Fashion Sale Hier klicken Jetzt informieren calendarGirl Prime Photos Learn More sommer2016 designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Lego NYNY

Kundenrezensionen

4,7 von 5 Sternen79
4,7 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:14,95 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 26. Mai 2000
Although this is a well written book that has helped many people who are blocked creatively, I couldn't get past a pivotal hurdle. This is that each day you have to write extensive journal pages called "Morning Pages." I tried getting on listservs to get myself motivated to make it through but I discovered that other people had the same problem I did doing those pages. However, these materials were really intended for those experiencing total creative block which I was not experiencing at the time I tried it. A friend, who was experiencing creative block, found this book much more useful than I did. If you are actually experiencing a creative block in any creative activity, you may want to try this book and/or take the accompanying course work which goes with it. This book also can be used for writers with creative block, which the title does not make clear.
0Kommentar|7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. März 2000
I first heard about this book 6 months ago, then again 2 months ago (synchronicity!). Both times I'd gotten to a point in my life where I was asking the question, "There is much more to me than who I am now but WHAT? " This book has quite changed my life. Today I know what my fears/blocks are. Where they stem from. HOW TO WORK WITH THEM and HOW TO FREE MYSELF FROM THEM. Today, I have the freedom to be Anita the person as well as wife,mother, sister and daughter. I found the Morning pages, Artists Dates and Tasks liberating to do. When one week is busier than others, I "extend" my week to complete my Tasks at my own pace. If you're looking for "YOU" then this is the place to start! I hope you have as much fun as I am.... My thanks to Ms. Cameron for having the courage to write this INCREDIBLE book!
0Kommentar|4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Februar 2000
This book is so great in so many ways! One of the best aspects of this book is that it gets you to look at all the unfair and untrue steriotypes about artists. NO, we're not all selfish, alcoholic, junkies, transgendered-homosexual-beastiality-loving necrophiliacs, and we're not all bad with money, or hermits, or suicidal, or homicidal, or prisoners, or child-molesting, or lazy, or insane, or liberal-loonies, or immoral, or incapable of staying married, dingy, etc. Reading this book will help you realize the overwhelming majority of us are quite healthy, generous, stable, responsible, peaceful, moral, spiritual, happy, happy, happy, and rich. And all that is in one chapter! Another chapter discusses the value of putting your inner critic on hold until you need it. Another chapter has you examine all the topical areas of your life to determine how authentic they are in reflecting your inner areas. Another chapter helps you in being brave with your ideas. Another chapter, helps you to handle criticism, and to determine whether or not is is fair -- GREAT chapter. I could go on and on with this book's value. After writing my first novel, I was hopelessly stuck until I found this book. Now, I'm even illustrating my second novel! In fact, I was so impressed with this book that I rushed out after I completed it, and purchased EVERY SINGLE THING this woman and her partner have published. You name it and I bought it, and I LOVE it all!
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. Mai 2000
I was initially inspired and as excited as all the other reviewers below, and even found that my creative juices were flowing once again.
Unfortunately, it just took up too much of my time. The morning pages alone usually took me almost an hour to write (maybe I needed a larger ruled notebook?) It's all great if you're a professional freelance writer, but tougher if you're in the more likely situation of needing to hold down your 9-5 (or 9-7).
I found that the exercises cut into the already sparse time I had left in my week to concentrate on my music. My morning pages were full of discovery, but I had little time left to take care of my art or my body (even Ms. Cameron advises to stay healthy).
It's all wonderful stuff, but just doesn't take real world time constraints into account. Be ready for that.
0Kommentar|13 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Februar 2000
Absolutely amazing how this book can start a transformation of your life from the minute you start reading. The real kicker is when you actually start using it. The "morning pages" which, according to the author, are mandatory, made my life start going in the right direction. Things start coming to you and lining up in the proper order. I started the process recommended some time ago when I first got the book. (One of the great things is that you get to start the work as soon as you start reading the book- actually I haven't even finished the reading yet!) My life was turning around and then I gave up on the "morning pages". Everything went down the drain and the struggle back up has been hard. I once again picked up my trusty copy of this amazing book two weeks ago and started doing the "morning pages" again yesterday. Things are already starting to be better in my life in so many ways! Call me crazy but it works. I have been recommending this book to all of my friends and am now very excited to see that there are others by this author here at Amazon. I will be ordering all of them very soon!
