Fashion Sale Hier klicken Kinderfahrzeuge calendarGirl Cloud Drive Photos Sony Learn More sommer2016 HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Lego NYNY

Kundenrezensionen

3,7 von 5 Sternen55
3,7 von 5 Sternen
Format: Kindle Edition|Ändern
Preis:5,59 €
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 12. Februar 2002
Spätestens seit die "Säulen der Erde" ist auch Ken Follet in den Olymp der Bestsellerautoren emporgestiegen. Sein neustes Werk belegt in eindrucksvoller Weise, dass er zu Recht zu den bekanntesten und erfolgreichsten Schriftstellern unserer Zeit gehört. Seine Gabe, sich in unterschiedlichsten Millieus gleich einem Fisch im Wasser zu bewegen, manifestiert sich auch in "Code to zero", einem Agententhriller, der zur Zeit des kalten Krieges spielt. Vom ersten Kapitel an spannt Follet sein Netz aus Liebe, Hass und Intrigen immer dichter, so dass der Leser bis zuletzt auf den Ausgang des Buches gespannt bleiben muss. Follets Fachwissen über Raketenbau, Spionageaktivitäten und die 40er/50er Jahre machen es dem Leser einfach sich in diese Zeit versetzt zu fühlen, auch wenn man sie nicht persönlich erlebt hat. Alles in allem ein bis zuletzt spannendes Buch, was sich sprachlich auch für den Kenner der englischen Sprache ohne universitären Abschluss anbietet.
0Kommentar|22 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. September 2005
He wakes up in the men's room at Union Station. He can not remember who he is or how he got there. One shocking look in the mirror tells him he is a bum however he can not believe it. Now he must find out who he is. Watch answer leads him in a different direction and we are intrigued to find more about what let to this situation.
The only positive thing I can say about the story is that it is the standard Follett formula. Not quit the stature of "Eye of the needle" but better than the Follett wantobes . This is more like a Colombo episode in which we know the answer long before the characters and read to see how long it takes them to catch up with us. There are a few surprising details that pop up at the last minute. Do not look too close at real life dates and technology as many things do not match; however they do not distract from the story.
Mainly there are three elements that are intertwined through the story. One is the present (1958) where Luke has to figure out who he is and what he is doing on an urgent time schedule. The second is a detailed layman's description of how the first rockets were designed in 1958. The third is a story of a group that met in Harvard just before Pearl Harbor and went through the equivalent of the OSS together and where they ended up to the present day.
Try to find a copy of George Guidall's unabridged recorded reading as it adds a good dimension to the story and will keep you hooked to the end. I used up some predacious gasoline listing to this in the parking lot.
Once you start the story you will have to finish it. Then you may wish it did not finish so soon.
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Februar 2009
Das Buch hat alles, was ein "archäologischer" Thriller haben muss...Artefakte, abenteuerliche Wissenschaftler...eine klasse Story und vor allem eine gute Idee dahinter...
Spannung findet man mühelos auf jeder Seite...
das einzige, was meinen Lesegenuss trübt, ist das Ende...hier wird es wirklich selbst meiner actionliebenden Lesenatur ein wenig Too Much...hier wäre weniger mehr gewesen, aber da es für den Rest des Buches durchaus 5 Sterne geben könnte bleiben hier ohne schlechtes Gewissen noch 4 übrig.
Keine Scheu ein Buch von diesem Herrn Pavlou zu kaufen, er entschädigt mit Acion und Spannung!
0Kommentar|4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Warning: Many people who start to read this book will not be able to put it down. As a result, you may miss some sleep unless you start reading early in the day. I stayed up until 2:17 a.m. to finish it.

The story opens with an unforgettable scene. A man awakens on the floor of a men's rest room in Union Station in Washington, D.C. He has a terrible headache and no memory of who he is. He finds that he is dressed like a street person, and a man awakening in another part of the rest room tells him that he passed out from too much drink.

The story evolves from there at solving three questions. First, who is he? Second, how did he lose his memory? Third, how can he avert the potential harm that led him to lose his memory?

