In weniger als einer Minute können Sie mit dem Lesen von Arabian Sands (Penguin Classics) auf Ihrem Kindle beginnen. Sie haben noch keinen Kindle? Hier kaufen oder mit einer unserer kostenlosen Kindle Lese-Apps sofort zu lesen anfangen.

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

 
 
 

Kostenlos testen

Jetzt kostenlos reinlesen

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

Der Artikel ist in folgender Variante leider nicht verfügbar
Keine Abbildung vorhanden für
Farbe:
Keine Abbildung vorhanden
 

Arabian Sands (Penguin Classics) [Kindle Edition]

Wilfred Thesiger , Rory Stewart
4.5 von 5 Sternen  Alle Rezensionen anzeigen (8 Kundenrezensionen)

Kindle-Preis: EUR 9,49 Inkl. MwSt. und kostenloser drahtloser Lieferung über Amazon Whispernet

Kostenlose Kindle-Leseanwendung Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen  selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät  mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.

Geben Sie Ihre E-Mail-Adresse oder Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Weitere Ausgaben

Amazon-Preis Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition EUR 9,49  
Gebundene Ausgabe --  
Taschenbuch EUR 12,95  

Kunden, die diesen Artikel gekauft haben, kauften auch

Seite von Zum Anfang
Diese Einkaufsfunktion wird weiterhin Artikel laden. Um aus diesem Karussell zu navigieren, benutzen Sie bitte Ihre Überschrift-Tastenkombination, um zur nächsten oder vorherigen Überschrift zu navigieren.

Produktbeschreibungen

Pressestimmen

"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, [Arabian Sands] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia."
-The Daily Telegraph, London

"The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life."
-The Sunday Times, London

Pressestimmen

"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, ["Arabian Sands"] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia."
-"The Daily Telegraph", London

"The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life."
-"The Sunday Times", London

Produktinformation


Mehr über den Autor

Entdecken Sie Bücher, lesen Sie über Autoren und mehr

Kundenrezensionen

4.5 von 5 Sternen
4.5 von 5 Sternen
Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Arabian Sands 1. August 2008
Von Kopf
Format:Taschenbuch
In Arabian Sands Wilfred Thesiger describes his crossing of the Empty Quater (1946-48), the largest sand desert in the world, located in Yemen, Saudi Arabia, UAE and Oman. He travelled their by foot, with a small band of Bedouins. They were exposed not only to extrem physical hardship, but also to several warring tribes who declared to kill the "infidel" in their country. It is difficult to understand how someone can find pleasure in such a journey.

Wilfred Thesiger himself recounted his motives as followed, "For me, exploration was a personal venture. I did not go to the Arabian desert to collect plants nor to make a map; such things were incidental. At heart I knew that to write or even to talk of my travels was to tarnish the achievement. I went there to find peace in the hardship of desert travel and the company of desert people. I set myself a goal on these journeys, and, although the goal itself was unimportant, its attainment had to be worth every effort and sacrifice[...] Everyone knew that there was nothing to be found on the top of Everest, but even in this materialistic age few people asked, "What point is there in climbing Everest? What good will it do anyone when they get there" They recognized that even today there are experiences that do not need to be justified in terms of material profit. No, it is not the goal but the way there that matters, and the harder the way the more worth while the journey. Who, after all, would dispute that it is more satisfying to climb to the top of a mountain than to go there in a funicular railway? Perhaps this was one reason why I resented modern inventions; they made the road too easy.
Lesen Sie weiter... ›
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?
4.0 von 5 Sternen No try to fill the Empty Quarter 1. März 2009
Format:Taschenbuch
What a challenge! Living for years among the Arabs of old. Thesiger was one of the few westerners who made the experience. And he seems to be the last one who can claim to have lived as an Arabian nomadic tribesman. In our days it is difficult to find an opportunity to repeat such a feat as there are hardly any nomads left who give you the unspoiled experience. What kind of difficulties the author must have faced when travelling through the ever hot endless sand dunes of the Empty Quarter, can be very well suspected by anybody who travel on a camels back for just a few days through a sand desert and got exhausted by it.
The narrative is much more than just a travel report. It contains many anecdotes of a real nomad`s life in the deserts. But much more than this it is an ode about and to the Arabs, it is indeed all about the Arabs, the Sand is nothing more than a staffage.
No doubt the author is an adventurer par excellence but I have a problem with him which other readers might share. He is just relating what he lives for, he is an observer, interesting enough, but where are the more sophisticated observations? It is not fair to claim from all great voyagers to be an Alexander von Humboldt who puts travel in and gets a depiction of cosmos out. But going through an "Empty Quarter" of southern Arabian sand deserts without emptying to a remarkable extent the never filling quarters of the human mind, is -sometimes - tiring on the long run.
No, Thesiger is not a philosopher, he has no "wisdom" to offer, except to let the peoples live their traditional lives, whether they include killing out of revenge or insult or treating women in the Allah`s angel given method or whatever.
Thesiger is not very critical with the Arabs; he admired them.
Lesen Sie weiter... ›
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?
6 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The best desert travel book ever 23. November 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Format:Taschenbuch
Wilfred Thesiger described himself once as " the last explorer in the old fashion " . This is actually true. Only by the help of aims which were the same a thosand years ago did he accomplish to cross the so called " Empty Quarter " the great sand desert of South Arabia. His book concentrates on an exhaustive description of the natural landscape as well as on his deep sympathy and admiration for the natives- the Bedus. The prose of the account is as plain as the surroundings but nevertheless overwhelming. He allows the reader to get an insight into a world, which was with the oil-boom uncontrovertibly lost. For everybody who dreams of, or is even planning to visit Arabia or the desert, this book offers first-hand information on the "true " character of the desert. Thesiger is not too much known but he is certainly to judge among the most important explorers of the 20th century. Read it !!!!
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?
1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Valuable Book To Read 26. April 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Format:Taschenbuch
In this
slender book Thesiger recounts several of his journeys though the Peninsula including the two crossings of the vast deserts of
the Rub-al-Kahli. A fascinating tale, this book not only manages to skillfully capture our attention about a bleak and desolate
region of the world, but it also brings our attention to the people who live in these lands. Inhabited by fierce, fanatical, and aggressive
war-like tribes, the feat that Thesiger managed to achieve -- that of cris-crossing this bleak region -- is further accented by the fact the he
was Christian traveling through a fundamentally lawless region ruled by a series of very suspicious and ruthless sheiks. Add to this that
Thesiger was a Christian, and you can appreciate the great efforts he took to disguise himself and use elaborate cover stories.

Thesiger spent many months travelling with the Bedu and over time became accepted as one of them among the tribes. Along with
Marsh Arabs and the first part of his autobiography, My Life, My Choice, he paints what is best described as a human but often
sterotypical picture of the Arab world. While he is quick to dismiss many of the myths associated with the Arabs, he still uses the
harshness of the desert to keep impressing upon you the hardships and the bleakness of the terrain and how he still manages to survive
it all despite terrible and grating thrist.
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?
Möchten Sie weitere Rezensionen zu diesem Artikel anzeigen?
Waren diese Rezensionen hilfreich?   Wir wollen von Ihnen hören.

Kunden diskutieren

Das Forum zu diesem Produkt
Diskussion Antworten Jüngster Beitrag
Noch keine Diskussionen

Fragen stellen, Meinungen austauschen, Einblicke gewinnen
Neue Diskussion starten
Thema:
Erster Beitrag:
Eingabe des Log-ins
 

Kundendiskussionen durchsuchen
Alle Amazon-Diskussionen durchsuchen
   


Ähnliche Artikel finden