Fashion Sale Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Sport & Outdoor calendarGirl Prime Photos Erste Wahl Learn More designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Lego Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,5 von 5 Sternen55
4,5 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 18. Juni 2010
Ich denke, da die Geschichte bereits häufig genug zusammengefasst wurde, überspringe ich mal diesen Teil.
Ich habe das Buch bereits vor Jahren auf Deutsch gelesen und war absolut begeistert, über die Atmosphäre und die Realitätsnähe der Geschichte. Da ich aber meist die Englischen Originalfassungen meiner Lieblingsbücher noch besser finde, als die Deutsche, habe ich mir nun die englische Version gekauft.
Natürlich ist die Handlung die Gleiche, aber für viele englische Wörter gibt es keine adäquate deutsche Übersetzung, sodass es doch gefühlte Unterschiede geben kann.
Bei den meisten englischen Büchern, komme ich mit meinem erweiterten Schulenglisch gut aus, aber bei diesem Buch war es wirklich hart. Hätte ich die genaue Handlung nicht bereits vorher gekannt, hätte ich wirklich ein Problem gehabt, manche Sätze waren für mich einfach nicht verständlich. Daher kann ich nur empfehlen, dieses Buch nicht als Anfänger zu lesen, sondern da doch lieber auf die eigene Muttersprache umzusteigen.
Für das Buch gibts natürlich trotzdem 5 Sterne, es kann schließlich nichts dafür, dass mein Englisch nicht gut genug ist :)
0Kommentar|8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. Februar 2014
I decided to read this book after seeing the film in German, I heard from lots of my German friends that they were dissappointed with the film because so much was left out for the movie version (I immeidately thought lost in translation). It was also suggested to me that I see the film first if I had not already read the book. I am now halfway through the book and simply cannot put it down, the story is fantastic and I feel like I am actually traveling with Rob J Cole to Persia.

Boy am I glad I saw the film first, because so much has been changed for the film that it feels like a completely different story.

Even though I have not yet finished this book I will strongly recommend it. Word of advise for those who want to see the film and have already read the book, you will be bitterly dissappointed and might want to save your money till it its TV, which nowadays does not take very long.
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. Mai 2000
READ THIS BOOK - YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!
As an American living in Germany, I learned of this unbelievable American author about 5 years ago. It was at this time that his book THE PHYSICAN was recommended to me as the best book these people had ever read. I heard this so many times in various different cities from people of different ages and backgrounds. Of course they had all read it in German and were all shocked that I had never heard of Noah Gordon.
Over the course of the next year I searched for the book each time I was in the US and when I finally received my copy I devoured it. My mother joined me in Germany and I recommended it - she finished all 1200 or so pages in a week and loved it too!
Since it's been so long since I read THE PHYSICIAN I hesitate to comment directly on the book (also because I'm a lousy writer and would never do it justice) but I will say I have since read every other Noah Gordon book I could get. I was never disappointed - THE SHAMAN was just as magical as THE PHYSICIAN.
I'm writing now because the Germans have just given me the tip that Mr. Gordon has yet another winner, I think it's called THE LAST JEW?, in any case I'll be ordering the hardback immediately. My library wouldn't be complete without it.
0Kommentar|10 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. April 1997
Every body I talked to about this book said that it was wonderful, so I bought it and started to read it. In few pages I couls see the great, great work done by Gordon. Even if the historical facts are not very accurate, it doesen't matter, for it's such a wonderful story that you just keep reading it until your ayes are tired.
The book is about a young english boy named Rob J., that sees himself in poverty and lost in big London when his parents die. Adopted by a barber-surgeon, he learns how to heal people, but his skills are not developed enough to him. So, he becomes a jew and goes to far Persia so he can study the art of medicine.
I haven't read other books from Gordon, but now I'm gonna start looking for them
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. Mai 1999
I liked The Physician very much. The characters were very interesting, the ambientation of the medieval ages and different cultures, also. I liked Cole very much and was very interested in the book. What I found disappointing was that, after reading it and being anxious to see how his life in Persia (while studying) would be, and how his life in Europe would be after his return (after having studied) maybe his reencounter with Mary, etc., I found that the next book (SHAMAN) did not cover this part. So it was a very good book that lacked a continuation or a good end. That really disappointed me as the real saga did not exist!!! It lacks a naturall continuation!
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Mai 2001
Das Buch hat mich von Anfang an gefesselt. Die abenteuerliche Lebensgeschichte des medizinbegnadeten und -besessenen Rob Cole über mehrere Kontinente ist äußerst bildreich und spannend erzählt.
0Kommentar|8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. April 2014
I've read the german print version that Droemer Knaurr published for maybe a hundred times. So I thought that I knew the story really well but looked forward to read it in English.

First I didn't notice it but it kept happening that I read scene that I couldn't remember and so I went back to the print version and checked. And yes, in the Droemer Knaurr print edition are scenes omitted, several that deal with behaviour against jews or other questionable actions.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. April 2000
Noah Gordon has woven a tale of a young man with a special talent for healing, and we are the lucky people who are offered this treasure. Born into squalid poverty in early 11th century London, Rob Cole's quest for medical knowledge takes him, mainly by foot, to far-off Persia - I think today's equivalent journey would be into space.
Gordon has avoided the fake "olde worlde" dialogue and language anachronisms that have caught out so many other writers of historical fiction, and which bring us back into the 21st cenury with a jolt. The result is an exquisitely researched, wonderfully credible, beautifully readable, entirely involving journey of the mind, body and soul. I defy you to put it down until it falls onto your face, when your eyes close with fatigue. The best 20c (at a hospital jumble sale) I've ever spent.
When your eyes have recovered, continue the journey with 'The Shaman', but I found the third book very disappointing and hackneyed after the elegance and beauty of 'The Physician' and the raw, frontier adventure of 'The Shaman'.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. März 2000
Just after the last turn of the millenium, a young boy is orphaned in London. Raised by a travelling barber-surgeon, Rob J. decides to be a great physician. Problem: the best medical school is located in Persia. Problem: they don't much like Catholics in Persia. Solution: Rob J. masquerades as a Jew in order to attend the school. Through the seven or eight years he spends in Persia, Rob J. falls in love, gets married, has kids, gets some really great friends, meets up with the Shah, nearly gets killed, and discovers appendicitis. This book isn't gory despite its medical scenes, and is actually a really interested read if you like reading about long-time-agos or medical lore. Though most things I've read that have taken place that long ago are really difficult to read, this one wasn't.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. Oktober 2013
Nice story, but the western writer explaining eastern philosophy always has that karate kid effect on me. And there was no real ending.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden