Big Stone Gap und über 1,5 Millionen weitere Bücher verfügbar für Amazon Kindle. Erfahren Sie mehr
Möchten Sie verkaufen?
Zur Rückseite klappen Zur Vorderseite klappen
Anhören Wird wiedergegeben... Angehalten   Sie hören eine Probe der Audible-Audioausgabe.
Weitere Informationen
Dieses Bild anzeigen

Big Stone Gap (Englisch) Taschenbuch – 1. Januar 2003


Alle 29 Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Amazon-Preis Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
"Bitte wiederholen"
Taschenbuch, 1. Januar 2003
EUR 14,81 EUR 0,59
CD-ROM
"Bitte wiederholen"
3 neu ab EUR 14,81 18 gebraucht ab EUR 0,59
Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen — selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät — mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.


Produktinformation

  • Taschenbuch: 320 Seiten
  • Verlag: Fawcett; Auflage: Reprint (1. Januar 2003)
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • ISBN-10: 0345459202
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345459206
  • Größe und/oder Gewicht: 17,5 x 10,7 x 2,2 cm
  • Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung: 3.7 von 5 Sternen  Alle Rezensionen anzeigen (51 Kundenrezensionen)
  • Amazon Bestseller-Rang: Nr. 2.191.251 in Fremdsprachige Bücher (Siehe Top 100 in Fremdsprachige Bücher)

Mehr über den Autor

Entdecken Sie Bücher, lesen Sie über Autoren und mehr

Produktbeschreibungen

Amazon.de

In the town of Big Stone Gap, Virginia, not much happens. The highlight of 35-year-old Ave Maria Mulligan's week comes on Friday, with the arrival of the Bookmobile, the sight of which sends her into raptures. Her favourite book concerns the ancient Chinese art of reading faces. Through her face-readings, we come to understand the hostilities simmering within her family: her father whose small eyes are the clear "sign of a deceptive nature" and her aunt who "has a small head and thin lips. (That's a terrible combination)". Adriana Trigiani's first novel concerns the family scandals that befall Ave Maria in this seemingly uneventful town. Greed, lust, envy--all the ancient emotional elements--manifest themselves even in this hamlet of "ordinary folk". Fans of Fannie Flagg or Rebecca Wells will enjoy this down-home tale, full of small, everyday details and colloquial revelations. The writing is often awkward, but so too are the characters who inhabit this place: the Bookmobile lady who thinks of herself as the sexiest woman alive; the amateur actors in the local Outdoor Drama who bristle with ambition when they hear that Elizabeth Taylor is coming to visit. In Big Stone Gap, her visit is so anticipated, it's like she's an angel sent from heaven. --Ellen Williams, Amazon.com. -- Dieser Text bezieht sich auf eine vergriffene oder nicht verfügbare Ausgabe dieses Titels.

Pressestimmen

“Delightfully quirky . . . Chock full of engaging, oddball characters and unexpected plot twists.”
People (Book of the Week)

“AS COMFORTING AS A MUG OF CHAMOMILE TEA ON A RAINY SUNDAY.”
The New York Times Book Review

“CHARMING . . . READERS WOULD DO WELL TO FALL INTO THE NEAREST EASY CHAIR AND SAVOR THE STORY.”
USA Today

Welche anderen Artikel kaufen Kunden, nachdem sie diesen Artikel angesehen haben?


In diesem Buch (Mehr dazu)
Nach einer anderen Ausgabe dieses Buches suchen.
Einleitungssatz
This will be a good weekend for reading. Lesen Sie die erste Seite
Mehr entdecken
Wortanzeiger
Ausgewählte Seiten ansehen
Buchdeckel | Copyright | Auszug
Hier reinlesen und suchen:

