• Alle Preisangaben inkl. MwSt.
Nur noch 6 auf Lager (mehr ist unterwegs).
Verkauf und Versand durch Amazon.
Geschenkverpackung verfügbar.
Menge:1
The Animal Man Omnibus ist in Ihrem Einkaufwagen hinzugefügt worden
+ EUR 3,00 Versandkosten
Gebraucht: Gut | Details
Verkauft von Deal DE
Zustand: Gebraucht: Gut
Kommentar: Dieses Buch ist in gutem, sauberen Zustand. Seiten und Einband sind intakt.
Ihren Artikel jetzt
eintauschen und
EUR 14,97 Gutschein erhalten.
Möchten Sie verkaufen?
Zur Rückseite klappen Zur Vorderseite klappen
Anhören Wird wiedergegeben... Angehalten   Sie hören eine Probe der Audible-Audioausgabe.
Weitere Informationen
Alle 2 Bilder anzeigen

The Animal Man Omnibus (Englisch) Gebundene Ausgabe – 6. August 2013


Alle Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Amazon-Preis Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Gebundene Ausgabe
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 70,73
EUR 59,24 EUR 49,90
10 neu ab EUR 59,24 5 gebraucht ab EUR 49,90

Hinweise und Aktionen

  • Sparpaket: 3 Hörbücher für 33 EUR: Entdecken Sie unsere vielseitige Auswahl an reduzierten Hörbüchern und erhalten Sie 3 Hörbücher Ihrer Wahl für 33 EUR. Klicken Sie hier, um direkt zur Aktion zu gelangen.


Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Animal Man Omnibus + The Planetary Omnibus + The Invisibles Omnibus
Preis für alle drei: EUR 266,81

Die ausgewählten Artikel zusammen kaufen
Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen — selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät — mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.


Produktinformation


Mehr über den Autor

Entdecken Sie Bücher, lesen Sie über Autoren und mehr

Produktbeschreibungen

Pressestimmen

Praise for Grant Morrison:

"[Grant Morrison is] comics's high shaman."—Washington Post

"[A] comic legend."—Rolling Stone

Über den Autor und weitere Mitwirkende

Grant Morrison has been working with DC Comics for more than twenty years, beginning his American career with acclaimed runs on ANIMAL MAN, DOOM PATROL and the ARKHAM ASYLUM graphic novel. Since then, he has written such best-selling series as JLA, BATMAN and New X-Men, as well as his creator-owned titles such as THE INVISIBLES, SEAGUY, THE FILTH and WE3.  He has been hard at work expanding the DC Universe in titles ranging from the Eisner-Award winning titles SEVEN SOLDIERS and ALL STAR SUPERMAN, to the weekly comic 52 to, most recently, the ground-breaking crossover FINAL CRISIS. In his secret identity, Morrison is a "counterculture" spokesperson, a musician, an award-winning playwright and a chaos magician.  He lives and works between Los Angeles and his homes in Scotland.

Welche anderen Artikel kaufen Kunden, nachdem sie diesen Artikel angesehen haben?

Kundenrezensionen

Es gibt noch keine Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.de
5 Sterne
4 Sterne
3 Sterne
2 Sterne
1 Sterne

Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 16 Rezensionen
40 von 43 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
Living fiction on a paper stage 6. August 2013
Von William Timothy Lukeman - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe
For most American comics readers, this reinvention of D-lister Buddy Baker AKA Animal Man was our first introduction to the talent of Grant Morrison. Then a vegetarian & a staunch supporter of animal rights, it was only natural for him to bestow those beliefs on a superhero whose powers were drawn from the animal kingdom. And while there was an occasional touch of preachiness to those early issues, it was never enough to detract from the storytelling itself.

But Morrison had barely gotten started ...

With the 5th issue ("The Coyote Gospel") it became apparent that he had a lot more in mind. From that point onward, he began to explore Animal Man's nature & essence as a comics character, someone who was gradually becoming aware that he was indeed a character written by someone unknown. The series took a wonderful leap into the metafictional, while still delivering entertaining superhero stories ... but these were examinations of the idea of superheroics as well. As the series progressed into peyote trips & characters breaking the 4th wall with alarming frequency, it became all the more compelling & thrilling. Morrison was clearly going somewhere strange & startling with all of this, and I for one couldn't wait to see where it would end up.

At the same time, he gave us one of the most likable & realistic of families in superhero comics: Buddy's supportive wife Ellen & his children, Cliff & the adorable Maxine. He made the family dynamic such an integral part of the character that to this day, subsequent writers have followed his lead in this regard. He effectively put the lie to the notion that a superhero must be single & unencumbered, even as he examined the power fantasies that so many superheroes embody. This was a family we were happy to spend time with every month!

The storyline eventually went into very dark & troubling territory for poor Buddy, culminating with a meeting between him & his writer. This conceit could easily have been a fiasco. Instead, it worked superbly, as Morrison explained to Buddy (and to the readers) what the pleasures & limitations of writing really are, and how so much of it is drawn from the life experience of the writer. While Morrison would go on to explore these concepts in greater depth in other comics, to my mind he was never more nakedly open & vulnerable than in this final Animal Man story. There's a warmth & affection here that really grabs the reader, a poignancy that lingers long after the final page is turned.

