fashionwintersale15 Hier klicken mrp_family Kalenderangebote Oktober2015 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Fire TV WintersGold Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle dvd XMAS


4,5 von 5 Sternen218
4,5 von 5 Sternen
Format: TaschenbuchÄndern
Preis:5,38 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung

Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 27. April 2000
This final installment of Asimov's classic Foundation trilogy contains all of the excitement and subterfuge of a well-played game of chess. Actually, in this book, you get two games for the price of one, since the book consists of two novellas detailing the search for the ellusive Second Foundation.
If you've read the first two books in the series, you know that there was a man named Seldon who had a plan to save our future society from a long cold winter of discontent. Then came along an unpredicted rogue element, the mysterious Mule, the perfect monkey wrench to foul up Seldon's works.
In the first novella of this book, the Mule uses his emotion-controlling abilities to search for the Second Foundation. This section is very tightly plotted and there are enough well placed zigs and zags along the way to keep you addictively turning the pages.
The second novella deals with the search by the First Foundation for its shadowy twin. Here Asimov introduces Arkadia Darell, a precocious 14-year old girl who has the ability to out-wit most of the adults around her. I only wish Asimov had spent more of the story with her, because I thought she was probably the most interesting character in the book, along with the Mule. The tightness of plotting in this second novella is probably twice that of the first. The suspense and tension just builds and builds until you don't think you can take it much more. If you're a slow reader, like I am, you'll find that the need to find out what happens will make you into a fast one.
I don't think "Second Foundation" is a perfect book, so I hesitate to give it five stars, but it definitely is a very good, very entertaining book. Having read the entire original trilogy now, I'd say most of the same strengths and weaknesses apply to all three books. Asimov is clearly a master of "the great idea". I love the whole concept of Psychohistory and the Seldon plan and the Seldon crises. He's an excellent story-teller in terms of knowing how to turn the tuning pegs of his plot until the strings are so tight that they sing every time a light breeze blows through.
I'd say Asimov's one weakness is in the writing of his characters. It's sort of ironic that in this trilogy all about the psychology of human motivation there would be relatively little psychological subtext to the characters. We never get to know many of the characters much more than from skin-level. I felt I never really identified with any of the characters in a truly human way.
I don't mean to be overly critical of this one aspect of the trilogy. I still think they're very very good books and in fact feel that Asimov's purpose was to draw attention away from the individual characters. As Seldon himself repeatedly says, there's no accounting for indiviudal behavior. I think Asimov knew that his strengths were in analyzing and commenting on humanity as a whole. He's brilliant at that, and his ideas and concepts are terrific. He paints on a wide enough canvas here that the dance of ideas he presents can be appreciated in much the same way that the fine dance of human emotion might be appreciated in the works of other great authors.
This trilogy is a must-read for any lover of science fiction, psychology, or great ideas. It's also good reading for any chess players out there.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
9 von 10 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 2. März 2000
First I should say that this is a great book. It is the second book in the Foundation Trilogy. And if you need some help on the order of the books, here tis : 1)Prelude to Foundation 2)Forward the Foundation 3)Foundation 4)Foundation and Empire 5)Second Foundation 6)Foundation's Edge 7) Foundation and Earth. #s 3,4, and 5 are the original trilogy. I have reviewed all of them. They're all good. This particular book has two parts. In the first part the Foundation is faced with the dying but still strong Galactic Empire, and in the second, more interesting part, they face the rising Mule. A few words bout him, he's not what or who you might think he is. The next sentence might be considered a spoiler, so choose to read it or not. The Mule is actually Bobo( this word only appears once in the book, and might be missed). Well, have fun reading!
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 31. Mai 2000
I thought the book was somewhat dull compared to the first "Foundation" novel, because there are no brilliant characters such as Salvor Hardin or Hober Mallow and no great accomplishments. The first part of the book about Foundation's struggle against the Empire is not impressive. The second part about the Mule was moving sort of slow until a brilliant ending. I was absolutely shocked at it and I thought that it was definitely worth reading the entire novel for the ending. In fact the emotion that I experienced must have been something like what people influenced by the Mule felt! I also realized I had a great affection for the Mule, it is fabulous that a person who is predicted to be a pathetic loser in life makes it beyond all expectations. I know that the Mule is supposed to be a bad guy, so now that I am reading "Second Foundation" I hope that its ending would not be overly dramatic for him.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 4. Juli 2000
Despite all the hype and negativity due to popularity backlash none can honestly admit that Asimov made a mundane focus for his writing passions when he wrote and then published the stories that comprise 'Foundation'. Since I read this epic book in eighth grade it has stuck with me due to the relation of structural decay and rebirth in a future universe that mirrors our own rather perochial existance. The serendipity and foresight combining thought and action to build a better future for mankind in the Milky Way galaxy will leave the experienced, educated readers feeling they have witnessed the true future of our reality. This is a truely brilliant effort of science fiction as are many of Asimov's early works. Shame on the nay sayers.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
Die Ära des Galaktischen Imperiums nähert sich ihrem Ende. Doch noch sind die Zeichen des Zefalls der alten Ordnung noch für wenige erkennbar. Von einem möglichen Niedergang der Herrschaft des Kaisers zu sprechen ist auf Trantor, dem Herzen des Imperiums, ohnehin verpönt. Doch der Psychohistoriker Hari Seldon hat die Zeichen der Zeit erkannt und plant auf das kommende Zeitalter der Barbarei und des Blutvergießens zu reagieren...

