Fashion Sale Hier klicken Fußball Fan-Artikel calendarGirl Prime Photos Sony Learn More HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Lego Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,4 von 5 Sternen48
4,4 von 5 Sternen
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe|Ändern
Preis:24,55 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 18. Januar 2009
"The Elements of Style" ist ein kurzes, prägnant formuliertes Buch, das dem Leser die Feinheiten des Schreibens näherbringen möchte. Neben einfachen Regeln, die von der eigentlichen Formulierung ("Use the active voice") bis hin zur Kommasetzung ("Enclose parenthetic expressions between commas") reichen, findet sich -- GERADE für Nicht-Muttersprachler interessant! -- eine Liste von häufig falsch verwendeten Ausdrücken und Wörtern.

Auf kaum mehr als 100 Seiten zeigen Strunk & White dem Leser, wie er mit einfachen Mitteln die Qualität der geschriebenen Texte steigern kann. Die Ratschläge sind nicht direkt auf die deutsche Sprache übertragbar, was aber kein Problem darstellt: In Forschung und Wirtschaft ist Englisch die vorherrschende Sprache.

Das Buch richtet sich NICHT explizit nur an Schriftsteller, denn auch Wissensarbeiter, Studenten, Forscher, Programmierer, Ingenieure oder Blogger profitieren von diesem kleinen Meisterwerk. Jeder, der mehr als 10 Zeilen zu schreiben hat, seien es technische Dokumentationen, wissenschaftliche Papers oder projektbezogene E-Mails, wird schnell eine Verbesserung seines Stils bemerken.

Natürlich ist das kein Selbstzweck: Der Leser erhält so einen besseren Zugang zum Werk und man selbst wird auch mehr Freude daran haben, seine eigenen Erzeugnisse zu lesen und zu erweitern.

Kurz und gut: Eine Empfehlung für Jeden, aber auch wirklich Jeden, der berufs- oder ausbildungsbedingt das eine oder andere Dokument auf Englisch verfassen will.
0Kommentar|20 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Februar 2006
I first encountered Strunk and White's 'Elements of Style' when I was an undergraduate, and I have been a fan of this book ever sense. Perhaps it is because of the excellent teamwork that is apparent on the pages between the master of language, William Strunk, and the master of narrative, E.B. White. How can you go wrong learning grammar from the likes of the author of such wonderful tales as Stuart Little?
During my English composition class as an undergraduate, we had to read this book twice, once at the beginning of the term, and again at the end. I have since referred to the pages so often that I am on my fourth or fifth copy, as the binding and pages have worn out from use. Long before books such as 'Woe is I' or 'Eats, Shoots and Leaves', this book, 'The Elements of Style' has held a certain pride of place in being useful, accessible and interesting in its presentation of a traditionally and typically boring subject - grammar and usage.
Among the pieces I re-read on a frequent basis is the list of commonly misused or abused words and phrases. Here is a list of easily corrected mistakes that the typical writer and speaker needs to keep in mind. Also, the suggestions for composition are gentle reminders that creativity and good craftsmanship need not be contradictory.
This is a wonderful gift and wonderful treat for oneself.
0Kommentar|22 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. Dezember 2011
I have heard of this book many times in very positive ways and from what I have seen, the content is valuable and the (original) book seems to be a good one to have.

Unfortunately, the FORMATTING of this ebook cannot be described with anything less than being a desaster.

I am guessing that the original book contains a large number of tables or similarly complex formatting elements.

Unfortunately this Kindle edition seems to have been scanned in without any (!) manual checking of the results. All the tables (?) fell apart, nestling the content together. The resulting jibberish is extreme and quite unreadable.

Example:
"I was unaware of the fact that I was unaware that (did not know) the fact that he had not succeeded his failure the fact that I had arrived my arrival"

Here you can still make sense of the content if you want. Often you cannot.

