Möchten Sie verkaufen?
Zur Rückseite klappen Zur Vorderseite klappen
Anhören Wird wiedergegeben... Angehalten   Sie hören eine Probe der Audible-Audioausgabe.
Weitere Informationen
Dieses Bild anzeigen

Carl Nielsen (20th Century Composers) (Englisch) Taschenbuch – 22. Mai 1997

Alle Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Amazon-Preis Neu ab Gebraucht ab
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 69,96 EUR 48,83
6 neu ab EUR 69,96 7 gebraucht ab EUR 48,83

Hinweise und Aktionen

  • Sparpaket: 3 Hörbücher für 33 EUR: Entdecken Sie unsere vielseitige Auswahl an reduzierten Hörbüchern und erhalten Sie 3 Hörbücher Ihrer Wahl für 33 EUR. Klicken Sie hier, um direkt zur Aktion zu gelangen.

Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen — selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät — mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.


Mehr über den Autor

Entdecken Sie Bücher, lesen Sie über Autoren und mehr



Carl Nielsen (1865-1931) is one of those composers who tend to be a late discovery on the part of lovers of classical music. Yet he need not be an acquired taste; this is powerful, well-written music, fashioned on a classical, rather than romantic, base, and every bit as accessible as his better-known and more popular Scandinavian contemporary, Jean Sibelius. Nielsen is Denmark's one great claim to compositional fame, and in this new biography Jack Lawson traces his rise from impoverished farm boy to a dominant musical figure in the life of his country, and of Europe, not to mention to the position of one of the greatest symphony writers of all time. This is one of Phaidon's 20th-Century Composers series, and as such strives to make its subject as accessible as possible to the music lover who is not necessarily a music expert.


'The ideal introduction to a still under-appreciated composer.' (Hi-Fi News) 'Fascinating and fastidiously researched.' (The Scotsman) 'The photographs are among the book's greatest assets, since they are both well chosen and excellently reproduced. The accompanying descriptions are tastefully written, factual and informative.' (Classical Music) 'As a series, Phaidon's 20th Century Composers has brought remarkable variety and a welter of information, both necessary and delightfully trivial. Intended both for the general reader and for the more enthusiatically musical...' (The Scotsman)


Es gibt noch keine Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.de
5 Sterne
4 Sterne
3 Sterne
2 Sterne
1 Sterne

Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 Rezension
3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
A bit bland. 12. Januar 2009
Von Steven Schwartz - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch
If you know nothing about Danish composer Carl Nielsen's music, this is not the place to start. Hear something first. Most composers don't lead especially interesting lives. We are interested mainly in their music. I'd start with the Helios Overture. If it intrigues you, go on to other pieces, like the symphonies, and only then if you want to know about the man, start here. It's as good a place as any. Lawson has the advantage of a dearth of biographies on this composer, due in large measure to the family's refusal to release many of the composer's papers. A Nielsen fan of forty years, I knew most of this stuff. The big revelations had to do with his marriage, which suffered strains. You can read all about it. Other than that, it's mainly a recital of Nielsen's career, and you can get most of the essentials from an encyclopedia article. The best thing about the book, as far as I'm concerned, is its handsome production. The photos of Nielsen the boy, which face the title page, are absolutely extraordinary.
Ist diese Rezension hilfreich? Wir wollen von Ihnen hören.