- Wenn antike Geschichte Science Fiction schreibt -

Was wäre wenn... sich menschliche Geschichte voraussagen ließe oder jemand den Untergang des weströmischen Imperiums erkannt und darauf reagiert hätte? Isaac Asimovs legendärer Foundation-Zyklus entstand durch die Eindrücke, welche der Autor aus Edward Gibbons "The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire" gewann. Und auch die Geschichte von Roms Untergang endet mit dem langsamen Zerfall des römischen Imperiums, dem Aufstieg der Barbaren, dem Verlust ganzer Regionen und endet schlussendlich im dunklen Mittelalter.

Die Antike als Inspirationsquelle für die Science Fiction ist ein ergiebiges Thema. Unter dem Titel 'Umwege in die Vergangenheit' hat sich die Innsbrucker Altphilologin Otta Wenskus vor einigen Jahren sogar des Beispiels Star Trek und die griechisch-römische Antike angenommen. Was sich in Star Trek teils auch offensichtlich niederschlug, etwa bei der Etablierung von entsprechenden Planeten togatragender Außerirdischer, liegt in anderen SciFi-Werken verborgener. So mag man beim Foundation-Zyklus auch Rom mit Trantor vergleichen und die letzten Kaiser mit Kindkaisern wie den Brüdern Honorius und Arcadius, doch der Bezug geht viel tiefer. Asimov erforscht in Foundation ein Szenario, wie sich ein dunkles Mittelalter nicht abwenden, doch verkürzen ließe. Wirkliche Science Fiction sind dabei die Methoden Hari Seldons, der Menschheitsgeschichte entlehnt jedoch das politisch-geschichtliche Geschehen rundum die Foundation.

- Foundation: Stiftung und Fundament -

Die doppelte Bedeutung des Wortes Foundation ist auch ein Element, das dem ursprünglichen Kurzgeschichten-Zyklus einen Teil seiner Faszination verleiht. Die Foundation ist eine Stiftung des Imperiums, doch tatsächlich nur eine Front hinter der sich das künftige Fundament eines neuen Imperiums verbergen soll.

Die Enzyklopädisten sind praktisch antike Schriftgelehrte, die wegen ihrer politischen Ansichten möglichst weit aus der Hauptstadt verbannt werden und während die Welt um sie zu Grund geht, haben sie in ihrem Besitz die Reste der alten Kultur bewahrt. Es ist sogar ihre Aufgabe gewesen, Altes zu bewahren und nun sind sie die letzten Vertreter eines goldeneren Zeitalters.

Das Schicksal der Enzyklopädisten erinnert ein wenig an das früher Klostergemeinschaften. Auch diese bewahrten die Schriftkundigkeit und antike Schriften. Nur durch sie und dank ihnen wurde eine Renaissance erst möglich. Dennoch sahen sich die mit Grundbesitz ausgestatteten kirchlichen Stiftungen auch immer wieder Anfeindungen und dem Begehren weltlicher Herrscher ausgesetzt, selbst wenn Kaiser des Heiligen Römischen Reichs als Schutzherren gelten mochten.

Die Foundation ist jedoch anders. Hari Seldon hat Wissenschaftler zusammengebracht und keine devoten Mönche. Die Gemeinschaft wächst und entwickelt sich entlang des großen Plans den die Psychohistoriker für sie projiziert hatten. Seldons Foundation lebt von der Wissenschaft und erhebt diese später auch zur dominanten Religion.

- Seldon-Krisen -

Foundation hat auch ein Schlagwort geprägt, mit dessen Hintergründen man sehr gut aus der Historik vertraut ist. Wichtige Ereignisse und Wenden werden in jedem Geschichtswerk gerne in das Zentrum eines Kapitels gerückt. Die großen Krisen eines Imperiums etwa. So auch in Foundation, wo es darum geht die von Seldon hervorgesehenen Krisen und Wendepunkte in der Geschichte der Foundation zu behandeln.

Der Prophet Seldon vermag zwar anfänglich noch immer zum rechten Zeitpunkt zu erscheinen und gewissermaßen eine Warnung auszusprechen, doch Asimov trägt der Realität hinter wissenschaftlichen Projektionen Rechnung und so erscheint Seldon in späteren Kapiteln sogar zu spät. Auch ist Hari Seldon trotz aller wissenschaftlicher Voraussicht nicht in der Lage seinen Erben genau vorherzusagen, wie sie eine Krise zu lösen haben. Er schildert ihnen lediglich die ungefähren Rahmenbedingungen, welche er und seine Zeitgenossen errechnet haben. Die Berechnung der Zukunft ist also eine Wissenschaft mit Schwankungsbreiten. Es wird erst in Foundation and Empire der Fall sein, dass Seldon sogar falsch liegen wird, weil unerwartete Einflüsse auftraten. Seldon als Prophet ist dennoch ein faszinierendes Kapitel für sich und unterstreicht Isaac Asimovs Bedeutung als Science Fiction-Autor.

- Zeitlosigkeit trotz Veraltung -

Der Zahn der Zeit ist auch an Foundation nicht vorbeigegangen. Zu Asimovs Lebzeiten noch zukunftsweisende Technologien wirken heute bereits veraltet. Die Atomenergie der Foundation wäre heute wohl eher Fusions-Energie und die gesamte Rückfall-Thematik (als die neuen Königreichen wieder mit Kohle und Öl zu arbeiten begannen) würde sich auch etwas anders gestalten (etwa der Verlust von Technologien wie Lithium-Ionen-Akkus). Aber auch die Schreibmaschine mit Spracheingabe wirkt heute heillos nach Steampunk. Genau das passiert eben, wenn Science Fiction in die Jahre kommt. Dennoch ist es die Idee die zählt und verständige Leser wissen Asimovs Überlegungen hinter all diesen Dingen zu schätzen.

- Ursprünglich ein Kurzgeschichtenzyklus -

Kritik an einem Science Fiction-Klassiker? Die gibt es natürlich. Doch entsteht diese oftmals auch dadurch, dass man über das Werk nicht eingehend informiert war und zugriff, weil es eben als Klassiker gilt.

So liegt manche Kritik an Foundation darin begründet, dass das Werk aus einer Reihe von Kurzgeschichten zusammengesetzt wurde, was mit sicher einleuchtenden Einschränkungen verbunden ist. Wenn Charakter nicht wie gewünscht tiefgründig erforscht werden, dann liegt das durchaus am ursprünglichen Medium. Wenn die Geschichten oft nur lose verbunden scheinen ist auch das ein Resultat der Verfassung als Kurzgeschichten. Auch manch stilistische Schwankungen, die sich "mit freien Augen" kaum wahrnehmen lassen, liegen in den unterschiedlichen Verfassungszeitpunkten der einzelnen Kapitel begründet. Vorwürfe gegenüber Autor oder Werk auf Basis der eben geschilderten Problemzonen liegen also zum Großteil auch in falschen Erwartungen enttäuschter Leser begründet.

- Von Trantor nach Coruscant: Asimovs Einfluss -

Ausgerechnet Asimovs Vergangenheitsbezug hat Foundation in meinen Augen zu einem zeitlosen Werk gemacht. Die von Asimov aufgegriffenen Themen und Aspekte menschlicher Geschichte haben in Form seines Werks vielleicht sogar mehr Menschen erreicht als die entsprechenden Geschichtsbücher. So ist nicht klar, ob sich mancher von Asimov oder der tatsächlichen Quelle hat inspirieren lassen.

Dinge, die Asimov schuf haben jedenfalls auch Jahrzehnte später noch großen Einfluss auf aktive Science Fiction-Geschichten. Wenn man in George Lucas Star Wars-Filmen immer wieder ein Deja-vu zu Foundation zu erleben glaubt ist das vielleicht nicht einmal weit hergeholt. Lucas Coruscant ist vom Namen her zwar eine Kreation des Autors Timothy Zahn, doch die Idee zum Stadtplaneten und Zentrum des Galaktischen Imperiums stammt wohl durchaus noch von Asimov. Ebenso ließe sich Tatooine als am weitesten vom Zentrum der Galaxis entfernter Planet mit Terminus gleichsetzen und auch dort wacht eine Foundation in Gestalt Obi-Wan Kenobis über die Zukunftshoffnung der Galaxis. Während eine zweite in Form von Lukes Schwester bestand. Selbst das Wiedererscheinen Obi-Wans als Machtgeist an entscheidenden Wendepunkten von Lukes Lebensgeschichte erinnert an die holografischen Botschaften Hari Seldons. In einem frühen Drehbuchentwurf hätte George Lucas sogar ein Galaktisches Imperium angedacht, das selbst bereits seit Jahrtausenden bestand, in dieser Version der Geschichte wäre der Imperator auch nicht böse, sondern nur desinteressiert gewesen und ein an Trantors geothermale Energiequellen erinnernder Abschnitt Coruscants hätte in Episode VI zum Ort des Showdowns werden können.

Augenfälliger ist allerdings die Konkurrenzstellung der von Asimov ersonnenen Encyclopedia Galactica zum Hitchhikers Guide of the Galaxy, in der dazugehörigen Buchreihe aus der Feder Douglas Noel Adams. Dieser nahm einen ganz anderen Aspekt von Foundation als Inspiration und schuf ebenfalls einen legendären Beitrag zur Science Fiction.

Die Enzyklopädie-Einträge an jedem Kapitalanfang haben seit Asimov zudem tiefe Wurzeln im Science Fiction-Genre geschlagen und auch wenn ihr Ursprung an gänzlich anderen Orten zu finden sein mag, durch Asimov hat dieses Stilmittel sicherlich den größten Bekanntheitsschub für seine Verbreitung erhalten.

- Resümee -

Eines der einflussreichten Science Fiction-Werke des 20. Jahrhunderts. Immer noch lesenswert, weil zeitlos und voller Inspiration versprechender Ideen. Eine Kurzgeschichtensammlung die man gelesen haben sollte.
22 KommentareWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 12. Juni 2000
OK, I admit it. I am totally incapable of writing an unbiased, objective review of this book, just as I am unable to say unbiased, objective things about my first girl friend. This was the first SF novel that I read (actually, I bought it for a friend and then read it before I gave it to him -- the beginning of a life-long nasty habit) when I was 14.
The scope of the story is breathtaking, the pace is good -- especially for Asimov who tended to be pretty wordy -- and the details engaging. Asimov wrote this as a series of connected stories for "Astounding" magazine, and this shows in the oddly repeated facts that allowed the 'zine readers to follow the plot even when they missed earlier stories. It also adds a certain pulpy flavor to the text, which I think works well. SF about grand civilizations that are galactic in scope doesn't need to -- and probably shouldn't -- sound like Great Fiction. I think the gritty, quick style of Asimov's pulp writing works well.
One of my favorite things about the whole "Foundation" series (you need to real all three of the originals, by the way, the newer ones are optional) is the way they presaged certain now-routine SF conventions. The most notable, of course, is the globe-encovering city/planet of Trantor, most recently replicated by George Lucas in "Star Wars: The Phantom Menace." (The less said about SW:TPM the better...)
You can also see in my signature above that Asimov has had other influences on me. Salvor Hardin was a character in this novel: a trader and an agent of the First Foundation.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 5. Juni 2000
A trilogy consists of three books so, even although "Foundation" (one of the true classics) is good enough to be a trilogy by itself, formally "Foundation" needed two more volumes to make up a trilogy. In these two volumes the level does not fall off too badly, although "the Mule" is rather weak.
Unfortunately Asimov, one of the truly greats of SF, later succumbed to undue pressure and combined his Robot-series (already in itself continued too long) with the Foundation, with outright embarrassing results. The original three books were quite enough, thank you!
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 20. Juni 2009
I rate the Foundation Series with 5 stars.

The Foundation series consists of the following books (in chronological order):

a) Prelude to Foundation
It is a prequel published in 1988. It explains how Hari Seldon traveled through Trantor and developed the basics about psychohistory. It is definitely not a good book, maybe the weakest in the Foundation series. If you want to read the Foundation books, I recommend you do not start with this one since you will probably end up not wanting to read the rest. Skip it and start with Foundation.

b) Forward the Foundation
Another prequel, published in 1993. The story starts a couple of years after "Prelude to Foundation" and tells about Hari Seldon's life in Trantor until his death. The book's quality is as good as, say, Foundation and Empire and much better than "Prelude to Foundation". The only downside is that Asimov seems a little constrained by what he had written before on the Foundation history (remember this is the last Foundation book he wrote) and is therefore somewhat focused on knotting the lose ends together.

c) Foundation
Published in 1951, this is the first Foundation novel published. It tells the story of the Foundation set up by Hari Seldon and how this Foundation deals with their stellar neighbors during its first 200 years of existence. It is a fascinating book.

d) Foundation & Empire
Published in 1952. It consists of two parts: the first one ("The General") tells about the conflict between the dying Empire and the Foundation that occurred about 200 years after the Foundation was created. The second ("The Mule") is the story of the Mule and how he upsets the whole Seldon Plan (approximately year 300). I think this is a very good book.

e) Second Foundation
Published in 1953. The Second Foundation tries to fight the Mule and to correct the deviations from the Seldon Plan. I think this book is as good as Foundation.

f) Foundation's Edge
Published in 1982. This book's story and narrative have a rhythm and a dynamic that possibly would make it the best book from the Foundation series, were it not for the last fifth of the book. The bad part starts with chapter 17, which contains a mix of 1980's New Age rubbish. Even worse, I had the impression Asimov tried to preach and proselytize. Besides that, it's actually a good story.

g) Foundation and Earth
Published in 1986. The story is good, yet somehow its rhythm is frequently interrupted as the story shifts from one planet to en next. Another positive aspect is that Asimov clearly does not take the New Age rubbish seriously anymore. In conclusion, this book is not as good as the original Foundation trilogy published in the 1950's nor as good as Foundation's Edge, but nevertheless it is an enjoyable read.

Notes on the Voyager and Bantam Spectra editions

I have the Voyager edition, an imprint of Harper Collins Publishers. This is not a good edition, since most of the Foundation books I've read so far have imperfections (e.g. a line printed twice, spelling errors, etc.) and the printing quality is rather cheap. In addition to that, as far as I know Harper Collins has not published "Forward the Foundation".

I have the Bantam Spectra Edition of "Forward the Foundation". The quality is satisfactory.

Assuming that the printing quality of the whole Foundation series edited by Bantam Spectra is as good as in "Forward the Foundation", I would recommend the Bantam Spectra edition. The only downside is that the the Voyager books have prettier book covers.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
Foundation is the story of one man's attempt to positively influence human history beyond the grave for centuries to come. Set far in the future, Hari Seldon's goal is to shorten an impending period of Dark Ages from tens of thousands of years to one thousand years. To do so, he creates an organizational entity, the Foundation, and maneuvers to create circumstances so that the Foundation will recreate the Galactic Empire amid a blossoming of science and technology.

This book is the first in a series that will keep you happily reading for days. In Foundation, the stage is set for the problem, and you will begin to understand the plan that Seldon has employed by examining the first 150 years after the Foundation is established.

The book is built around four crises (Seldon Crises) that shape the potential of the First Foundation to fulfill its goal. In the first crisis, the Foundation is viewed as being a traitorous activity by the political authorities. Seldon explains that his purpose is to create an encyclopedia to encompass all current knowledge before it is lost. The crisis is survived when he agrees to take the project into exile on a planet with few natural resources at the far edge of the galaxy.

Fifty years later, that fledgling is threatened by its powerful neighbors who have greater resources and military power. The Emperor can no longer protect the Foundation. Thirty years after that, another attempt to militarily capture the Foundation occurs. Another seventy years later, a fourth crisis occurs when remnants of the Empire start funneling advanced weapons to planets at the edge of galaxy that oppose the Foundation.

Each crisis is overcome with a different approach, by a different leader. And the Foundation continues to develop towards its eventual form.

These crises are much like a good mystery story. You know there's been a crime that needs to be solved, but you haven't quite figured out how yet. Because there are four crises, you get to enjoy that problem-solving experience four times in one book! Pretty neat!

The Foundation's advantage in all of these crises is that it has advanced knowledge and has applied it, while the rest of the Empire is losing knowledge. Pretty soon, things are falling apart technically for those outside the Foundation. The key technology is built around atomic power (as it appeared it would developed in the 1950s).