Thus, unfortunately, I feel I need to warn you from this ebook. Especially with the 5star review that came before mine.
I am sure you will be better off with the print version until this file is revised.
0Kommentar|10 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. September 2015
This book was prepared in a consumer-grade word processor (the choice of fonts suggests Microsoft Word) with zero regard for typography. Narrow table cells are left-justified resulting in ridiculously wide inter-word gaps, the main text--where left justification would shine--is by contrast flush left, clubs and widows are plentiful, the lack of word breaks indicates wrong language settings, paragraph indentation is inconsistent between the main text and the examples, and the font used for the main text is visually incompatible with the font used for the examples.
0Kommentar|6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. April 2003
Für deutsche, mit nicht perfekten Englischkenntnissen, ist dieses Buch manchmal nicht einfach zu lesen, auf Grund der Benutzung von englischen Fachbegriffen. Doch durch eindeutige und einleuchtende Beispiele ist dieses Problem nicht wirklich eines.
Dieses Buch war dazu gedacht, Schreibern zu helfen. Doch es hilft auch Schülern im fortgeschritten Englischunterricht, wo es auf (grammatische) Genauigkeiten ankommt.
(Und wenn Lehrer fragen, woher man all dies wisse, kann man mit diesem Buch ganz schön "angeben")
Das Buch ist also sehr zu empfehlen für diejenigen, die ihr Englisch Perfektionieren wollen oder/und das Handwerk des Schreibens sichtlich verbessern wollen.
0Kommentar|34 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. August 2007
Das Buch ist sehr geeignet, um einem beim Verbessern von englischen Texten zu helfen. Ich benutze es, um jeden Text, den ich in Englisch schreiben muss, zu verbessern.

Besonders wichtig ist, dass diese Version einen Index enthält. Es gibt eine Version in der dieses Buch mit einem anderen kobiniert ist, in der der Index nicht enthalten ist. Der Index erlaubt es einem, viele Dinge schneller zu finden. Ohne Index wäre dieses Buch nicht so einfach zu verwenden.
0Kommentar|4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. November 2012
Das, was man eigentlich nie tun sollte, hier darf man sich getrost aufs Cover verlassen. Die Grundregeln und Prinzipien guten Sprachgebrauchs und guter Schreibe sind hier bestens und mit anschaulichen und verständlichen Beispielen erläutern. Ein Klassiker auf den neuesten Stand gebracht und dazu nett und gleichsam anspruchsvoll illustriert. Ach hätten Wolf Schneider und Ludwig Reimers doch nur ein Quäntchen von all dem, was hier geboten wird. Deshalb: The Elements of Style lesen und die Style Regeln auch für die deutsche Sprache anwenden. Und dann selbst denken. Wuff.
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. April 2016
Der Inhalt entspricht weitgehend den ersten 80 Seiten des Dudens. – Also Grundausrüstung für alle, die mal Unterricht in Schrift bekommen haben.
Für diejenigen, die sich in Englisch unsicher sind bestimmt interessant.
Für ambitionierte Schreiber nur bedingt geeignet; die sollten sich eher an Sol Stein halten. Der ist wegweisender und unterhaltsam zu lesen.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. März 2016
This book was touted as the ultimate manual for clear writing. Well, I do not want to argue with that statement. To me, however, the book seems outdated (e.g., the author insists on writing 'today' and 'tomorrow' with a hyphen), sometimes self-contradictory ("The subject of a sentence and the principle verb should not, as a rule, be separated...") and generally heavy ("If the writer finds that he has written a series of sentences of the type described, he should recast enough of them to remove the monotony, replacing them by simple sentences, by sentences of two clauses joined by..." plus 25 words to follow). Don't get me wrong, there is good advice there; yet, if you want to improve your writing, you could probably find something better.

Whether you find Strunk's book useful or not, DO NOT BUY THIS EDITION (ISBN 9781682040133, reprint by Aloha Library)! It lacks proper formatting and is really a pain to read! The examples are not separated from the main text or from each other, words are inconsistently italicized, and the text is just a garbled mess. I'm sure one can find better editions of the book.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Anyone who even thinks about wanting to write should have this book on the nighttable, or within easy reach of brief periodic readings. There are no opinions here, only straightforward, "this is how it is" rules and anecdotes of English instruction. The underlying point, like all good English books, is that there really is no new way to say, "it is," but rather that certain words and expressions fade out and must eventually be replaced. The English language, like all human languages, change over time, but some standards must remain.
This book can be read cover to cover in less than four hours by an "average" reader, and after several more passes, the what was once forgotten rule becomes a part of memory. It is enjoyable to read because there are no tests. It was also a definite positive factor to my last book, "Confessions of a Reformed Road Warrior," becoming better than was the first few drafts. Before I sat down at my computer for a writing session, I would have the cadence of "The Elements of Style" going through my internal writing filters. This book, like a few others which are noteworthy, must be a mainstay on the bookshelf of any would-be author, word processor or office supervisor.
Get it, read it, memorize it. Learn the basics before you move on to more complex pieces of writing. You will become more confident for having done so. And your readers will be able to tell.
22 Kommentare|8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden