earlybirdhw2015 Hier klicken Jetzt Mitglied werden Cloud Drive Photos lagercrantz WHDsFly Learn More praktisch ssvpatio Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Sparpaket Autorip SummerSale
In weniger als einer Minute können Sie mit dem Lesen von Sword of Empire: Centurion (English Edition) auf Ihrem Kindle beginnen. Sie haben noch keinen Kindle? Hier kaufen oder mit einer unserer kostenlosen Kindle Lese-Apps sofort zu lesen anfangen.
ODER
Kostenlos lesen
mit Kindle Unlimited Abonnement

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

 
 
 

Kostenlos testen

Jetzt kostenlos reinlesen

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

Der Artikel ist in folgender Variante leider nicht verfügbar
Keine Abbildung vorhanden für
Farbe:
Keine Abbildung vorhanden
 

Sword of Empire: Centurion (English Edition) [Kindle Edition]

Richard Foreman

Kindle-Preis: EUR 2,99 Inkl. MwSt. und kostenloser drahtloser Lieferung über Amazon Whispernet
 
Kindle Unlimited Leihen Sie diesen Titel kostenfrei aus, und Sie erhalten mit dem Kindle Unlimited Abonnement unbegrenzten Zugriff auf über 850.000 Kindle eBooks und mehr als 2.000 Hörbücher. Erfahren Sie mehr

  • Einschließlich kostenlose drahtlose Lieferung über Amazon Whispernet
Kostenlose Kindle-Leseanwendung Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen  selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät  mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.

Geben Sie Ihre E-Mail-Adresse oder Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Weitere Ausgaben

Amazon-Preis Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition EUR 2,99  
Taschenbuch EUR 5,34  
September-Aktion: Englische eBooks für je 1,49 EUR
Sparen Sie bis zu -75% bei ausgewählten englischen eBooks. Die Aktion läuft noch bis 30. September 2015.

Kunden, die diesen Artikel gekauft haben, kauften auch

Seite von Zum Anfang
Diese Einkaufsfunktion wird weiterhin Artikel laden. Um aus diesem Karussell zu navigieren, benutzen Sie bitte Ihre Überschrift-Tastenkombination, um zur nächsten oder vorherigen Überschrift zu navigieren.

Produktbeschreibungen

Kurzbeschreibung

Rome 174AD.

As the war continues in the north Marcus Aurelius orders Gaius Maximus and Rufus Atticus to return to Rome. Enemies lurk in the shadows in the capital, spreading propaganda and sowing dissent. The praetorian guards must lure their enemies out – and defeat them.

Yet Maximus is returning home for something, or rather someone, else: Aurelia. The soldier will be caught between his duty and his happiness.

Rufus Atticus will also be forced to make a choice, between the duty he owes to his Emperor and the duty he owes to his family.

Triumph and tragedy may prove to be two sides of the same coin.

The centurions will be caught-up in a web of intrigue - as well as a battle on the streets of Rome - that will decide the fate of Marcus Aurelius and the Empire.

‘Sword of Empire: Centurion’ is the sequel to the best-selling novella ‘Sword of Empire: Praetorian’.

For fans of Simon Scarrow, Harry Sidebottom and Conn Iggulden.

Richard Foreman's books have been widely praised.

Praise for 'Augustus: Son of Rome'.

'Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction'. - Saul David, Author of the Zulu Hart series.

Praise for Raffles: The Complete Innings.

“Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime.” - David Blackburn, The Spectator.

Richard Foreman is the author of numerous best-selling books, including 'Augustus: Son of Rome' and the Sword of Rome series of historical novellas. He is also the author of 'Warsaw', a literary novel set during the Second World War. He lives in London. You can find him tweeting at @rforemanauthor.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

Produktinformation

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Dateigröße: 485 KB
  • Seitenzahl der Print-Ausgabe: 147 Seiten
  • Verlag: Endeavour Press (30. April 2014)
  • Verkauf durch: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • ASIN: B00K29ORTO
  • Text-to-Speech (Vorlesemodus): Aktiviert
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Nicht aktiviert
  • Erweiterte Schriftfunktion: Aktiviert
  • Amazon Bestseller-Rang: #63.065 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop (Siehe Top 100 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop)

  •  Ist der Verkauf dieses Produkts für Sie nicht akzeptabel?

Welche anderen Artikel kaufen Kunden, nachdem sie diesen Artikel angesehen haben?