Reviewing Foundation is a challenging task. This book has become a science fiction classic, yet many will see little value in it because the science fiction perspectives and forecasts about science are dated. The book has to be read in the context of the books that follow to be fully understood and appreciated, but how does that help the person who has just finished Foundation? Isaac Asimov used a most unusual style in the book, as though you are a historian uncovering bits of primary and secondary sources concerning a long ago period in time (that occurs in our future). That either makes the book more authentic (if you like that) or annoying (if you don't).

At bottom, these contrasts require the reviewer to attempt to capture for the potential reader what makes this book an enduring classic.

First, Foundation squarely asks a fundamental question: How should knowledge be built, maintained, and used for the benefit of all? A subset of that question is: What are the appropriate uses of knowledge? These are questions that we do not wrestle with nearly enough today. Many people enjoy thinking about these questions, and welcome their introduction by this book.

Second, Foundation suggests that progress is faster with the benefit of planning that takes into account human nature. Seldon's discipline is the reliable behavior of large groups of people (psycho-history). Those who like to plan and those that do not will equally enjoy Asimov's scenario for making his point that we should build from our understanding of human behavior. You can debate the point and have lots of fun forever, based on what is here.

Third, many social thinkers have been inspired by the Foundation concept to structure their own changes. Nonviolent political movements match the Foundation concept in many ways, for example. This book gives you a lens to consider many of the global agencies that have been created by international organizations.

Fourth, what should be the relationship between knowledge and power? Usually, they are united. But the Foundation posits a world in which they can be divided, and that division could have some benefits. A current example would be the unharnessed knowledge of the Internet. No government will probably succeed in trying to hold dominion over it.

Science fiction has long played a useful role in helping society to examine its most important scientific questions in advance. Then the concepts that seem useful become the early paradigms of scientific and social progress. In the case of Foundation, that paradigm here is applied to social progress primarily . . . not scientific progress. So think of this as a book about the science fiction of governing.

Foundation suggests a world where knowledge has more power than today, and is also more effective at curbing harmful exercises of power than currently. That shining ideal, I believe, is at bottom the key to understanding Foundation's lasting and broad appeal.

Whether you like, love, are indifferent to, or hate Foundation, I suggest you read the initial trilogy before making up your mind about this book. Much of the genius of Foundation (the first book) isn't apparent to most readers until the trilogy is read and grasped.

One word of caution: Asimov wrote lots of one-draft wonder books, and was certainly not a great craftsman in his writing. Look past that writing quality to the conceptual brilliance of the picture he is painting.

After you have finished the trilogy, ask yourself the question of how you can make knowledge more effective in promoting human moral and economic progress. I think you will find that to be an intriguing question well worth the attention you give to it. And you can think of Foundation to remind you of the question.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
Ultimately, the hardest decision about the Foundation books is to decide how to read them. Maybe I'm being ridiculous, but I think you will enjoy them more if you read them in the order they were written. If so, this is the second book. If you have not yet read Foundation, then you need to go back and do so before tackling this one.

Your other choice is to read the prequels first, then go onto Foundation. In that case, this is the fourth book you should read.

Whichever choice you make, don't read this book first.

On the surface, Foundation and Empire will seem like an uninspired playing out of Hari Seldon's vision for the future. Ah! But there's much more happening, so pay attention. When you get to the end of the book, you may find you have missed the mainstream and will have to go back. Don't worry, almost everyone has that reaction.

Asimov is a brilliant conceptual writer, but not someone who slaved over every word (in fact, he was famous for writing most of his many books in only 1 or 2 drafts, with little editing after that). This book begins to develop the full Foundation concept in all of its stunning beauty.

In many ways, you will be reading this book from the eyes of the first Foundation. But that's the unimportant one. The real action is with the second Foundation. Be sure to keep that in mind.

When you meet the Mule, don't think of him as an aberration but rather as an extension of today's potential. That will make the book more interesting for you.

Many people find this book to be the least interesting one of the Foundation series. Let me warn you that reading this one will greatly increase your pleasure in the following books beginning with the Second Foundation (which is your next pleasant reading assignment).

Enjoy this irresistible series!
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Kunden, die diesen Artikel angesehen haben, haben auch angesehen
Foundation Trilogy (Everyman's Library (Alfred A. Knopf, Inc.))
Foundation Trilogy (Everyman's Library (Alfred A. Knopf, Inc.)) von Isaac Asimov (Gebundene Ausgabe - 29. Oktober 2010)
EUR 14,95

The Complete Robot (Robot Series)
The Complete Robot (Robot Series) von Isaac Asimov (Taschenbuch - 15. Dezember 1983)
EUR 11,95