There's always been controversy about the artwork of Charles Truog -- not slick enough, too loose & cartoony, etc. For me, those very qualities made him ideal for this series, where the lead character discovers his existence as a comics character. Of course he should look cartoony! I also think the choice of this art style, as opposed to the hyper-muscularity of other superhero artists, says something important about the body image fantasies & expectations of some (not all) comics readers.

Far too many current comics are largely concerned with being "realistic" -- by which they mean violent & ugly & ultimately shallow. Morrison has never gone that route, finding surreal delight in the most shiny & absurd aspects of comics -- the very stuff so many comics writers & fans reject in an attempt to seem oh-so-adult. In this collection of his first major series, we see the beginnings of Morrison's continually exciting & vivid work. For the thinking comics fan, most highly recommended!
17 von 17 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
Great story, incomplete presentation, glued binding 1. September 2013
Von Samuel B. Cole - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe Verifizierter Kauf
Morrison's run on Animal Man is a great example of taking a long view in comics. Realizing that continuities change and characters come and go over time, a comic book version of The Tempest plays out with Buddy Baker at the center. You would be hard pressed to fund a better use of meta-fiction in comics. The story is really is great. However, as good as the story is, there are problems with the book itself. The first problem is that the presentation is incomplete. The letters columns from the original Animal Man books are omitted. While this is standard practice, the story ended up mentioning the debates in the letter column. Given that the letters become part of the story they should have been included. Second is the binding is glued not sewn. It was difficult to see everything on the page without straining the binding. I wish DC would make all their omnibus books sewn but there isn't much hope for that. In any case you'll love the story and will probably want to go back and reread Crisis On Infinite Earths either right before or right after reading this given how closely tied the storyline are.
17 von 18 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
Wonderfully Breathtaking 10. August 2013
Von Johnny D - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe
After twenty-four years of reading comics, I have stumbled upon an absolute favorite. What starts out as witty, dramatic, and colorful comic book fun turns into something so much more. Fans of Grant Morrison, Comic books, and mind-bending fiction should put this at the top of their reading list.
Thanks for a great experience, Grant!
6 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
Animal man. Finally. 18. August 2013
Von beatlesexpert - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe Verifizierter Kauf
Some 15 years ago, i stumbled upon the first 8 or 9 issues (borrowed) never to find them again. As a collector i'm leaning lately to this huge omnibus formats, so i patiently waited for some of those great 80's forgotten heroes ( GA, Swamp Thing, Animal Man and Constantine to name some ) to get the omnibus treatment.
This is Grant Morrison's run and here he's in top form. His creative mind knows no boundaries in this issues and i feel nowadays, not even himself can top what he did in these late eighties issues. So glad to have this new book in my collection.
Patience, as they say, is a kingly virtue. And I, have now been rewarded. What a joyful read. Buy it now before it goes out of print.
7 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
Fantasic Read 21. August 2013
Von Morgan Floyd - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe Verifizierter Kauf
This was FANTASTIC! One of the best Grant Morrison books I've read in a long time. Usually Morrison can get very confusing at times, but this one is written clearly. You can also see all the influences other comic books had after this one was finished, especially with the entire fourth wall concept. I found it funny how the character in the book viewed us as the reader calling us "perverts" sometimes. If you like the fourth wall concept, this one is one of the good ones. Many comics try to attempt it, but it not as well done and kind of just a copy of this book. The only other comic book that came close and succeeded using the fourth wall that I've read before was Alan Moore's book Promethea. That comic made you feel like Promethea actually existed.

I first came to admire Animal Man in the series 52 DC comics did a few years back (not to be confused with the New 52's Animal Man which I have yet to read). I always seem to like his character though. I liked the fact he was a family man and just an all-around good person. Most comics in the late 80s and early 90s just get too weird and always seem to have an emo type of character. I was surprised to see Animal Man is a happily married man with two kids and a couple of pets. It even includes some family friends and neighbors. The artwork worked for the everyman type of comic too. It's nothing that special, but it simple and well detailed at times.

The one thing that stands out with this comic book among other is there isn't one issue that I didn't like. Many single issues stand out the most like Issues 5, 7, 6, 15, 19, and 26. Those are just fantastic reads and really show the power of Grant Morrison's writing. The entire comic you need to read from start to finish to get the point of it, but as I said before no issue that will leave you disappointed.

Whom would I recommend this too? Anyone who read comic books and wants to read a superhero comic that is just pure fun without all the sappy melodrama. The people who might enjoy this the best though are fans of Animal Man (obviously), people who want to read Morrison's first successful comic book, people who like animals, people who like the fourth wall and metafictional books, and mostly (as I said previously) people who just want a fun comic book to read.
Waren diese Rezensionen hilfreich? Wir wollen von Ihnen hören.