The story takes place primarily in 1958 as the United States was about to launch its first satellite, Explorer I. Flashbacks take the action back as far as 1941, when many of the characters were students together at Harvard University.

When people ask me about a novel, there are a certain set of predictable questions that I get. As I thought about this book, I realized that it had something for almost everyone. My wife always asks me if it's a love story. Well, this one certainly qualifies as it builds the emotional relationships between two of the leading characters over 27 years.

The next question is whether it is a fast read or not. This one also qualifies, because you are pulled along by the action.

After that, someone always asks me if the story is like any other stories they might have read. Well, this one has echoes of The Manchurian Candidate (about mind control and induced memory loss), the best Cold War spy novels of Le Carre (with agents, double agents, and double crosses), the unrelenting action of The Day of the Jackel (charging from one crisis to another), and many elements from Love Story (irresistible attraction being overcome by events).

I find that the truly successful and popular novels always add some important factual knowledge for the reader, that forever changes the reader's perception of the world. This book contains many wonderful details about the technology behind Explorer I that I would have loved to have known before. You will find these gems in a brief paragraph that precedes each little section in the book (divisions in time are denoted this way). It also is mind-opening in its development of the problem how someone would find out who they are if they lost their memory and had no resources.

So why didn't I say that this book was a five star or higher book? Well, it suffers from very poor editing and proofreading. Every few pages, there is an appalling mistake that takes you completely out of the story while you focus on the mistake. Let me give you a few examples that most people would have caught. (1) The epilogue talks about Apollo 11 landing on the Moon and proudly proclaims that the year is 1968 in large bold type at the top of the page. Oops! Can people so soon have forgotten that it was 1969? Very sloppy. (2) The story makes a great fuss about how one of the characters will get into a house in Alabama. Then, another character mysteriously has a key when you would expect that there was no possibility of him having a key to the house. I was all ready for how he would break into the house, or how he would locate a hidden key. It was a big letdown when he used a key that shouldn't have been there. (3) One of the characters drives around in a Ford model that didn't come along for another two decades or so. And there was no reason for Mr. Follett to even tell us what model it was. This is pure sloppiness. I could go on.

My advice to the reader is to simply expect lots of little mistakes, and to try to ignore them.

My advice to Mr. Follett is that he correct the worst of these errors before the next printing of what is sure to be a top selling book for some time to come.

Other readers who are not so generous will also quibble with using a public event that obviously turned out historically in a certain way as the backdrop for the novel. I must admit that the story would have been more interesting if I did not know that the satellite would successfully launch.

Perhaps the story could have been made into a science fiction story where someone was trying to be sure that history stayed the same, along the lines of many Star Trek novels. That would have reminded readers of even more stories they have read before. Personally, I think that would have been a mere gimmick.

Perhaps the only reasonable alternative would have been to focus around a future event of significance, like the first use of high speed engines capable of approaching light speed. But that would have meant I would never have learned all of the interesting details about Explorer I. All in all, I'm satisfied with the choice of using this event for this story.

Following up on this story, I have an idea for you to consider. Imagine yourself pursuing an adventure in which you were shabbily dressed and had no money, no credit cards, no cellular telephone, and no assistance. How would you conduct yourself to get the resources you need and have fun doing it?