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Juni 1998
This book has completely changed my perspective about my creative ability. At first my practical side felt very silly doing some of the exercises. But after a while a began to realize how much better I felt about myself and my ability to be creative... not do everything by the book. I began oil painting, which I've even entered into contests. I went to Professional Culinary School, in spite of everyone telling me I was crazy. Now those same people are envious of my ability and attitude to discover something that makes me happy and actually pursue it. So many people dream, but never act on those dreams. As practical as I am and probably always will be, thanks to this book, I'm happy that I'm taking these steps toward self fullfillment, and I've established a balance in my life I have never previously experienced. My only criticism is all of the references to God. I'm not athiest, however I feel strongly that the motivation comes from a higher power within yourself and is in your control, and should not be limited to an association with a particular religious figure. Not everyone believes in God, like another individual has written in this review section. I could see how the constant references could turn someone off. But if you look past that element of the book there are some real powerful tools that can help anyone become a more creative individual. The religious connotations are not really necessary. If you can keep that in perspective, then I highly recommend this book!
0Kommentar|6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. September 1999
As an adjunct faculty member at Harvard University and co-president of WriteDirections.com which is the Web's first virtual distance-learning writing university, I find that of the students who "attend" our classes on writer's block and creativity, the ones who seem the most prepared and ready to progress are those that mention having read this book. Students report being able to recover their creativity from a variety of blocks, especially limiting beliefs in themselves, fear, and self-doubt. It certainly keeps our faculty on their toes!
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Januar 2000
I heard about this book a few months ago and was very sceptical at first. As more and more people around me started with it, I became curious and bought myself a copy. It was the best decision I have ever made! I am in week eleven and I can safely say that this book has changed my life, completely. It has taken the South African performing arts scene by storm and everyone I know who has read or is busy reading The Artist's Way feels the same way I do! Apart from the fact the the book contains so many truths, what makes this book such a pleasure to read is that it is so well written. If you are in doubt and you need just that little bit of encouragement, if you know deep down inside that there is an artist in you, that feels neglected or that you haven't yet discovered, take the plunge and start a wonderful journey! If you are a lawyer, accountant or a mother taking care of your family at home, don't be discouraged or misled by the book's title, it is for you too!
Thank you Julia Cameron!
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Januar 2000
I was somewhat apprehensive about this book, as I didn't consider myself a very "religious" person and felt it would be "too preachy"... I found, however, that the entire thing is written with respect for EVERYONE'S spiritual beliefs, does NOT preach, and provides those who participate in the exercises a wonderful opportunity to explore and expand the inner Self. I like the fact that the tasks are specific (not vague, "do whatever" things), that the exercises challenge you to take a few moments each day to actually take care of Yourself, and that what you discover about yourself is helpful -- on many levels. You HAVE to stay committed to the process -- no "fudging", no quitting along the way -- but the results are worth the effort. It's okay to nurture yourself; and you can do that without being "selfish" or "egotistical"... It's a great book.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Dezember 1999
I received this book as a gift and was skeptical but I decided to do the steps with a close friend who lived across the country. Once a week we would call each other to discuss that week's chapter. Doing it with a friend helped to keep me going. I found that it truly awakened the artist inside of me that had laid dorment for years while I miserably trodded through corporate life and denied my creativity. Once I began to explore my creativity I felt much better spirtually, emotionally and physically. I ended up completing a guide book which is now for sale and I completed a novel which is not published yet. Whenever I feel depressed or overwhelmed with my life, I start the morning pages and almost instantly feel more in control. Even if you never thought of yourself as an artist, this book helps with self-exploration that may bring forth parts of you that you never realized where there.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden