In weniger als einer Minute können Sie mit dem Lesen von The Cursed Temple (An Ennin Mystery) (The Ennin Mysteries... auf Ihrem Kindle beginnen. Sie haben noch keinen Kindle? Hier kaufen oder mit einer unserer kostenlosen Kindle Lese-Apps sofort zu lesen anfangen.
ODER
mit Kindle Unlimited Abonnement

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

 
 
 
Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen  selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät  mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.
Der Artikel ist in folgender Variante leider nicht verfügbar
Keine Abbildung vorhanden für
Farbe:
Keine Abbildung vorhanden

 

The Cursed Temple (An Ennin Mystery) (The Ennin Mysteries Book 1) (English Edition) [Kindle Edition]

Ben Stevens

Kindle-Preis: EUR 0,00 Einschließlich kostenlose internationale drahtlose Lieferung über Amazon Whispernet
 
Kindle Unlimited Leihen Sie diesen Titel kostenfrei aus, und Sie erhalten mit dem Kindle Unlimited Abonnement unbegrenzten Zugriff auf über 650.000 Kindle eBooks. Erfahren Sie mehr



Produktbeschreibungen

Kurzbeschreibung

*** The Ennin Mysteries: Collected Series 1 - 5 (25 Stories) MEGAPACK *** NOW AVAILABLE



Ennin - the 'Sherlock Holmes' of Japan's feudal era - makes his debut appearance in this story, assisted by his faithful servant (and narrator) Kukai.



Two Buddhist monks at a remote temple have been found dead, the same horrific expression on both their faces. Ennin is summoned to investigate - which is when he then discovers a series of ancient 'riddles', hidden around the temple. But what secret do these riddles ultimately relate to - and is there any connection to the mysterious deaths of the two monks...?



This story is available as part of THE ENNIN MYSTERIES: COLLECTED STORIES 1-5



Other Ennin Mysteries are available.



'...I have become a big fan of Ben Stevens. He writes extremely well...' Lloyd Tackitt, bestselling author of A DISTANT EDEN and EDEN'S WARRIORS. (Amazon US ***** review for THE WHISTLER: A MURDERER'S TALE.)



Amazon reviews for ENNIN (various titles)



'...Once you start this, I'm betting you won't be able to set it down until you finish it...' Judy



'...A fascinating crime-mystery book... The author weaves intrigue, subterfuge and cunning into a very enjoyable story...' J. Cepeda



'...In the tradition of Holmes and Watson, transferred to Japan... Historical setting and cultural background are excellently researched...' D. Werdin



'...Wonderful... Like a Japanese room arrangement with clean lines keeping clutter to a minimum...' AcerAcer



'...This Japanese detective is a fine addition to the burgeoning field of Asian historical detectives which began with Judge Dee (China) and runs through I.P. Parker's Akitada...' Mcb.



'...If you like the Akitada books, you will enjoy this....' Mamakile



'...The Sensei is a brilliant detective. Ben Stevens, as always rocks. He's one heck of a storyteller...' Lisa



'...Atmosphere, poetry and menace... Conan Doyle-ish...' ThisandThat



'...A feudal Japanese Sherlock Holmes... This ever-evolving excellent series... Vivid imagery and graphic detail which are a trademark of this writer...' Deborah Chaytor



'...Try it... and like it... I don't look for mysteries from the middle ages, even ones set in Japan, but for some reason I love this series... Well-written...' Amazon Customer



'...The story develops wonderfully...' Dave. N



'...Loved it!... Simply amazed... I thoroughly enjoyed this read...' Edwina Callan



'... Cleverly written and filled with facts regarding old Japan.... Very similar to Holmes and Watson...' Eileen Sedgwick



'...Good job. Very enjoyable...' Sid



'... If you like the Akitada books, you will enjoy this...' Mamakile



'... I loved this... Very finely written...' MaidenStull



'...A prime example of deductive reasoning, set within feudal Japan...' Jennifer



'...Ennin and his faithful servant are the Holmes and Watson of the East. The mysteries are well plotted. Sesshu is the Moriarty of the piece. If you are a Sherlock fan you should like Ennin...' Amazon Customer, NJ United States



'...I hope to see more of these types of stories...' Kris Patterson



'...The mysteries are intriguing and unusual... Couldn't put the stories down... Well worth the price...' Jay Gold



'...Good book... the story takes you back in time...' Santex



'...Delightful short story... Enjoy!...' PeaTee (TOP 500 REVIEWER)



'...Atmospheric, intriguing and entertaining... feels as if it is both contemporary and traditional. A rare achievement...' Kenny51



'...Interesting... I enjoyed the puzzles set...' Pixie



'... I will keep ordering these as these are the kind of stories I like...' Ralph A. Lanham



'...I have become a big fan of Ben Stevens. He writes extremely well...' Lloyd Tackitt, bestselling author of A DISTANT EDEN and EDEN'S WARRIORS. (AMAZON US ***** review for THE WHISTLER.)

Produktinformation

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Dateigröße: 703 KB
  • Seitenzahl der Print-Ausgabe: 49 Seiten
  • Verlag: Nanbanjin; Auflage: 1 (4. Juni 2013)
  • Verkauf durch: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • ASIN: B00D7C4IEM
  • Text-to-Speech (Vorlesemodus): Aktiviert
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Nicht aktiviert
  • Amazon Bestseller-Rang: #5.077 Kostenfrei in Kindle-Shop (Siehe Top 100 - Kostenfrei in Kindle-Shop)

  •  Ist der Verkauf dieses Produkts für Sie nicht akzeptabel?

Mehr über den Autor

Entdecken Sie Bücher, lesen Sie über Autoren und mehr

Welche anderen Artikel kaufen Kunden, nachdem sie diesen Artikel angesehen haben?


Kundenrezensionen

Es gibt noch keine Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.de
5 Sterne
4 Sterne
3 Sterne
2 Sterne
1 Sterne
Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 von 5 Sternen  3 Rezensionen
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Once you start this, I'm betting you won't be able to set it down until you finish it. 13. Juni 2013
Von AcerAcer - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verifizierter Kauf
I was actually looking for a new Sherlock Holmes pastiche to read when I came across this title. I didn't quite know what to expect when I purchased the book, but it certainly sounded interesting -- plus, it was free at the time. It has since reverted to costing money, but I assure you, it's more than worth the 99 cent price. It was a wonderful surprise and a most exciting discovery for me.

"The Ennin Mysteries: The Cursed Temple" is, as the book description says, a novel about the 'Sherlock Holmes' of Japan's feudal era. Ennin, renowned throughout Japan for his legendary powers of deduction, is clearly a Holmes-like figure and Kukai, his faithful servant (who narrates the adventure) is very similar to Watson, who never quite understands what his companion is up to, but follows him faithfully nonetheless. Without being any kind of copy, this story reads very much like a Holmes pastiche. Holmes fans will immediately recognize elements of "The Adventure of The Devil's Foot" just from the official book description, but this is a completely original story that takes on a vibrant life of its own.

Six months separate the incidents, but two Buddhist monks at the same provincial temple have been found dead with expressions of terror and revulsion on their faces. Although the area is quite remote, Ennin and his servant happen to be staying at a local inn at the time of the second death, and are called in to investigate why the two monks should have died in such an appalling manner. While investigating the deaths, Ennin notices various riddles scattered around the temple. The monks have always mistakenly believed that these riddles are koans, but Ennin realizes that the riddles actually have practical applications. When he ties the true purpose of the riddles to the deaths of the two monks, his life and the life of Kukai come into deadly danger, because the murderer has been trying to interpret the riddles as well, though solely for his own twisted purposes.

The author lives in Japan. He has actually lived and worked in a feudal Japanese temple. (See Buddha's Breakfast: Adventures at a 16th Century Japanese Temple). Whether you're interested in elements of life in feudal Japan, in Buddhism, or just want a really good murder mystery to while away an hour or two, here's the book for you. After you read it, spend some time at the author's amazon page. He has written an amazing variety of books, all well worth a look.

Excitingly, "The Cursed Temple" is just the first book in a new series. I am very much looking forward to the next one.
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Short and sweet 29. März 2014
Von Ralph A. Lanham - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verifizierter Kauf
I like these old style mysteries. You can finish it in one reading very enjoyable and since itis short I had no problem keeping up with the cast of the story.
0 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen More of a longish short story 20. Oktober 2013
Von ThisandThat - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verifizierter Kauf
Very straightforward mystery, sort of Conan Doyl-ish, through the eyes of the Watson-like companion. For something with more atmosphere, poetry, and menace, try The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell.
Waren diese Rezensionen hilfreich?   Wir wollen von Ihnen hören.

Kunden diskutieren

Das Forum zu diesem Produkt
Diskussion Antworten Jüngster Beitrag
Noch keine Diskussionen

Fragen stellen, Meinungen austauschen, Einblicke gewinnen
Neue Diskussion starten
Thema:
Erster Beitrag:
Eingabe des Log-ins
 

Kundendiskussionen durchsuchen
Alle Amazon-Diskussionen durchsuchen
   


Ähnliche Artikel finden