Kundenrezensionen

Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich Von Ein Kunde am 6. Juli 2000
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe
Although I didn't find this a really bad book, I'm absolutely astonished by the critical attention it has received in venues ranging from People magazine to the New York Times. The book does have well-wrought dialogue which sounds as real, conversational, and cliché-filled as most ordinary conversations really are. The scenarios are easy to imagine, and the brief descriptions succeed in anchoring the action.
As a depiction of rural life, however, the book does not have the abundance of artfully selected details that make Big Stone Gap come alive as a place different from every other town in rural America. As a result, the book lacks the warmth and vibrance of setting that one takes for granted in novels by Lee Smith, Jon Hassler, and Lois-Ann Yamanaka, for example. As a first novel, it also lacks the earnestness and fervor one finds in many other first novels, a sense that the author has revised, revised, and revised again to find just the right word to convey an idea, something one does find in first novels by Kiran Desai, Charles Fraser, and David Guterson.
Many of the characters are stereotypes: the aging Italian playboy with movie star good looks, the handsome miner with a heart of gold, the unkind cheerleader who gets her comeuppance by becoming pregnant by mistake, the poor, fat girl who conquers all and shows everyone in the end, the "town spinster" who finds love, etc. Most frustratingly, the writing style consists almost entirely of simple, short, declarative sentences containing few words of more than two syllables and making the reader long for a sentence of more than twenty words. I wonder if Random House ever did a test for readability level here-the book's "Fog Index" comes out to between 5th and 6th grade.
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback. Wenn diese Rezension unangemessen ist, informieren Sie uns bitte darüber.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich Von Barbara Gunther am 28. Juli 2000
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe
I really enjoyed this book because it allowed one to view the people indiginous to this region as more than toothless illiterates. (I live in a fairly "cultural" town an hour from Big Stone Gap.) It took me over 25 years to get over the Appalachian stereotypes (hey, I'm a suburban Detroit girl but I lived isolated in the mountains for 17 years.) Frankly, Adriana Trigiani glamorizes these folks - my experiences were MUCH different than hers. However, this book pleased me because her affection for these people is most touching and it's how I've come to feel. People are more than their "twangy" accents or improper grammar. I loved the book - it was such a good escape. But I think WIN'S review is one of the most accurate. I would have given the book 3 stars according to literary achievement. But my heart gave it 5 stars because it touched those deep chords of familiarity within. And truly, the Elizabeth Taylor choking incident did occur but it was a rather ho-hum daytime event - again Trigiani's attempt to "gussy up" reality. One of my best friends was a reporter at the time and saw the whole sorry thing: Ms. Taylor - an always gracious woman - was quite a bit more rotund at the time and she was literally inhaling the chicken behind the scenes. It was one of Big Stone Gap's biggest happenings. But that's the way we like it in Appalachia: Keep the "happenings" to a minimum and just enjoy the beauty of the environment and the genuineness of the people. And yeah, we still wave at each other when we pass in our cars - whether BMW's or old pickup trucks.
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback. Wenn diese Rezension unangemessen ist, informieren Sie uns bitte darüber.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe
Business is slack in Big Stone Gap, a tiny mining town in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, near the foothills of Tennessee. So, Fleeta in the local greasy spoon rewrites her recipe-card box of five years standing. Here is one entry. With it, Trigiani sets the scene for her delightful visit and memories of her own home town.
'Skin your possum. Place in a large pot and boil 'til tender. Add salt and pepper to taste. Make gravy with broth and add 4 tablespoons flour and a cup of milk. Cook until thick. Save a foot to sop gravy.
Reading this, Trigiani's protagonist Ave Maris Mulligan ponders what to do with the other three feet. She is a witty thirty-five year-old, not yet 'murried'. She owns the local drug store taht apparently has a net value of one dollar. Being pharmacist creates access to the town's secrets. Not that anyone gossips in Big Stone.
We first meet her taking advantage of the Wise County Bookmobile's weekly visit, as it lumbers down the mountain road. She learns from a book how to read faces and starts observing and analyzing the populace.
Then Elizabeth Tayor and her politician husband decend on Big Stone Gap. Elizabeth books the deluxe suite at the Trail Motel. 'Boy is she in for a surprise,' says Ave Maria. Based on an actual happening in 1978, the visit is hilarious. A bizarre football game precedes a dinner that boasts a program printed on lavender paper 'compliments of the Dollar General Store.' Liz ends up in Hospital, the culprit: Fried Chicken.
Although author Adriana Trigiani grew up in this drab location, she now lives in New York, a successful producer and playeright. This novel revisits choice hometown characters, and her experiences there directing local plays that led her to a wider horizon of opportunity.
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback. Wenn diese Rezension unangemessen ist, informieren Sie uns bitte darüber.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen

Die neuesten Kundenrezensionen