In weniger als einer Minute können Sie mit dem Lesen von Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End auf Ihrem Kindle beginnen. Sie haben noch keinen Kindle? Hier kaufen oder mit einer unserer kostenlosen Kindle Lese-Apps sofort zu lesen anfangen.

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

 
 
 

Kostenlos testen

Jetzt kostenlos reinlesen

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

Der Artikel ist in folgender Variante leider nicht verfügbar
Keine Abbildung vorhanden für
Farbe:
Keine Abbildung vorhanden

 

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End (The Midwife Trilogy) [Kindle Edition]

Jennifer Worth

Kindle-Preis: EUR 3,82 Inkl. MwSt. und kostenloser drahtloser Lieferung über Amazon Whispernet

Kostenlose Kindle-Leseanwendung Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen  selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät  mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.

Geben Sie Ihre E-Mail-Adresse oder Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Weitere Ausgaben

Amazon-Preis Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition EUR 3,82  
Gebundene Ausgabe --  
Taschenbuch EUR 9,30  
Audio CD, Gekürzte Ausgabe, Audiobook, CD EUR 17,54  


Produktbeschreibungen

Pressestimmen

'compelling' TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT 'we are introduced to a host of colourful East End characters and the heartrending tragedies that befell so many of them... a great read' FAMILY HISTORY MONTHLY 'a fascinating and valuable insight into the cultural history of an area and people that is now barely recognisable... uncompromising and gripping... life affirming.' NURSING STANDARD

Kurzbeschreibung

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.


Produktinformation


Mehr über den Autor

Entdecken Sie Bücher, lesen Sie über Autoren und mehr

Welche anderen Artikel kaufen Kunden, nachdem sie diesen Artikel angesehen haben?


Kundenrezensionen

Es gibt noch keine Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.de
5 Sterne
4 Sterne
3 Sterne
2 Sterne
1 Sterne
Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.7 von 5 Sternen  624 Rezensionen
63 von 64 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Farewell to the East End 26. September 2012
Von Afternoon Attic Reader - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Taschenbuch
This memoir, much like the first in this trilogy, includes midwife and nurse's stories from London's East End. Many of the stories in this volume are arranged to highlight certain health issues of the day (twins/triplets, infanticide, tuberculosis, abortion), and include accompanying statistics and historical information. It is also worth noting that some of the stories included are of a bit more seedy nature than those included in the first two volumes, but I felt they were tastefully presented and the people therein were depicted with dignity. Happily, the last few chapters let you know what happened to all the nurses and nuns that you have come to know throughout the three volumes in this series. Wonderful series!
42 von 43 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Another great Jennifer Worth story 7. Oktober 2012
Von Carolyn Rollings - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verifizierter Kauf
This book follows on from the first one 'Call the Midwife' and is just as fascinating to read. I was sorry to come to the end of the book and wished that it had been longer. As I was born in 1940, the 1950's time frame of these books was relevant to me although I grew up in Australia, not London. We did have our fair share of midwifery problems I suppose, but few would have compared with the wives and mothers of the East End just after the war. Living sometimes in the most abject poverty in unhealthy and unsanitary conditions these women excelled. Being in the time when the man of the family never got involved with 'women's issues' these women, sometimes with ten or more children living in just two or three rooms with no inside plumbing or cooking facilities would help each other. In time of crisis neighbour would help neighbour, mother would help daughter. I recommend this book, especially if you can relate to the era, as it brings home just how folk lived in the East End of London. The close-knit community spirit was destroyed once the area was demolished and the inhabitants re-housed in other areas further away.
34 von 35 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen I finished the trilogy wanting more! 6. September 2012
Von Elizabeth - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verifizierter Kauf
I finished the last book in the series like I was farewelling old friends. The character development is a work of genius and I loved each one of them I was reduced to tears and uplifted and inspired at other times. Loved these books.Not only was I enthralled by Jenny's stpory but she taught me much historical background and laws that I was unaware of. Inspirational work.
14 von 16 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen LOVE IT 4. Juni 2013
Von Trudy goetting - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Taschenbuch|Verifizierter Kauf
I saw the whole series on TV, and now want to read the books.

I am a nurse and worked in the ER at Cook County Hospital

in Chicago and Infant Welfare in a housing project.in

Chicago during the 1950's. i could really relate to the story.

It is a heart warming story of caring and dedication to work

in places of need and difficulty. Yet, very rewarding to get to

know about the heart and souls of all people.
7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The final volume just as good. 6. Juli 2013
Von Amazon Customer - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verifizierter Kauf
I was looking forward to Jennifer Worth's final work on her time as a nurse midwife in London in the 1950's. I was not disappointed. Her stories of the effects of TB, illegal abortion, and the difficulties of daily life for women proves again that truth is stranger than fiction. The entire series is an important record and reflection on a time hopefully in the past. I know these books made me grateful that , as a woman, I live in the 21st century.
Waren diese Rezensionen hilfreich?   Wir wollen von Ihnen hören.

Kunden diskutieren

Das Forum zu diesem Produkt
Diskussion Antworten Jüngster Beitrag
Noch keine Diskussionen

Fragen stellen, Meinungen austauschen, Einblicke gewinnen
Neue Diskussion starten
Thema:
Erster Beitrag:
Eingabe des Log-ins
 

Kundendiskussionen durchsuchen
Alle Amazon-Diskussionen durchsuchen
   


Ähnliche Artikel finden