Fashion Sale Hier klicken b2s Cloud Drive Photos Erste Wahl Learn More saison Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,5 von 5 Sternen
111
4,5 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:7,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 5. März 2014
I own this book for years and I have read it three times. Despite the fact that not all information about black hole are up to date others topics have little or not changed so far, so it's still worth reading simply because of how a genius like Stephen Hawking thinks about the universe and how it's created and how the universe might end up. These questions are not answered directly by hawking of course but you get a pretty good notion of how all in the universe is connected with each other in some way.

Hawking picks up some theories of some very famous physicians like Einstein or Newton and make a discussion about them. One of the main theories Hawking sometimes refers to when he explains his own theories about black holes for example is the relativity-theory of Einstein. Black-Holes are still very mysterious and the way we perceive them now has changed since this book was published too but nevertheless the theme black-holes seem to answer a lot of questions about many other mysteriousnesses like how the universe might have begun and how it's likely to end because the condition within a black-hole can be compared to the beginning of the universe.

Result: I can recommend this book to everyone that topics like black-holes, singularity, atoms, electrons e.t.c. means a number of things to, but to others that may want to read something about Hawking and have not gained any knowledge about astronomy this book might be a too strong tobacco.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Februar 2000
Most people know that Hawking is a brilliant physicist, but after reading this book, one develops a respect for his other talents as well. Most noticeable is Stephen Hawking's ability to make very complicated ideas seem quite clear through good explanations, clear comparisons to real life events, and a soft humor. The organization of chapers mostly follows a chronological order, which gives a sense of history from Aristotle to present day, yet also establishes concepts in an order that builds on itself. One also realizes that A Brief History of Time was written by a writer, not a scientist who happened to put ideas to paper. This makes a big difference in the enjoyment of a book, since good information in a dry, dull form can be difficult to read (remember trying to keep your eyes open while reading a dull textbook in a subject of interest?). On the other hand, interesting information presented in an interesting manner make A Brief History of Time as much of a 'page-turner' as physics can be.
In summary, a fountain of information from galaxies and black holes to quantum mechanics presented in such a way that is not only as easy to understand as it can be, but is an enjoyable experience to read.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. November 2002
A most interesting book. Hawking envites the reader to look in the universe in its most deepst way: though physics. Though the book is not specially easy to read, Hawking managed to describe the most important achievements of modern physics in a very short and compact book. For anyone that is inerested in physics a must have ! His brilliant mind makes complex topics from physics such as quantum mechanics and relativity quite understandable. All without a single mathematical formula ! He discusses every topic only in its physical meaning rather than through mathematics. Also for people interested in philosophy, a reference for understanding how modern science "sees" the universive in its very essence, from the beginning to its end. If you want some answers for such questions like: what is time ? What is Space ? When was beginning ? Is time travel possible ?
What is the fate of the universe ? This is the book for you.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. April 2015
This book is easy to understand and explains the world in a very comprehensible way. Even my mother, who does not know much about physics, could easy follow the thoughts of Stephen Hawking. A magnificent scientist!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. September 2015
Es erklärt auf einfache Weise, durch verschiedene Analogien, wie genau das Universum funktioniert. Dabei geht es auf die kleinsten Elementarteilchen (die verschiedenen Quarks) ein, ohne zu verwirrend zu werden. Es gibt einen sehr guten Einblick auf die Funktionsweise des Universums, erklärt diese doch nicht auf einem tieferem level. Doch da dieses Buch nur als Einleitung benutzt werden soll, erfüllt es seinen Zweck sehr gut.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. April 2003
Es gelingt Stephen Hawking in diesem Buch aktuelle Themen der Teilchenphysik und Astronomie mit einfachen Beispielen und viel Humor zu veranschaulichen. Gegenüber der ersten Ausgabe enthält diese viele Illustrationen, die es dem Leser erleichtern das Erklärte zu verstehen und zu visualisieren.
Alle wesentlichen Erkenntnisse der modernen Physik werden beleuchtet. Dabei wird sowohl auf Einsteins Relativitätatheorie, schwarze Löcher, als auch auf die Möglichkeit von Zeitreisen eingegangen. Trotz der Komplexität dieser Themen gelingt es Hawking alles sehr wissenschaftlich, aber denoch verständlich zu beschreiben. Diese Gradwanderung ist es, die dieses Buch wohl so einmalig macht und zu einem der meist gelesensten Bücher unserer Zeit.
