Möchten Sie verkaufen?
Zur Rückseite klappen Zur Vorderseite klappen
Anhören Wird wiedergegeben... Angehalten   Sie hören eine Probe der Audible-Audioausgabe.
Weitere Informationen
Dieses Bild anzeigen

Research #10 Incredibly Strange Films (Englisch) Taschenbuch – 1. Juni 1986


Alle 2 Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Amazon-Preis Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Taschenbuch, 1. Juni 1986
EUR 94,59 EUR 39,95
5 neu ab EUR 94,59 7 gebraucht ab EUR 39,95
Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen — selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät — mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.


Produktinformation

  • Taschenbuch: 211 Seiten
  • Verlag: V/Search; Auflage: Reissue (1. Juni 1986)
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • ISBN-10: 1889307017
  • ISBN-13: 978-1889307015
  • Größe und/oder Gewicht: 28 x 21,6 x 1,4 cm
  • Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung: 5.0 von 5 Sternen  Alle Rezensionen anzeigen (3 Kundenrezensionen)
  • Amazon Bestseller-Rang: Nr. 2.404.493 in Fremdsprachige Bücher (Siehe Top 100 in Fremdsprachige Bücher)
  • Komplettes Inhaltsverzeichnis ansehen

Mehr über den Autor

Entdecken Sie Bücher, lesen Sie über Autoren und mehr

Kundenrezensionen

5.0 von 5 Sternen
5 Sterne
3
4 Sterne
0
3 Sterne
0
2 Sterne
0
1 Sterne
0
Alle 3 Kundenrezensionen anzeigen
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel

Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen

Format: Taschenbuch
As with all the Research Series books, Incredibly Strange Films lavishes the reader with little known information on a marginal subject with great detail. I originally received this book in 1986 and was immediately impressed with the exhaustive research of all our forgotten films as well as the profiles on directors such as H.G. Lewis. It also includes a helpful index (as far as I can remember) that will send you running for the video store. I haven't written a book on films but I know that you need not be a film buff or major to enjoy this book. The photos are reason enough to buy this book.If you don't believe me, just view the cover!
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback. Wenn diese Rezension unangemessen ist, informieren Sie uns bitte darüber.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Von Ein Kunde am 11. September 1999
Format: Taschenbuch
This book changed my approach to writing, filmmaking, and life itself. It's an extremely unaffected yet affecting tome, which allowed a half-intellectual such as myself the unashamed ability to love the dumb things I love. It's a striking example of how art and entertainment lie in the world of heart, commitment, and sincerity, as much as in the world of craft or ability. Without it I would not have been able to write the filmmaking book I wrote with Lloyd Kaufman, All I Know About Filmmaking I Learned from the Toxic Avenger.
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback. Wenn diese Rezension unangemessen ist, informieren Sie uns bitte darüber.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Format: Taschenbuch
I have to agree with James Gunn in saying that the Incredibly Strange Film book changed my life forever. This book gives relevance to films that were, for the most part, regarded as B's, drekk, sleaze or just plain trash.
And again, like James Gunn, with out it I wouldn't have been able to write my own book about H.G. Lewis entitled, A Taste of Blood: The Films of Herschell Gordon Lewis.
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback. Wenn diese Rezension unangemessen ist, informieren Sie uns bitte darüber.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen

Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 12 Rezensionen
11 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
Beautiful, Life-Changing, for All Fans of Art and Film 11. September 1999
Von Ein Kunde - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch
This book changed my approach to writing, filmmaking, and life itself. It's an extremely unaffected yet affecting tome, which allowed a half-intellectual such as myself the unashamed ability to love the dumb things I love. It's a striking example of how art and entertainment lie in the world of heart, commitment, and sincerity, as much as in the world of craft or ability. Without it I would not have been able to write the filmmaking book I wrote with Lloyd Kaufman, All I Know About Filmmaking I Learned from the Toxic Avenger.
8 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
This book offers an intelligent take on a neglected subject. 24. Juli 1997
Von Ein Kunde - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch
RESearch's Incredibly Strange Films is an exhaustive and intelligent look at a neglected subject: "weird," low-budget, and exploitation movies, and the folks who make them. This is basically the book that canonized cult directors like Frank Hennenlotter, Herschell Gordon Lewis, Russ Meyer, and Doris Wishman.

Celebrating--and analyzing--genres like Mondo, sexploitation, LSD films, and today's most recently fetishized genre of "educational films," the essays in this book are jubilant and informed. Also provided are a number of interviews with cheese film luminaries like Ted V. Mickels (The Corpse Grinders), Herschell Gordon Lewis (Wizard of Gore), and Larry Cohen (It's Alive!).

Essayists Joe Morton and now-infamous Boyd Rice provide terrific commentary. Haven't you always wanted to read Boyd Rice interviewing Herschell Gordon Lewis about gore and direct mail marketing?

Although the book is a bit out-of-date now (published in 1986), it is still a valuable source of information on these brilliantly bizarre, and often ignored, movies. Everyone from fans to film scholars should check this one out.
7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
One of the best analyses of a frequently trivialized area of film 26. August 2006
Von A. Pavlicek - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch
It's been a year since I bought this book and read it; I still frequently go back to it. This is one of the best books on the subject of forgotten and low budget films, primarily exploitation. One of the key elements that makes this book stand out is that it does not view the films as a novelty or apply that so over used term "So bad their good." There's a real sincerity, respect, and intelligence regarding the subject, which is unfortunately rare. This book can see beyond the simple aesthetics, most of which are product of budget or lack there of, and get to the meat of what is significant and interesting about these films. The interviews and essays are interesting and intelligent, and the film list in back has yet to disappoint me. This book was able to articulate and intellectualize something I've felt ever since I saw Plan 9 from Outer Space when I was 11 and thought "I must get a copy of this." The Introduction alone is one of the best critiques of cinema I've come across, and I went to film school for two and a half years. A very valuable book in anyone's collection from a frequently fascinating source, Re/Search.
6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
required film school reading 26. Januar 2000
Von TJ Karstens - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch Verifizierter Kauf
As with all the Research Series books, Incredibly Strange Films lavishes the reader with little known information on a marginal subject with great detail. I originally received this book in 1986 and was immediately impressed with the exhaustive research of all our forgotten films as well as the profiles on directors such as H.G. Lewis. It also includes a helpful index (as far as I can remember) that will send you running for the video store. I haven't written a book on films but I know that you need not be a film buff or major to enjoy this book. The photos are reason enough to buy this book.If you don't believe me, just view the cover!
6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
No Better Guide to Strange Films 15. Januar 2003
Von Toby Levin - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch
This book is an excellent guide to the odd side to film. It really made me enthusiastic about low-budget, high-creativity films. Besides excellent interviews with strange film-makers, it has a great guide to the many genres of strange films and an even more amazing guide to strange film personalities. I recommend this book for anyone, whether a film enthusiast or not, as an excellent way to find good entertainment and great reading.
Waren diese Rezensionen hilfreich? Wir wollen von Ihnen hören.