Kundenrezensionen

Es gibt noch keine Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.de
5 Sterne
4 Sterne
3 Sterne
2 Sterne
1 Sterne
Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 von 5 Sternen  7 Rezensionen
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Worthy follow-up... 3. Mai 2014
Von Karen Poulin - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
Worthy follow-up to Praetorian. Story follows on from first book, but three years afterwards. There isn't so much action in this as in many of the author's other Roman books but we're more than compensated with some great dialogue and twists. Battle at end is well choreographed and Foreman teases reader almost with which main/secondary characters will live or die.
Maximus is a great hero, tough yet sympathetic. Marcus Aurelius is not your ordinary emperor and general either.
As with the Sword of Rome series the characters and story grow with each installment.
4.0 von 5 Sternen Political Intrigue in Ancient Rome 20. Dezember 2014
Von James Dainis - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
With "Centurion" in the title one would expect the book to be concerned with fighting the Gauls or Germanic tribes. But instead, this book deals with the political scene in Rome. Centurion Gaius Maximus and newly appointed centurion Rufus Atticus have returned to Rome to find that enemies of the Emperor are spreading dissent and propaganda. Rufus' father, a rich and powerful senator, wants to overthrow the Emperor and set up his own man as a puppet ruler. He hires a small army of mercenaries in a plot to create havoc and seize the throne. Can the two men uncover and thwart the plot?

This is a short book or long novella so the plot moves along rather quickly. The characterizations are well done and the reader should be intrigued with the carrying ons of the upper classes. The characters are different and diverse and whether good or evil have their own rationalizations of their acts to soothe their consciences. One can get an idea that maybe this is the way that people actually did carry on in ancient Rome. Maybe many did sleep around but I'm not too sure that so many often quoted Virgil, Seneca, etc. as they do in this book. It did make for interesting reading.

I got put off when one of the nicest characters in the story got killed off at the end. There really was no good reason put forth as to why that happened, just cheap revenge that didn't seem warranted. Anyway, I will now move on to the final book in the series. It looks like Gaius and Rufus will be heading back toward the Germanic tribes. Good. I look forward to more blood, gore and guts and less political backstabbing.
4.0 von 5 Sternen Skullduggery and Conflict in Ancient Rome 26. August 2014
Von Dennis D. Mcdonald - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verifizierter Kauf
The SWORD OF EMPIRE series of short novels follows the exploits of centurion Gaius Oppius Maximus, chief military troubleshooter to emperor Marcus Aurelius. CENTURION is the second in the series. The first is SWORD OF EMPIRE: PRAETORIAN which I enjoyed tremendously.

This time around it looks like Gaius Oppius is, whether he likes it or not, getting sucked into political intrigue in ancient Rome. I enjoy how Roman history and politics are intertwined with the story. It’s hard to say exactly what's true and what’s fiction.

What does ring true are how personal details of both real and fictional characters are connected with the story. One scene early in the book, for example, the centurion chats with Marcus Aurelius about the politics of governing where references are made to the Emperor's own writings. Later on the centurion attends a garden/cocktail party accompanied by his lieutenant. The party is sponsored by Marcus Aurelius’ sworn enemy who is secretly planning a coup. The centurion doesn't know about this yet but the reader senses the stage is being set for a major confrontation. That confrontation does occur and the reader is rewarded with a fiery and brutal example of urban warfare replete with fiery arrows, severed limbs, and charred corpses.

But that's not all. What the author is doing is setting the reader up for a personal tragedy in the final chapter and a transition to more adventures in future volumes. I'm really looking forward to more this series!
4.0 von 5 Sternen It is part of a series that I would recommend you start with the first book before this one 29. August 2014
Von Kindle Customer - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verifizierter Kauf
Richard Foreman is a fairly new author,however as this book shows, he is an innovative and detailed author. It is part of a series that I would recommend you start with the first book before this one..but definitely read the entire series. Like most self-published e-books the author has relied on spell check too much, thus causing word misusage and typos. But it doesn't detract from the book. I look forward to more of his output in this genre.
4.0 von 5 Sternen Good novella 12. August 2014
Von todd merkel - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verifizierter Kauf
this is a very well-written story along the lines of Simon Scarrow's books. I enjoyed all of them but wish they were longer
Waren diese Rezensionen hilfreich?   Wir wollen von Ihnen hören.

Kunden diskutieren

Das Forum zu diesem Produkt
Diskussion Antworten Jüngster Beitrag
Noch keine Diskussionen

Fragen stellen, Meinungen austauschen, Einblicke gewinnen
Neue Diskussion starten
Thema:
Erster Beitrag:
Eingabe des Log-ins
 

Kundendiskussionen durchsuchen
Alle Amazon-Diskussionen durchsuchen
   


Ähnliche Artikel finden