Ich kann dieses Buch jedem wärmstens empfehlen, der sich für Physik und Astronomie interessiert oder sich schon immer gefragt hat, wie unser kleiner Planet wohl entstanden sein könnte (im Gegensatz zur Bibel).
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. Dezember 2003
Stephen Hakings schafft es einem das Universum in einfachen Worten näher zu bringen. Dieses Buch stillt den Durst nach Wissen über die Hintergründe unserer Existens. Hawkings schafft es dennoch ohne Formeln (mal von E=MC^2 abgesehen) zurecht zu kommen. Das Buch befasst sich von Aristoteles Auffassung des Universums bishin zu Theorien des späten 20ten Jahrhunderts.
Das Buch liest sich sehr leicht (da Hawkings immer wieder lustige Kommentare einfügt) und man ist immer wieder erstaunt über das was man liest. Ich denke dieses Buch war SEHR gut investiertes Geld. Aber der Erfolg des Buches spricht wohl für sich selbst: es hielt sich 237 Wochen in der Bestsellerliste der Sunday Times. Nathan Myhrvold von Microsoft stellte fest, dass von Hawkings Büchern über Physik mehr verkauft wurden als von Madonnas Büchern über Sex.
0Kommentar| 11 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Mai 2000
A Brief History of Time was first recommended to me this summer as a preface to my cosmology course that I am taking this year as a senior in High School. I am also in the midst of my second year of high school Physics. I just finished A Brief History on my third attempt to read it. The first time I only made it to chapter 2; the second time, I made it to about 6, but this time I finally made it through all 11. Hawking is one of the greatest physicists and cosmologists of the late 20th century, and that much is evident in reading his book. Hawking discusses topics of black holes, time travel, the history of the universe, and the large-scale structure of the cosmos. Although Hawking gives a very thourough and informative picture of modern day cosmology and physics, he often gives a slightly TOO complete picture. He also tends to jump right into many of the topics with little or no introduction, leaving the reader lost behind. Hawking's book is a great explanation of the cosmos as we see it today. However, this book is by no means for the faint of heart. Also, I would not recommend this book to anyone without a signifigant knowledge of general physics and cosmology. However, if you're ready for a thick read, jump right in!
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Juli 2000
This is the second time I have read this book.
The first time I read it was when it was first released in the eighties... the updated 10th anniversary version is pretty much the same thing with some added discussion on string theory... basically more revised.
First of all, the book is not easy to read... especially for those who cannot clear their minds of everything to focus on what is being read. Without a clear mind you will be lost... it takes common sense, good logic and quiet surroundings to successfully read the book in its entirety.
Second, the topics covered are well laid out... from relativity, to quantum mechanics, to the cosmos, to string theory... and even a chapter discussing our existence and how God fits in the picture. All in all, every chapter builds on the next very well, and the visual/"plain English" descriptions blend well with the scientific terminology.
Third, the chapter on string theory (which was recently added) left me feeling a little hungry for more... although it describes what string theory is, I felt a lacking of completeness... probably due to the fact that this is a newer field in theoretical physics.
If you are interested in theoretical physics at all, and wish to understand Einstein's theories of relativity and how the fit with quantum mechanics, then this is the book to start with. After having read this book you will feel the urge to get some other books discussing quantum mechanics, space-time warpings, string theory, wormholes, and black holes.
Believe me... theoretical physics is a very interesting subject that has been developed over many years by brilliant minds... those who are able to open their minds to what the cosmos and the universe have to show can certainly achieve understanding... and perhaps question things further.
Enjoy!
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Januar 2002
I really do like the idea to address such an exciting subject to non mathematicians. The choice of topics is well balanced and gives you an interesting introduction into the modern view of our universe. In particular the introduction of sometimes contradictory models explain how physics works-the evolution of ideas. I personally admire one who admits errors in the course of his scientific career, as Hawking does. However despite the lack of any formula the book is not easy to understand. In contrary some formulas would help--at least the lengthy way of writing numbers (one million million million million million million million - a 1 with 42 zeros) does not increase the readability. I'm still looking for a book presenting formulas but explaining them and pointing out the consequences. Nevertheless I enjoyed reading "a brief history of time" and will now turn to "the universe in a nutshell". For all who have strong interest in topics such as relativity, quantum mechanics and space-time but are not willing to study mathematics this book definitely is an excellent starting point.
0Kommentar| 7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden