Fashion Sale Hier klicken Strandspielzeug calendarGirl Cloud Drive Photos Sony Learn More Bauknecht Kühl-Gefrier-Kombination A+++ Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Lego Summer Sale 16


Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel

Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 28. Juli 2000
Dan Boyne's writing about sculling reminds me very much of his coaching. On the water as in prose, Dan Boyne never drills you with a particular rowing style. He is one of thse few coaches which adapt themselves to the rower, instead of coercing a particular style. I don't mean to imply that anything goes. Fundamentals such as correct body posture are well stressed, on the water and in the book. But for more experienced scullers, his approach to coaching is more holistic and synthetic instead of a deconstructive and analytic. Synthesizing the techniques outlined in the book, the sculler is motivated to the next level of performance. This book is great for beginners and experienced scullers alike, and especially for scullers intent on progressing in a sport which requires much practice, dedication, and expert coaching.
0Kommentar|4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. Juli 2000
Daniel J. Boyne's "Essential Sculling" is required reading for any rower -- beginner or advanced -- who is serious about sculling well and building upon success. This book offers a much needed, user-friendly and detailed program for cumulative excellence in the sport, as well as important information on rigging, equipment and cross-training. Boyne's presentation is engaging and informative, and his incorporate side-bars address many of the sport's cognate issues.
This is simply a book no sculler should be without.
Christopher D.H. Row, Ph.D. -- Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Februar 2010
Mit diesem leicht lesbaren Büchlein hat Daniel Boyne ein sehr motivierendes und absolut klar verständliches Basiswerk über das Rudern im Allgemeinen und das Scullen (in jeder Hand ein Löffel) im Speziellen geschaffen. Überall schimmert seine breite und tiefe Erfahrung als Ruderer, Trainer und Coach zwischen den Zeilen und lässt trotz kristallklarer Aussagen zur Vermeidung grundlegender Fehler im Boot und auch im "Trockentraining" genug Spielraum für eine individuelle Ausprägung eigener Ambitionen und eigenen Ruderstils. Selbst eine sachlich begründete neutrale Abwägung der Vor- und Nachteile von Holz-/Hightechfaserbooten und Hackebeilchen vs klassisches Maconblatt bleibt er nicht schuldig.

Neben der stufenweise aufbauenden Erläuterung der Komplexität der Bewegungsabläufe beim Rudern werden Grundlagen vernünftigen Trainings und Cross-Trainings dargelegt sowie alle nötigen Basisinformationen zum Rudergerät (Maße, Einstellungen, Fehlermöglichkeiten an Boot und Sculls) und dessen Handhabung und Pflege erläutert. Ein Buch, das ich dem ambitionierten Ruderer ebenso wie dem interessierten Laien wärmstens empfehlen kann. Wer dann genug Inspiration für die höheren Weihen des Ruderns als Hochleistungssport verspürt, sollte mit Volker Noltes Rowing Faster weiterarbeiten.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Juni 2000
Boyne writes clearly and succinctly on all aspects of sculling.
In a most illuminating way, he covers everything from the disciplines of form and motion (and mind) to the most technical matters regarding pitch, rigging and all manner of equipment. And yet this is not an intimidatingly thick tome. Nor does it feel like a manual. I see it as the Strunk & White of sculling--a pithy volume that answers all your questions and then some.
Boyne has a gift for explaining the nuts-n-bolts of rowing, but he is just as illuminating when addressing the more abstract and intangible aspects of the sport.
The drawings by Ellen Kennelly are also very helpful and well done.
I would reccommend this book to any level of sculler and any athlete.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Mai 2012
I do not know of any book on sports that treats its matter which such seriousness without ever becoming grave. In a prose where every word tells, Boyne writes elegantly and full of humour. Clearly, his book is the synthesis of half a life of teaching sculling. It provides beginners with everything they need to take their first steps while advanced scullers will find useful and at times wise advice to get better. Essential reading for every sculler or anyone who wants to find his way into this fascinating activity.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Juni 2000
I have been searching for a new book about sculling for the past two years. Finally, Boyne has delivered a non-esoteric readable book which is easy to understand and a joy to read. I went out on the water today and was immediately able to test out some of his advice. While I don't expect to win the Head of the Charles next year, I am looking forward to a much smoother stroke.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Oktober 2014
Das Büchlein ist sehr anschaulich und unterhaltsam geschrieben, es ist kein trockenes "Lehrbuch" wie z.B. Altenburg et al. Wie der Titel schon sagt, ist das Zielpublikum eher Anfänger und Fortgeschritten, aber auch später kann man sich den einen oder anderen Tipp abholen. Es werden viele Bereiche des Ruderns abgedeckt: sowohl Rudertechnik als auch die "Hardware". Für mich eine rundum gelungene Einführung zum Thema Rudern - vorausgesetzt man scheut sich nicht, mit englischen Fachbegriffen konfrontiert zu werden
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Juli 2012
Like a friendly wise old coach, this text accompanies my weekly sculling drills.
I was teached rowing six years ago only. My self-teaching has come to a new and very detailed level since I read this text (I am continously reading it) Some of the advices are repeated like mantras in my mind. Exactly like a rowing cycle. Excellent text! I love it.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen