Fashion Sale Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto calendarGirl Prime Photos Erste Wahl Learn More designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Lego Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,6 von 5 Sternen575
4,6 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:7,70 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 7. Januar 1999
This will be gilding the lily after all the other reviews, but if you could rate a book or series higher than five stars, I would -- the books in this series are in a category of their own! This book (and indeed the whole four-book series, so far) breaks the mold. Have you ever read several historical romances in a row and felt that they must have all subscribed to some "romance-writers' formula for plot development: perfect hero, perfect heroine, everybody stays clean and fresh no matter what happens, nothing too sad or bad happens, perfect endings every time?" Diana Gabaldon went totally outside the formula for a knock-your-socks-off continuing story of Jamie and Claire against a backdrop of history in Scotland, France, and the United States. If I hadn't already named my daughter Claire 20 years ago, I probably would after reading these books! And it's too late to name my son Jamie, but if he grows up to be like this Jamie, he'd be darn near perfect but human enough to be totally lovable. My only disappointment when I finished the fourth book was that the fifth one hasn't been written yet!!! But it's worth waiting for. You're probably thinking the praise is too extravagant to be believable -- I did when my sister told me about the series. But she challenged me, and I issue the same challenge to others, to tell me that after they've read the first book!
0Kommentar|6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. März 2000
I realize I'm going to be incredibly unpopular with my comments but... I could not finish this book because I thought the first 100 pages were too boring to want to continue. Maybe it got better, I will never know. I have to agree with the reader from Washington 3/20/00 and the reader from Ohio, 11/17/99. (I'd probably find myself agreeing with others but I don't want to read all 400+ reviews.) This is one of those books you either love or hate, From the reviews I read, I really don't think there's a middle ground. I did not like it one iota. This was my second time travel only because I loved "A Knight In Shining Armor" by Jude Deveraux and thought this one would be as wonderful.
0Kommentar|4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Januar 2006
Now isn’t that almost any woman’s dream – a handsome young Highlander? As Diana Galbadon writes on page 262: “A tall, straight-bodied, and by no means ill-favored young Highlander at close range is breath-taking.” Yes, that’s for sure – and Claire Randall has the luck to meet her Jamie traveling back in time from 1945 to 1743 after touching a boulder in an ancient Scottish stone circle.
“Outlander” surely isn’t your average historical romance. Galbadon creates some most memorable characters and her plot and sub-plots are strong. Most of all, her narrative voice is compelling, her writing style smooth and straight-forward.
Many people had recommended the first book of the “Outlander” saga that I was very excited to finally read it myself. Maybe my expectations had been too high because of all the praise, but it took me a long time to settle in the story even though the writing itself is superb. Later in the novel, I didn’t particularly care for the many explicit sex and violence scenes. Some of them felt too intense for my taste. All in all, “Outlander” is still an outstanding novel in the historical romance genre, so most readers will love it if they don’t mind graphic scenes.
0Kommentar|12 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Dezember 1999
Execrably bad. The heroine, of course, is smarter than everyone else, but predicatably goes all stupid when she meets the virginal (!) younger man. She's conveniently given plot information in a series of tedious expositional chunks before she goes back in time and then, amazingly, runs into *everyone* she needs to in order to be able to use this information.
I found it hard to believe that this woman would give up so quickly on trying to find a way back to her own time that she would marry and bed this other man partially because of just simple common sense and partially because these characters are so poorly written that nothing about them - even their "love affair" - rings true.
This book requires a suspension of disbelief that is beyond belief. I literally threw the book across the room when Claire, suspected by the Scots clan who has taken her in anyway, is put in charge of the medical care of *everyone* even though they have no idea who she is. Uh huh. "Sure, total stranger, give us medicine, we trust you." Puh-leeze.
This book rates only one star because it is obligatory; otherwise, such a poorly written, poorly plotted, bloated doorstop of a book would have received a 0 from me.
0Kommentar|10 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. März 2005
ein packendes buch, für lange winterabende. wer träumt nicht manchmal von zeitreisen?? es enthält alles was ein buch spannend macht. eine lovestory, herzschmerz und 'action'. action in sofern, dass die titelheldin viele abenteuer bestehen muss um mit ihrer großen liebe überleben und glücklich werden zu können. man legt das buch nicht mehr aus der hand und freut sich über die fortsetzungsbücher. gut in englisch zu lesen,wenn auch manchmal durch den schottischen dialekt etwas schwieriger. aber man kämpft sich durch. es lohnt sich!!
0Kommentar|19 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 26. November 2003
Ehrlich gesagt - die Synchronstimme von Julia Roberts bzw. Ally McBeal konnte ich mir nicht so recht als Verkörperung von Claire vorstellen, also griff ich neugierig zur amerikanischen Originalfassung.
Und wurde nicht enttäuscht, habe alles verstehen können und einen interessanten Einblick sowohl in die richtige Aussprache der Namen, als auch in das Schottisch von Jamie gewinnen können. Geraldine James hat hier wirklich eine Meisterleistung abgeliefert, denn ihr gelingt es auf wunderbare Weise, Claire zu verkörpern und ihr Wesen für mich genau zu treffen. Sprich: So habe ich sie mir vorstellt!
Jamie hat zwar - fast zwangsläufig bei einer weiblichen Sprecherin - nicht die tiefe Stimme, wie ich sie vielleicht beim Lesen der Romane im Ohr hatte, dafür aber konnte ich zum ersten Mal das schottische Element in ihm erfassen und einem wunderbar rollenden R lauschen (dessen wir Rheinländer ja bekanntlich nicht besonders mächtig sind *g*).
Natürlich musste das Buch Federn lassen und so wurde ein 800-Seiten-Schinken auf sechs CDs zusammengeschrumpft. Wer den Zauber des Buches also wirklich verstehen möchte, sollte zunächst die Lektüre wählen, wer jedoch die Stimmung noch einmal nachempfinden und vielleicht die ganze Geschichte aus einer anderen Perspektive erleben möchte, sollte unbedingt das Hörbuch ausprobieren.
Ein bisschen Übung im Hören englischer Texte sollte allerdings schon vorhanden sein, diese Fassung ist für Anfänger eher ungeeignet.
0Kommentar|23 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. April 2000
I am currently 2/3 of the way through what is my firstnovel in this genre. All things going well, it will also be mylast. My wife agreed to read some of "my" books, while I tackled the challenge of reading hers with a view to understanding the fairer sex better.
Well, I hate to disagree with 95% of the review here but this has been something less than a page turner- it has taken me atleast a couple of months to get this far.
I would see this book as being the female equivalent of looking through a naughty magazine, with our hero being a fine example of an almost unrealizable ideal. The big, strong, firey red-headed Scot, always ready to dive in and protect his fair maiden. Strong as an ox he is nonetheless warm and caring, and also a little naive in the way of women. He would, of course, be ready to fight to the death for our heroine. Fluent in Gaelic, English and French, he is also partial to quoting from Greek mythology (in ancient Greek, obviously). Yes! This is 18th century Scotland! I guess this is a case of a not so willing suspension of disbelief.
The story-line, while based on an interesting premise (blending mythology, history and fiction) is still quite repetitive. Boy meets girl. Girl gets in trouble. Boy rescues girl. They disagree, but make up "in the bedroom". Girl gets in trouble again. Boy rescues girl again. Repeat 4 or 5 times.
I did agree to read all books in this series but my consistent pleas of mercy have worn my wife down, so I'll just have to finish this one. I'll give one star for the benefit of the doubt - I'm not exactly the target audience. One star for the quite original idea behind the book and all the research that undoubtedly went into it. As for me, I'll stick to the likes of Salman Rushdie and Milan Kundera- I would recommend them for higly original and thought provoking fiction.
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. März 2001
I read the whole four Books in two weeks while I spent my time in aceap B&B somewhere in the Midlands. It was like I was scooped into the story and only got back into my time when i closed the last page of the last book. It was a dream of a journey, even if I only left the Inn in my imagination.
0Kommentar|11 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 3. November 2008
As an avid historical novels reader I am interested in potpourri of romance and historical adventure. So I mean that the story about Jamie Fraser, a Scottish warrior whose love for Claire Randall become legend, must not to be missed in the library of may own.