Always be on the lookout for the right stuff!
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Januar 2006
He wakes up in the men's room at Union Station. He can not remember who he is or how he got there. One shocking look in the mirror tells him he is a bum however he can not believe it. Now he must find out who he is. Watch answer leads him in a different direction and we are intrigued to find more about what let to this situation.
The only positive thing I can say about the story is that it is the standard Follett formula. Not quit the stature of "Eye of the needle" but better than the Follett wantobes . This is more like a Colombo episode in which we know the answer long before the characters and read to see how long it takes them to catch up with us. There are a few surprising details that pop up at the last minute. Do not look too close at real life dates and technology as many things do not match; however they do not distract from the story.
Mainly there are three elements that are intertwined through the story. One is the present (1958) where Luke has to figure out who he is and what he is doing on an urgent time schedule. The second is a detailed layman's description of how the first rockets were designed in 1958. The third is a story of a group that met in Harvard just before Pearl Harbor and went through the equivalent of the OSS together and where they ended up to the present day.
Try to find a copy of George Guidall's unabridged recorded reading as it adds a good dimension to the story and will keep you hooked to the end. I used up some predacious gasoline listing to this in the parking lot.
Once you start the story you will have to finish it. Then you may wish it did not finish so soon.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. August 2001
... der neue Roman von Ken Follett. Leicht zu lesen, spannend, schön rechechiert... alles was man braucht für ein paar nette Leseabende. Aber Follett schafft es wieder einmal nicht, an die psychologische Tiefe der Charaktere von "Die Nadel" zu kommen. Außerdem ähneln sich seine Romane vom Aufbau immer dermaßen, das man nach dem Lesen einiger seiner Bücher eigentlich nur noch déjà-vus erlebt...
0Kommentar|6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. Juli 2002
Was ich an Ken Follett wirklich bewundere, ist seine Vielseitigkeit. Seine Bücher bewegen sich in vielen verschiedenen Genres und bei diesem hat er sich mal wieder in die Spionagewelt vorgewagt. In seiner ihm eigenen Art erzählt er eine spannende und fesselnde Geschichte, die einen immer wieder verblüfft.
Unbedingt empfehlenswert!!
0Kommentar|6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. Oktober 2007
After a while of not reading anything at all, it was about time to get into books again. Having a coupon from a survey that was worth 5 Euros, I ordered "Code to Zero" randomly b/c it would have such good recommendations which pretty much sounded like a must-read. As I started reading I found the beginning kinda weird but having read the first 50 pages, I was enthralled thoroughly and I wouldn't stop reading until I my eyes were too exhausted to keep it going. Despite being a slow-reader I got to finish the book in less than two weeks. It comes with lots of tension, it's very exciting to read and it has some unexpected turning points that you would have never been able to foresee.

As it contains some explicit sexual parts I wouldn't recommend it for underaged persons ;-)

Concluding I'd read it anytime again and I sure will someday :) The only thing that I found annoying were the itallic written preambles which you'll find at the beginning of every chapter. Sooner or later I started skipping them because mostly they are fairly unexciting.

Way to go Mr Follett!
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Juli 2001
Dieses neuste seiner Bücher steht seiner bekannteren Werken (bis auf "Die Säulen der Erde") nicht nach. Es ist eine weiterer leicht und spannend zu lesender Roman, dem auch wieder die guten Recherchen zu gute kommen. Denn wie auch zuvor hat man das Gefühl, dass sein Autor sich tiefgründig in die Materie eingearbeitet hat.Denn so ist eine Geschichte entstannden, die das Thema "Kalter Krieg" auch den Nichtzeitgenossen näher bringt. Aber nicht nur die Sachinformationen machen das Werk leseneswert, sondern auch gerade das Miterleben, wie der Protagonist eine Chanche bekommt sein Leben nocheinmal selbst in die Hand zu nehmen und alte Fehler zu vergessen. Besonders in Bezug zu seiner Beziehung zu seiner alten, "neuen" Liebe, die eine neue Chanche erhalten soll.
0Kommentar|4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. November 2014
Als eigentlich großer Fan von Ken Follett kann ich diesem Buch nicht sehr viel abgewinnen. Es leidet etwas darunter, dass die
Fülle des recherchierten Materials um jeden Preis auch aufgeschreiben werden musste. Dadurch wird das ganze etwas faktenlastig ohne dass man wirklich Zusammenhänge dargestellt bekommt. Die Lebensgeschichten, mit denen wir konfrontiert werden, sind alle an wesentlichen Stellen mindestens unwahrscheinlich und oft auch unglaubwürdig. Wie immer bei Follett, liest sich seine Sprache gut aber hier gerät alles zu sehr in die Nähe der Schnulze.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

7,69 €