weddingedit Hier klicken muttertagvatertag Cloud Drive Photos Learn More HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle Sparpaket Autorip GC FS16

Kundenrezensionen

4,1 von 5 Sternen24
4,1 von 5 Sternen
Format: Kindle Edition|Ändern
Preis:9,99 €
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 28. Juni 2013
Don't get me wrong. I sympathize with Mrs. Klein.
Globalization is many times inhuman (or at least unfair), corporations obsess with profit at any cost, and they permanently elbow themselves into our attention spans via advertising. But...
What is this book's main message? It looked to me like a 500-pages long collection of marketing anecdotes. At some point I want to stop reading what Apple, Marlboro and Nike did back in 1986 and want to start reading some proposals for solutions. Or at least a clear criticism--the author's vision on the matter. No: it goes and goes, chapter after chapter, citing things that happened back when.... yawn. Very journalistic, but monotone.

Finally I reach a chapter titled "Reclaim the streets". Promising some call to action, maybe? Or some strategic ideas for a new generation of politicians? No. It turns out that it is only 11 pages long, and after them we are again reading about Monsanto, Disney, Wal-Mart, Mattel, Adidas, AT&T... yawn again.

In short:
this is a book titled "No Logo" that ends up being an incessant and somewhat insufferable parade of brands. It present facts, but it also makes very difficult for the reader to make a synthesis of it all. It is like when you go to a movie and there are so many characters and so many flashbacks, that you don't know what the movie is about anymore, up to a point in which you don't even want to eat your popcorn.
0Kommentar|4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Januar 2002
Whereas Greenpeace and Amnesty International have their roots in the 60's/70's generation, Klein describes the social-political phenomena of the 80's/90's generation. These "younsters" employ their creative strength in movements directed against multinational companies that try to sell out (and buy) humanity through brand names. Klein elaborates the tactics of these companies and the effects of hiring out labor to third world countries. She then describes the various initiatives and movements that have so far sprung up with more or less success and/or impact. Klein's issues are awareness of the phenomena and the need to gear up for more. She believes that what we see and experience today is only the tip of an iceberg.
Having lived in North America for 25 years (returned 2 years ago), I can attest to Klein's descriptions and assumptions. Watch out Europe, you are not quite as deep in those murky waters of branding and being sold, but the time is not far off that you will be - unless the signs are heeded and action be taken, if only on the individual level.
The book is a bit cumbersome with quite a few repetitions. That, however, should not be a deterrent considering that Klein's writing is a valuable resource for raising awareness of global commercial tactics.
0Kommentar|22 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Juli 2000
"What haunts me," confesses 29 year-old Canadian journalist Naomi Klein, " is a deep craving for release, escape, some kind of open-ended freedom." It is this sense of claustrophobia and impulse for liberation , in a culture where physical and mental space has been overrun by the voracious marketing frenzies of brand-name corporations that, No Logo, perhaps the first serious statement of the Seattle generation, expresses.
Klein's calm journalistic irony is a touchstone of sanity through the grotesque absurdities of the "new branded world" - the American schoolchildren who design Burger King adverts in lessons and eat lunch sponsored by Disney, the "street snitches" employed to inform on their friend's new clothing tastes for desperate corporate 'cool hunters' in some horribly comic hybrid of Stasi-style capitalism, through to the pinnacle of corporate transcendence; human branding, in the form of the ubiquitous Nike swoosh has now become the most sought after symbol in American tatto parlours. "I wake up in the morning and look down at the symbol. It reminds me what I have to do, which is 'Just Do It,'" says one 24 year old internet entrepreneur with a swooshed navel.
Yet, according to Klein, it is the emotionally intense relationships with consumers generated by lifestyle brands like Nike and Tommy Hilfiger that has sparked visceral anti-capitalism of the Seattle generation. Suffocated as consumers, many members of the cherished youth demographic have been discarded as workers, needed only as service sector temp fodder. Opinion polls in the US show that younger people have adopted 'survivalist' attitudes anathema to older generations. Yet just as this can ingrain a desire to be the next Bill Gates, it can also instil a militant dissonance with the values of corporate capitalism. As Klein points out, far from selling out, a significant proportion of the younger generation has simply not bought in. Disdained by the economy, this generation has been quite prepared to look along the webs spun by the global brands to the sweatshops of Indonesia and China, to the institutions which facilitate corporate dominance, and to target corporations directly as never before.
"You might not see things on the surface yet but underground, it's already on fire," says Indonesian writer, YB Mangunwijaya, at the beginning of No Logo. No Logo is a classic statement of the existential undercurrents of our age, the inchoate strands of a new resistance. Whether they can be forged into a coherent alternative remains to be seen.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. März 2000
The chapter that describes protest actions against McDonalds, Nike and Shell will leave you absolutedly outraged at the arrogance of multi-national corporations. Klein shows the disassociation between brands and manufacture of products has lead to hideous abuses of the environment, workers and freedom of speech, including outright corporate-sponsored murder to silence critics. After reading this book you will feel ashamed to wear clothing that displays brand names, ashamed to shop at branded stores and ashamed to eat at branded restaurants. You will understand why modern anarchists are attacking seeminly harmless franchise outlets. Klein shows that the price you are really paying for cheaper prices and convenience is your rights as a citizen in a democracy.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Mai 2000
Naomi Klein has written a well-researched, comprehensive overview of the New World Order, dominated by brands like Nike, Starbucks and McDonalds. Backed by detailed statistics as well as onsite reporting, she captures the essence of the pervasive brand-building pushed globally by the transnationals, including the very real human and environmental costs. What I really appreciated was her extensive coverage of the growing resistance to the "brand bullies" in so many different forms. I read most of this while in Washington DC recently protesting the IMF and World Bank (A16). As a long-time activist as well as historian, I strongly recommend this book to anyone interested in educating themselves about globalization-related issues.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. Januar 2002
Eine muss Lektüre auch für Gegner der Globabalisierungsgegner. Die deutschen Übersetzung ist schwer lesbar, da selbst Marketing Slogans übersetzt worden und diese natürlich auf Deutsch kaum verständlich sind.
0Kommentar|18 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Februar 2015
Ich hätte nicht gedacht, dass ein Buch so aktuell bleiben kann. Auch nach 10 Jahren ist dieses Buch ein spannendes und sehr gut zu lesendes Manifest des Markenwahns, und was dieser uns angetan hat. Das Buch und seine Thesen mögen polarisierend sein, aber für mich geht es um grundlegende Wahrheiten. Die Geschichte gibt Noami Klein recht! Dies wird auch für ihre neuen Bücher gelten!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Juli 2013
No Logo müssen einfach alle lesen, die sich für Marken und Markenbewusstsein und die Geschichte dieser Entwicklung interessieren. Es ist einfach geschrieben und super verständlich. An manchen Stellen des Buches wird man wirklich überrascht und fängt an, diese enormen Marketingentwicklungen zu verstehen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. März 2000
This book is the perfect combination of observation and research well blended to yield a readable text. While I find myself less aggressively anti-brand, I think the author is very fair in her assessment of current brand ubiquidom. I found her thoughts on how marketers utilize white fetization of the black gangster life and a inner city desire for extreme upper class sports such as sailing especially interesting.
This book is a must read for those interested in marketing and the current state of pop culture.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Januar 2000
If I where a bussinness person I would know that the dot.com cultural life that we are in is just a phase that sooner or later (3 to 7 years) will burn out and a newer, far more political based culture will seep in based upon youth driven idealism. If this book was written before the WTO protests it shows the author has a keen ear for the future. This book is a must read for the system defenders and critics.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)