whose direct intention is not to seek a believer's purification of soul. Instead, he wants to discover why an initially unattractive way of life, one that must strike a big-city dweller like himself as filled with deprivation and sadness, has continued through the centuries to exert its appeal upon men, men of a sort he discovers through his own experience to be not only psychologically balanced, but largely happy.

The telling insight Fermor receives from his initial stay at St. Wandrille's, one reconfirmed after visits through the years to other Benedictine abbeys, is that hidden within abbey walls is something truly magical, "the slow and cumulative spell of healing quietness." Whereas the abbey had struck him first as a place about as exciting as a "graveyard," it becomes one where he discovers, after a painful adjustment, that he can dispense with interfering trivalities and begin to look at life steadily and whole. Not surprisingly, when he returns to the outside world, he has to adjust once again, the world now seeming after his monastic stay "an inferno of noise and vulgarity entirely populated by bounders and sluts and crooks."

Fermor's insights in this book are equally matched by his extraordinary descriptive powers. Like any true poet, he is enough a lover of the world's body to give it a memorable description. When he speaks of the long sleeves of monks' robes brushing the floor, for instance, he says they are "like the ends of elephants' trunks." And describing the arid desert location of the long since abandoned Turkish monastery, he talks of "lion-colored uplands" and "biscuit-colored villages." Far from simply telling what he sees, Fermor through stunning word painting allows his readers the pleasure of seeing with him.
36 von 36 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
Enigmatic, oblique: form fits content well 18. Februar 2008
Von John L Murphy - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch
The other night, needing a calm book after an agitating day, I re-read this short but typically-- granted this author's ability to convey much depth in a few pages-- account of the famed travel writer's visits to monasteries. His simple account focuses on a long stay at St Wandrille's in Belgium, a bit of Solesmes, more at La Grande Trappe in France, and the journey later among the ruins of Cappadocian foundations in Turkey.

Fermor knows his limitations in retreating to such places in search of solitude to work on his own manuscripts. He tries to take on the mystery of the call to silence even as he tries to put it into words, to account for its appeal to a few and its strangeness to many of us. The results may not please all readers, for Fermor submits to the difference he encounters, and so by his lay status must remain too at the margins of what the monks take decades to live within. Writing well before Vatican II, Fermor conjures up an astonishingly austere regimen that he glimpses among the Trappists at their motherhouse; the Belgian Benedictines, by contrast, earn much more time for study and scholarship.

I wondered, in the decades since, how many monks remain at such European houses. Fermor provides us with efficiently told summaries of the past depredations and recoveries of such venerable communities, and one closes Fermor's depictions of life as it was lived there a half a century ago with a realization of how close it was to observances centuries older. Again, such a description leaves me to ponder how much as been altered and how much remains the same given the enormous shifts in Catholic practice and the decline in vocations since then.

This reflection leads to the comparatively short glimpse of the biscuit-colored mountains, with their pyramidical, anthill-like terrain, that housed some of the first monks in Christianity. The photos, as the one on the cover show, of this forbidding terrain remind me of an objective correlative for La Grande Trappe. The caves, the few remains, the hostile environment present, it seems, Fermor with a sense of an otherworldly terrain in more ways than one.
26 von 26 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
Very enjoyable, very erudite 18. Januar 2008
Von ScrawnyPunk - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch Verifizierter Kauf
Another great book by a great travel writer. This is a very quick read, but absolutely stuffed with erudition. For all but the most educated, it wouldn't hurt to read this with Wikipedia as a companion piece. As with his other travel books, the mix of architecture, history, linguistics, and an obvious personal touch lend an air of familiarity which, in the end, help give the impression that you have experienced these things yourself.

I once read a review which stated this book concluded that the vow of silence and other retreats from secular life were not effective or warranted in some circumstances. In my opinion, this conclusion was not reached by the author. The opposite appears to be true - Fermor's return to secular life seemed to be more traumatic than his adjustment period during his first visit. His understanding is remarkable and serves as a good lesson to the casual reader - his hosts honestly believe they are suffering in order to atone for the sins of the world, and they ask for nothing in return.
63 von 75 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
A Mistaken View of Monastic Life 14. August 2009
Von OSB reader - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch
I am a Benedictine, and I just finished reading A TIME FOR SILENCE by Patrick Leigh Fermer. I am distressed by the fact that he seems to think that Benedict's Rule is strict and severe. "Au contraire!" Of course he was writing before Vatican II, which might account for that impression. I realize some of our practices might seem difficult. Take silence for instance. Our world is so filled with noise and distraction that silence can be a very hard discipline for one who is not accustomed to the richness of it. I guess I would like to tell Mr. Fermer that Benedictine life isn't about asceticism for its own sake. Aspects of our life that may seem ascetical are really about clearing away anything that might distract us from the spiritual journey - a journey that's not just for monastics but for everyone! Other than that, the book is an interesting read as a travelogue. I was especially interested in the bit about the abandoned rock monasteries of Cappadocia. I knew nothing about them.
12 von 13 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
The kind of book you don't want to finish... 12. November 2010
Von Prof. Butterworth - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch Verifizierter Kauf
because it's so beautiful. Lovely, inspiring, all too brief. I want to know much more about this man and these monasteries. I tried to read Thomas Merton's Seven Story Mountain because I'm interested in monastic life and I couldn't get through it. Leigh Fermor, on the other hand, isn't on a faith journey. He's a writer looking for a quiet place to work. Yet he manages to tell me more about why one might choose to leave the world and become a monk than I got from Thomas Merton.
Waren diese Rezensionen hilfreich? Wir wollen von Ihnen hören.