Diana Gaaldon weawes a powerful tale layered in history and myth. An incredible time-travel adventure full of unexpected detours and fine details that make the story highly intertaining. The beginning of Fraser romance heats up each page. Be prepared to stay up all night reading this impossible-to-put-down novel.

It began in Scotland at ancient stone circle. There, a doorway open to a select few, leads into the past. Claire found it quite by chance, when she innocently touches a boulder of one of the stones. Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, finding herself back in the middle of eighteenth century in a Scotland torn by war und raiding border clans. She was catapulted without warning into intrigues of lairds and soies and after all she met Jamie and fell in love with him.

Unforgetable romance and her characters. Well researched. Great fun to read. I loved every page.
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Mai 1999
Although I don't read many Romance books, I thouroughly enjoyed Outlander. The characters are well developed, the story doesn't drag at all. It seems that there is something happening on every page. Some people didn't like the torture scenes all that much (Including me, they're disturbing!) but I do feel that that adds a bit of realism to a story that we all know is pure fantasy. I'm about a 1/3 of the way through Drums of Autumn and finding that equally good. If it's historical fiction you're looking for, yes, Outlander is historical but basically a time-travel romance story. I'm liking Drums of Autumn a bit more because it is more historical but not as action-packed.
I recommend this book to anyone who's enjoyed sweeping historical sagas with a touch of romance and anyone who's liked some light fantasy type novels. The characters are well developed and I like that it's told in the first person. I've even dreamt about Jamie and Claire and know exactly what they'd look like.
This is really a good story and should be an enjoyable (although quick, I stayed up to all hours to read this in a few days) read!
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden